We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a fun way to time travel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Monaghan County Museum

Monaghan County Museum
Ranked #1 of 14 things to do in Monaghan
Attraction details
Toms River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“a fun way to time travel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

the monaghan county museum is an overlooked gem right in the town of monaghan. they are always updating their exhibits and see noel the caretaker for a really good insight into ireland's past.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank yankee340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    15
    0
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cavan, Ireland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“really interesting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

my friend and I enjoyed our tour of the museum. Really interesting and well laid out, really friendly people at the reception desk. My friend and I were the only 2 looking around. I hope it was just a quiet time. I will make sure to tell others to visit.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank pclarke234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
109 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Quiet, friendly visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Very nice displays. Good audio guides. Very pleasant and helpful staff. The staff made every effort to make the visit pleasant. Disabled access is possible on ground floor and there are video guides that can be used to "see" the upper floor (not wheelchair accessible - no lift available.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cambio2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Special Gem in the Gateway to the North”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

This special gem is a must see. It has a fantastic history of the area which so often links in to the national picture. My particular favourites included the ancient tools, the railway signs, and all 5 of Tommy Bowe's rugby jerseys from Ireland's Grand Slam win in 2009.

Liam is the best curator I have ever met. He is so proactive and knowledgeable. He is able to tell facts almost without drawing a breath to ensure the visitor gets the very best experience.

A free attraction, and yet I still want to give this museum more that 5 out of 5.

Cllr Stephen Stokes
Deputy Mayor
Greystones, Ireland

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 243Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Not open”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

Not open on Sunday-what pity cannot comment. Shoud be open then isn't that when people go out to places like this

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank catherine262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monaghan County Museum also viewed

Monaghan, County Monaghan
Monaghan, County Monaghan
 

Been to Monaghan County Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing