We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Award Winning Pub Bistro”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Andy's

Andy's
Ranked #3 of 36 Restaurants in Monaghan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Irish, European, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups, Bar scene, Business meetings, Dining on a budget, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Monaghan town's longest established family run restaurant (1983). We specialise is fresh food - all homemade from our starters, sauces to desserts. We have house specialities such as our Garlic Mushroms and Chicken Monaghan. We have a private dining room that can accommodate up to twenty people for functions
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
136 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Award Winning Pub Bistro”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

The food here has been consistently good since it opened many years ago. It has won several awards for its pub food. Good to have a choice of local produce eg duck and chicken on the menu (and of course the Monaghan mushrooms!). Friendly staff. I had the seafood chowder to start: very welcome when the weather is cold. But the large cup it was served in was only half full: I could have done with a proper measure. It was accompanied by small pieces of baguette-style white bread. This should have been wholemeal home-made brown bread, in my view. The Silver Hill duck from Emyvale tasted very nice on a bed of mash and with plum sauce. Did not have any room for dessert: when we were given the menu the waitress said there was no cheesecake or chocolate dish, so the two best ones were not available anyway. Probably because they had had a good crowd for Sunday lunch. I noticed they had added a range of traditional Irish beers such as red ale to their drinks list, but I did not get the opportunity to taste any on this occasion.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank M F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
killygoan, Owner at Andy's, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Hello

Thank you for your review - we never stop learning from constructive reviews just like yours! The chowder which was a weekly special will change next time. The bowl which I measured after reading your comments holds 22oz which is more than a pint. I would agree that a normal soup bowl (9oz measure) looks a bit small when poured into that over sized bowl - so we will no longer use those bowls. Crackers are traditionally served with Chowder, but we found that customers prefer bread. We carry an extensive selection of bread - wheaten bread, white pan, brown pan, ciabatta, baguette, and just last week we now stock gluten free bread. Next time we would be glad to offer any of these to you. I advised Caroline your waitress - to inform customers what we actually have (desserts) and not to highlight what we do not have. I remember Caroline going over to your table (3 beside the upper fireplace) and thinking why did Caroline do that. You were a lovely couple to serve and I hope to see you back again here in Andy's

Regards Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    304
    37
    16
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Monaghan, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A must if your in Monaghan.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

I just love Andys ,its homely, the food is fantastic and you won`t leave hungry .The staff is friendly and ready to serve you when you arrive.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Myratherese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
killygoan, Owner at Andy's, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Hello

Many thanks for taking the time to leave your kind comments - positive reviews just like yours are a great source of encouragement to us particularly when there are others lately that will hide behind Tripadvisor and post comments that are not factually correct - and there is very little that we can do. So your comments are most warmly appreciated

Regards Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Not nice”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

Me and my 40 yo wife spent an evening in this 'first class' restaurant as I was recommended by f amily and frends.maybe it was I ordered _ fillet of beef in black pepper sauce,(cant remember exactly what it was called on menu)it more like a chinese takeaway dish and the price of it was unreal.wudent go back again on my expeirience,rather go for as chinca instead as it wud be a ot cheaper and tasted the same,sorry andy but its as big NO from me

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank monaghanresident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
killygoan, Owner at Andy's, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Hello

I notice that this is your first review on Tripadvisor. I feel that you may have picked a dish that did not suit your tastes. Could I suggest that if you are not sure about a dish with a sauce - you should ask for the sauce on the side. I also think that you would have got better value if you asked any member of our staff to change the dish for you, which we would have gladly done for you or any other customer that does not enjoy a particular sauce or meal. It is our policy to check with all guests during their meal if everything is to their satisfaction, again we check as the guest is paying their bill. It would appear that you did not bring your problems to our attention. All we want do is look after our customers, but if they don't tell us there is little we can do. In August we will be in business 30 years as Monaghan's longest established family run restaurant. As your review recognises - we are regularly recommended as a dining option in Monaghan town. I will leave this review for the Tripadvisor community to decide on.

Regards Kevin Redmond
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“a must visit for anyone in monaghan town.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

we dined here last night on the back of reviews here on trip advisor. first let me say anyone who didn't like the food in andys must have no taste buds. I got the chicken wings, which were large and tasty and the homemade sweet chilli was the perfect sauce to cover them, absolutely delicious. my wife had the famous mushrooms and she loved them. to put that in context she loves mushrooms so she knows a good mushroom. for main I had the monaghan chicken, the sauce was unique and delicious but the chicken itself was thw real star. it was huge, I really do not know where chickens which such large breasts and it was cooked to perfection. my wife had the burger which again could not have been better and and again was large. a word of warning tho be careful about ordering chips in andys as with everything else they are huge as are the portions, 1 portion between two is probably enough. we finished with a chocolate fudge cake which again u guested it was huge and luscious. the decor is lovely and the the whole place feels warm and welcoming. now best of all the staff were amazing and friendly and were really nice to our lil 2 year son. they made sure his food came witjin minutes so that he was busy eating allowing us to relax. he had the chicken fillet burger from the kids menu and mashed potatoes. he got an adult sized dinner with he loved ate most of the chicken and polished off almost 3 scoops of mash. 5 stars all round. a must in monaghan

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fran104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
killygoan, Owner at Andy's, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Hello Fran

Manythanks for your very positive review, it was great to meet you and your family, look forward to meeting you again here in Andy's soon.

All the best Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"Excellence"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

I am a regular customer of "Andys"..and every time I go in the atmosphere, the staff,and the attention is second to none and always consistent in culinary excellence I always look forward to what exciting tastes the menu will reveal to us,that alone encourages a prompt return!....my food was excellent this evening,and Kevin recommended I should try the baked cheese cake, which I'm very pleased he did...it was so tasty with that artisan quality which I will repeat next visit!..."so"as a customer,I highly recommend "Andys"and I do believe that anybody who leaves negative comments are probably negative every where they go,and just can't be pleased when u bend over backwards for them!........thanks again "andys"....from "the rare steak lover!"!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheekyface3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
killygoan, Owner at Andy's, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Hi,

Thanks for your review. The Weelky Specials although they take alot of work they really help us to differienciate our restaurant - and they are appreciated by Gourmet diners just like you. I'm glad you enjoyed the baked cheesecake - Sean hopes to put on a Weekly Dessert Special to

Once again many thanks for the review

Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Andy's also viewed

 
Monaghan, County Monaghan
Monaghan, County Monaghan
 

Been to Andy's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing