We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellently elegant.”

Eastern Balti House
Ranked #2 of 38 Restaurants in Monaghan
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
1 review
“Excellently elegant.”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

The food in this restaurant is absolutely delicious and the decor is very simple and stylish. I have been eating here even before it moved and I have not once been disappointed. The staff are very nice and will say hello to you in the street. I would say that it is definitely the best restraunt in the northeast. Five Circle thingies!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DrJampancake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    250
    40
    12
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Monaghan, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“indian”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This restaurant has been in Monaghan for a number of years and i never get fed up with going there. The staf are excellent and the boss man is alway around to make sure you are satisfied with the food,staff and general effeciency.
The food is wonderful and of all the Indian restraunts i have visited in 40+ years of eating this cuisine it would easily rank in my top 10 of indian cooking.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hotpot1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Really fabulous place top class”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

I go here for occasions & an evening meals ...staff are excellent & service is gr8 very friendly ..food is top class & flavours are mouth watering ..would recommend to any1 as I feel there is an option for everyone. ..

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ainezoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Be back again”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Drove for 40 km,but at the end it was a very good experience . Nice restaurant, very good food and good atmosphere .The staff was friendly, the perfect time passed between starter and main and drink not too dear. I'm a wine lover so i can say that the wine list is very very poor, but maybe is just because is an Indian restaurant...i don't know.
Anyway will be back again next time driving through Monaghan.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daniel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaghan
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Food Not Great Value”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

food of a high quality, starter was 11 euro with change for two prawns, felt it was way to much.
went for prawns again for main course got 4 at 19 euro and change.

staff seemed stressed and concerned with take away orders.

was good but slipping, i feel

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank magunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eastern Balti House also viewed

Monaghan, County Monaghan
Monaghan, County Monaghan
 
Monaghan, County Monaghan
 

Been to Eastern Balti House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing