We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Over 55's package”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Monaghan
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Over 55's package”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

My husband and myself stayed at Hillgrove Hotel, midweek for 3 nights, it was our wedding anniversary. We were checked in quite quickly but not given any info on the hotel. Our package contained coffee and scones and fresh fruit in our room. Unfortunately we had to ask about the coffee and no fresh fruit appeared. We found the beds not particularly comfortable and spoke to the lady on reception who said she would change the mattress. Whether this was done or not it didnt really make any difference as the mattress appeared to be of poor quality. The bathroom was excellent and had a proper shower cubicle. On the plus side the staff in the bar/restaurant had great customer service skills and the food was good although there was only a choice of two potatoes and we didnt see any vegtables but nonetheless we enjoyed our meals.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelOwnerMonaghan, Director of Sales at Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear 2066Belfast
Thank you for your review and your comments . I recognise that without realising our downfalls it would be impossible for us to improve. I have taken your comments on board about no fresh fruit in the room and have spoken to housekeeping about this matter. I am sorry that you did not receive any information on the hotel, this is highly unusual and certainly completely the opposite to what the next reviewer has said. I will speak to reception about this. I am delighted that you enjoyed the bathrooms and found our bar/restaurant staff so helpful. We pride ourselves on our customer care and standards of service and facilities. I apologise that you did not receive our normal standards and hope this does not deter you from returning to the hotel again.
Kind regards
Sharon McMahon
Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    909
    285
    98
    54
    36
See reviews for
463
411
27
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dundalk
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

My wife and I recently spent a wonderful weekend n the "Magically Majestic Hillgrove Hotel" in Monaghan Town. It is now on a very short list of hotels we would love to return to. We were attending a Murder Mystery Weekend and it was Brilliant.
We arrived on Friday evening to find a Wedding in full swing. But the staff were so professional we were checked in without a hitch. The room we got, 807, was just beautiful, complete with a four poster bed.We went down for dinner and to say it was amazing is an understatement. From the presentation to the taste experience was just too good to be true. That meal was worthy of any awards there are to be had.
On the Saturday we explored the town and countryside of Monaghan. We returned to a hotel buzzing with 2 Weddings, a confirmation group, 2 Hen Parties and our Murder Mystery group of 24 people. Also there was a group of old car enthusiasts that had booked in on the Friday. The cars were old not the...... Anyway, the staff of the Hillgrove were brilliant and they coped so well. Nothing was too much for them. Awards all round for them. Well Done!!
Our Murder Mystery took place over a four course meal, equally as delicious as the previous night's. The guests were the actors and were 'facilitated' by a group of 4 police officers to investigate the "crime". By the end of the evening the 'killer' was identified and several other offences were cleared up. An extremely entertaining time was had by all.

To sum up; The 'Magically Majestic Hillgrove Hotel' is every bit deserving of every one of it's four stars

Room Tip: The rooms on the top floor of the new part are bigger, with lovely views over the countryside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DundalkRadioman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed at the hill grove for a wedding. We got a good rate, and I was pleasantly surprised at the quality of the room which was bright and clean with lovely finishings. The bathroom was excellent. I was most impressed with the staff, and the facilities. I got my hair and make up done in the salon / spa, the results were excellent and again,the price was very reasonable. However, I have to hand it to the staff - I managed to lose my sunglasses and leave my coat in the salon. Both were expensive, and both were handed into the reception, who were very helpful when I rang frantically the next day. They were posted back to me within the week! I would definitely stay again

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ESwift_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Recently stayed at the hillgrove for two nights. When we arrived it was very busy, but it only took a couple of minutes to check in. The staff were very friendly andaccomodating. The menus for both the restaurant and the bar are extensive and reasonably priced. We are looking forward to staying there again in the near future

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 342marsue342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lurgan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

On arrival there was a wedding in the reception which made me feel totally under dressed. However check in was prompt and we quickly made our way to the room. I think we had a new room as was spacious, roomy and modern feel yet homely.

We had B&B and dinner in the rate. The dinner was lovely and even though on a Supervalu break there was a good choice on the menu and not too restrictive. Service was attentive even though it was busy. The Leisure facilities were great, although full of families on Sunday morning. It was clean and not too crowded.

I would definitely stay again for a relaxing over night.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Unar123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monaghan
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

love this hotel even with the big pink chair which is abit out of place. the only thing i dont like is they have no carvery on week days like other hotels near by. just bar food with a menu thats is bigger than some of the tables. food in the menu just not as good as carvery and at a higher price. carvery in it at weekends is so good and they even find you a seat

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank siobhanmonaghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelOwnerMonaghan, Director of Sales at Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Siobhan
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we are delighted that you love it. The pink chair is part of recent renovations we have just finished and has had some very positive feedback, although we realise it will not be to everyone’s taste. You mentioned that we do not offer carvery during the week and the reason is firstly due to customer feedback and secondly that other establishments offer it. We aim to offer a different user experience in the Hillgrove Hotel and our popular bistro and restaurant menu reflect this.
Thank you
Sharon McMahon
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dungannon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Stayed on the 5th of april 2013 while attending a wedding. The only problem i have with the hillgrove(everything else was good) was the bedroom. To say the room was dated is an understatement. PVC cladding in the bathroom instead of tiles or its been stuck over tiles looked terrible in a 4 star hotel!! Only i was in the bridal party and arrived late into the room i wouldnt have stayed in it. Aparently they have nice rooms in the hotel but im not sure how you get one.......................

Room Tip: Ask for a nice room!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosscopeeko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelOwnerMonaghan, Director of Sales at Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Rosscopeeko
Firstly I want to thank you for your overall comments about our Hotel. I am sorry that the bedroom did not meet your expectations. All the rooms in the hotel have been upgraded 3 times since the current owners took over in 2005 with all the bedrooms being recently decorated before Christmas. All the facilities in all the rooms are the same, albeit the newer rooms built in 2006 have no pvc cladding in the bathrooms. Pvc cladding is also considered very hygienic.
Thanks
Sharon McMahon
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monaghan
0.9 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel and Leisure Club
0.6 mi away
Westenra Arms Hotel
Westenra Arms Hotel
#3 of 4 in Monaghan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
5.7 mi away
Castle Leslie Estate
Castle Leslie Estate
#1 of 1 in Glaslough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.7 mi away
Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort
0.5 mi away
Ashleigh House
Ashleigh House
#4 of 4 in Monaghan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
12.3 mi away
The Glencarn Hotel
The Glencarn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castleblayney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa

Property: Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa
Address: Old Armagh Road, Monaghan, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Monaghan > Monaghan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Monaghan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 'Majestically Magical' 4 Star Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa is the ideal location for fabulous break away. Less than an hour's drive from Belfast and Dublin the Hotel boasts 87 beautifully decorated bedrooms, including Suites with Jacuzzis. Enjoy their fabulous Leisure Club with Swimming Pool, Jacuzzi, Steam Room, Sauna, Gym & Outdoor Hot Tub. You will love their luxurious Lir Spa & Wellness Centre and Hair at Hillgrove Hair Salon. The Hotel also has a superb Restaurant, Bistro, Bars, Banqueting Suites & Conference Centre. Specialising in Girlie Breaks, Murder Mysteries, Spa Packages and Family Breaks. 7 hours Free Kids Club every weekend and daily during school holidays. Bouncy Castle, Games Room, Play Areas & Outdoor Playground. Walking distance from Monaghan Town. The Hillgrove Hotel has been Awarded as the Number One Family Hotel in Ireland, Ulster's Best Wedding Venue, is Tripadvisor's Number 1 Hotel in Monaghan and in Top 25 Hotels in Ireland. Indulge and Enjoy! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure And Spa
Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure Hotel Monaghan
Hillgrove Hotel Monaghan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing