We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did the owner really want to be there?”
Review of Grove Lodge B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grove Lodge B&B
Ranked #3 of 5 Monaghan B&B and Inns
Quirindi, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Did the owner really want to be there?”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We visited recently and felt like we were imposing. No tea making facilities in the room nor was there anything to use in the dining room. Breakfast was generous but that was it. No chat or checking whether we had what we needed (we didn't). The owner really needs to consider if this is something she wants to do.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Lynette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    5
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
12
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed here for two nights for a family wedding. Initially we tried to book a hotel and when we had no joy with hotel bookings in the area we tried to book in here and got the last available room for the weekend.
It was an easy to find, modern house with ample parking. First impressions were of a neat, tidy house and garden. The room was spacious yet the en-suite was just across the corridor. We were informed of this before we came to the B&B and it made no difference at all...in fact it is more than an en-suite, we had our own large shower room seperately. I believe all other rooms in the property are en-suite.
The huge plus side to this property is that it is really reasonably priced and serves gorgeous cooked Irish breakfasts. On both mornings we ate full Irish breakfasts and they set us up for day ahead....generous portions, tea/coffee/plenty of toast, cereals, etc, etc.
The owners deserve a mention too - both were friendly, chatty and informative re: the local area.
It is a 1 minute walk to the hotel next door - very close to the hotel bar for food and drink. We ate in the hotel bar on the Friday night and it was great that this B&B was so close to the hotel for us to meet other wedding guests.
I would not hesitate to recommended this B&B to anyone visiting in the Monaghan area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lival
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We had a wonderful two night stay at Grove Lodge. Paula was an excellent host and helpful with lots of suggestions of where to eat in the town. Breakfast was perfect and our room was lovely and large and perfectly clean. We couldn't have asked for better.

J&J

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FrequentTravellers10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

I did take the time to read the other reviews and the web site before submitting this review thinking we had missed something. Our stay fell short of the other reviews. The only really positive thing we can say is about the location. When we tried to use the bathroom, we found the door locked, but my husband did manage to jimmy the lock and get it open. The bed was very uncomfortable - almost like sleeping directly on the springs - it squeaked and popped when we moved, and we had to move furniture to find an electrical outlet. The room photo on the web site is not representative of the room we were in. Prior to going to our room, the hostess asked when we would be down for breakfast. We were 10 minutes late and the hostess was still in her night clothes. We really felt that we were imposing on them.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank retiredperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, SC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2012

We stayed at Grove Lodge for one night while visiting the area where my ancestors once lived. The B&B was spotless. Our room was large and the bathroom was a good size too. Paula was helpful with restaurant suggestions and information about the area. Like many B&B's the rooms are up a flight of stairs and there is no elevator. I don't think there are any restaurants or sights within walking distance. The B&B is on a side street in a residential area and was quiet. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argyll
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2011

I stayed here for six nights while visiting the area. My room was lovely and comfortable and had a super view over the town. It was very peaceful and Paula (the proprietor) was very kind and helpful. The full Irish breakfast kept me going all day and the house was modern and spotless. I would certainly recommend it - great value!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Happytrails87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2011

We stayed at Grove Lodge for a wedding when the hotel next door (The Hillgrove) was booked out.

The house is lovely and spotlessly clean. The brekfast was lovely and the price was reasonable.

We would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ro2507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monaghan
0.6 mi away
Ashleigh House
Ashleigh House
#4 of 4 in Monaghan
72 reviews
0.9 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel and Leisure Club
0.1 mi away
Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Castle Leslie Estate
Castle Leslie Estate
#1 of 1 in Glaslough
1,484 reviews
0.7 mi away
Westenra Arms Hotel
Westenra Arms Hotel
#3 of 4 in Monaghan
223 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tullybryan House B&B
Tullybryan House B&B
#2 of 5 in Monaghan
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grove Lodge B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grove Lodge B&B

Property: Grove Lodge B&B
Address: Old Armagh Road | Latlurcan, Monaghan, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Monaghan > Monaghan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Monaghan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Grove Lodge B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing