We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Monaghan
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
“Pretty good hotel”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights for business; pretty good hotel.

The pros: Good gym, decent food in the restaurant, fairly reliable free wifi, nice staff, rooms modern and clean; Cons: TV in the room was a small flatscreen - did the job, but you wouldnt want to be watching a sports event/movie.

I didnt get to try the breakfast (leaving early every morning) or use the leisure centre. Would go back and, from what i hear, the other options in monaghan are a step below the Hillgrove.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevinpow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    922
    288
    98
    54
    36
See reviews for
468
415
27
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Lovely hotel, very friendly staff, bar food dissappointing, stayed a number of times but priced an up-and-coming wedding and the price is a right rip off. Two people for one night €160!!! Cant understand why guests are happy paying this in this economy???? 'Peak time' I was told - since when is March peak time?? Confused.com

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Elabela23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelOwnerMonaghan, Owner at Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear Elabela23

Thank you for your review. The price you were quoted is not a rip off, it is simply the price. We do however, offer special offers, from as little as €35 per person sharing Bed & Breakfast which is valid on many off peak dates. A Saturday night for us, is always a peak date. And we always fill our rooms, as Guests choose to pay this rate. We clearly state what our rates are, so you can either choose to book them at that rate or opt for another cheaper date. This is how every Hotel operates. Rates change and vary. I hope you do decide to visit us again at the Hillgrove Hotel and would like to thank you for the kind comments in your email.

Kind regards

Audri Herron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

On arrival to hotel were we greeted by lovely helpful and friendly staff. Room was lovely and comfortable. views of town and surrounding area was lovely. Pool and outdoor hot tub were class. We booked ourselves into a 2 hour massage and facial with use of the thermal suite. This was a wonderful experience and the girls were very friendly. We highly recommend you go to this spa. What an experience. Only downfall for me was in evening we went to get our package meal which was to be served in the three rosette restaurant, only to find it was being served in the bar/bistro Seating for meals was not comfortable and not made for diner sittings. However i must stress that the food and the service was 1st class. I would have much preferred eating in the dining room as specified on the offer. this hotel is a good 3 star but décor would not complement a 4 star.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brandyandginger1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We had a lovely weekend break at this hotel which was recommended by a friend.

The Hillgrove is an older hotel which has been renovated and modernly decorated.

The staff at this hotel are so lovely, every one of them, nothing is a problem and they are so friendly, I do not think I have ever come across nicer staff.

We we given lovely rooms with four poster beds as a request for my brother's birthday which I had advised them off at the time of booking, it was nice that the hotel acted on my request and provided the rooms. The rooms are lovely, modern, clean, spacious, lovely bathroom and we felt very comfy and at home. The hotel was also very quiet at night.

The food is really good both in the bar and the restaurant. We received a four course evening meal as part of our break which was excellent value for what we got with plenty of food and it was not a problem if we wanted more sides etc. I thought the cooked breakfast was just okay but there was a good selection of food available.

The Spa is quite small and is nice enough but I have seen a lot nicer. The treatments however were excellent and so were the staff and the treatments were not the most expensive. The pool was a nice temperature.

Very close to town of Monaghan which is good.

Overall we had a lovely weekend and would definitely visit again.

Room Tip: There seems to be a new wing in this hotel and we were given rooms with four poster beds - 804 and 8...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelingrumpkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

My boyfriend and i stayed at the hillgrove last week or two nights. We got a brilliant deal online. Worth every penny, plus more! Staff really nice at reception and our room was really big an spacious, really nice! And the bathroom was lovely. Breakfast was absolutely amazing and waitresses were great. The pool was fab and that outdoor jacuzzi was UNBELIVABLE!! Especially as it was lashing down. The bar was nice and again, staff were brill. They make a really tasty cosmopolitan. We had dinner both nights in the bar. OMG is all i can say! :) food was gorgeousss!!! I would 100% recommend this hotel. Really modern and relaxing in every way. Not a bad thing about it. Lookin forward to returning

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nuala_90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

I stayed one night on business and managed to have an hour in the pool / hot tub / sauna etc and had a very relaxing opportunity. Spa treatments were fully booked so I will remember to pre book next time. The large room and bathroom with separate shower and bath was great and the bar food (3 course special for €20) was superb! A nice range of wines available. After a good nights sleep breakfast was just the thing to prepare me for the snow.

Room Tip: As high as is available improves the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CrystalPalaceNil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

myself and my boyfriend were at a wedding there in december.. we travelled up from galway. after check in we decided we would go down to the restaurant for some lunch.. there is absolutely nothing to fault the staff,food,atmosphere,quality of anything in the restaurant! the two ladies that served me a baileys hot choc inparticularly friendly,very chatty and cheerful!! there is any facility you would need here - ie hairdressers came in handy!!
the room we had was massive,very comfy!the shower was top class.
the staff on at the function were so quick and on the ball with anything we requested at the table! will definately be back,great value for money and extremely relaxing experience!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ksav92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monaghan
0.9 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel and Leisure Club
0.6 mi away
Westenra Arms Hotel
Westenra Arms Hotel
#3 of 4 in Monaghan
220 reviews
5.7 mi away
Castle Leslie Estate
Castle Leslie Estate
#1 of 1 in Glaslough
1,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.7 mi away
Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort
0.5 mi away
Ashleigh House
Ashleigh House
#4 of 4 in Monaghan
71 reviews
12.3 mi away
The Glencarn Hotel
The Glencarn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castleblayney
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa

Property: Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa
Address: Old Armagh Road, Monaghan, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Monaghan > Monaghan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Monaghan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 'Majestically Magical' 4 Star Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa is the ideal location for fabulous break away. Less than an hour's drive from Belfast and Dublin the Hotel boasts 87 beautifully decorated bedrooms, including Suites with Jacuzzis. Enjoy their fabulous Leisure Club with Swimming Pool, Jacuzzi, Steam Room, Sauna, Gym & Outdoor Hot Tub. You will love their luxurious Lir Spa & Wellness Centre and Hair at Hillgrove Hair Salon. The Hotel also has a superb Restaurant, Bistro, Bars, Banqueting Suites & Conference Centre. Specialising in Girlie Breaks, Murder Mysteries, Spa Packages and Family Breaks. 7 hours Free Kids Club every weekend and daily during school holidays. Bouncy Castle, Games Room, Play Areas & Outdoor Playground. Walking distance from Monaghan Town. The Hillgrove Hotel has been Awarded as the Number One Family Hotel in Ireland, Ulster's Best Wedding Venue, is Tripadvisor's Number 1 Hotel in Monaghan and in Top 25 Hotels in Ireland. Indulge and Enjoy! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure And Spa
Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure Hotel Monaghan
Hillgrove Hotel Monaghan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing