We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel room - not so nice food!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Monaghan
Certificate of Excellence
2tricky2
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice hotel room - not so nice food!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

Our hotel bedroom we could not fault, clean and modern and the staff were all lovely. The food is what lets this hotel down in my opinion. Breakfast lacked taste and variety, and dinner was what you would expect to be churned out at a wedding - steamed bland veg and over cooked meat. This hotel in my opinion is more like a 3 star than 4.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2tricky2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelOwnerMonaghan, Owner at Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you for your review. I was disappointed to read that you did not enjoy our food. I notice that you also reviewed another local restaurant during your visit to Monaghan and you did not like the food their either. We pride ourselves in our high standards of food and service, so I am sorry that you did not enjoy our cuisine. I would like to thank you for your kind comments on our Hotel and hope that you will decide to visit us again in the future.

Kind regards

Audri Herron
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    889
    278
    92
    54
    36
See reviews for
445
404
27
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

Stayed here after a wedding. Room was very spacious and clean. Breakfast was lovely,kids loved leisure complex. Overall a great place to stay and good for families. I would definitely come back here again

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gabriel2910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymena, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

Arrived at the Hillgrove on Thursday for a one night stay with friends, after a hectic few weeks at work. Immediately we felt so welcomed and relaxed and were all able to switch off from the busyness of life. The staff were the most helpful and friendly I have met in any hotel - before you asked for anything, they had already thought of it! Hotel is easy to find, close to the town centre (if you would want to leave the complex during your stay!!); food is excellent quality and value; rooms were spotless and have everything you would need and the spa facilities are fantastic. Breakfast was delicious and kept us going all day! Left on Friday feeling I'd had a week's holiday - so refreshed and relaxed! We'll be back - hopefully sooner rather than later! :-)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna_Mac_Mo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

Superb in all aspects. Clean and comfortable rooms with excellent bathrooms. The hotel has an air of quality: note the chandaliers in the lobby.
Bar meals are excellent value for money and the staff are helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkeel, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

Wonderful comfortable hotel with the best staff, brilliant staff & a Spa that puts others in the shade. Every member of staff set out to make your stay the best ever, nothing was to much trouble. The food was wonderful, the rooms were spotless and the bathroom luxurious. Very difficult to find fault, would have preferred Potatoes Bread for breakfast which is the only complaint in an other wise prefect stay

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

Our Party of 8 stayed at the Hillgrove on weekend of November 18th. We all agreed it was a fantastic visit. The friendliness of all with whom we came into contact impressed us big time. We enjoyed bar food on the Friday evening and it was delicious - fabulous choice, good quality food served hot! Our Restaurant Dinner on saturday evening could not be faulted. The rooms were lovely and clean and our request for extra supplies of tea/coffee was met with a 'no problem' and efficient delivery of same. One of our party had difficulty with the telly in the room and within 5 mins of a call to Reception, a Staff member came to her room and sorted it. (with a smile!)
I think what makes the Hillgrove a notch above other hotels has to be the breakfast - great choice and I like the way the hot food is served by the chef - the touch of putting your filled plate under the grill before serving is genius! - a small touch but for folk like us who like our food hot, it really is the way forward!
Suffice to say, we will be back:-)

Room Tip: If you are on a Romantic break, try to get a room with a four poster bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ger009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randalstown, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

Recently stayed at the Hillgrove Hotel overnight for a wedding we were at. As we were only at the evening reception then we didn't arrive at the hotel until 6.30pm we were checked in very quickly and given the key to our room. When we got into the room we were very surprised to find that not only was there a double bed but also a single and the room was very big! The bathroom was a good size as well. We found the room to be very comfortable and were able to relax before heading down to the reception. In the morning breakfast was brilliant, fantastic selection of food from cereals to cook breakfast and you could have as much as you wanted! All in all we had a lovely time at the hotel and would certainly return!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mich0609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monaghan
0.9 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel and Leisure Club
0.6 mi away
Westenra Arms Hotel
Westenra Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Monaghan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
5.7 mi away
Castle Leslie Estate
Castle Leslie Estate
#1 of 1 in Glaslough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel, Cavan
0.5 mi away
Ashleigh House
Ashleigh House
#4 of 4 in Monaghan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
14.0 mi away
Armagh City Hotel
Armagh City Hotel
#1 of 1 in Armagh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa

Property: Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa
Address: Old Armagh Road, Monaghan, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Monaghan > Monaghan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Monaghan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 'Majestically Magical' 4 Star Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa is the ideal location for fabulous break away. Less than an hour's drive from Belfast and Dublin the Hotel boasts 87 beautifully decorated bedrooms, including Suites with Jacuzzis. Enjoy their fabulous Leisure Club with Swimming Pool, Jacuzzi, Steam Room, Sauna, Gym & Outdoor Hot Tub. You will love their luxurious Lir Spa & Wellness Centre and Hair at Hillgrove Hair Salon. The Hotel also has a superb Restaurant, Bistro, Bars, Banqueting Suites & Conference Centre. Specialising in Girlie Breaks, Murder Mysteries, Spa Packages and Family Breaks. 7 hours Free Kids Club every weekend and daily during school holidays. Bouncy Castle, Games Room, Play Areas & Outdoor Playground. Walking distance from Monaghan Town. The Hillgrove Hotel has been Awarded as the Number One Family Hotel in Ireland, Ulster's Best Wedding Venue, is Tripadvisor's Number 1 Hotel in Monaghan and in Top 25 Hotels in Ireland. Indulge and Enjoy! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, LateRooms, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure And Spa
Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure Hotel Monaghan
Hillgrove Hotel Monaghan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing