We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Wonderful day in Boyne Valley

Mickael is very friendly, cultivated and excellent relationship. He took the time to make us... read more

Reviewed December 30, 2018
YNL3522
,
Rennes, France
Personalized Megalithic Tour

Michael took us two on a personalized Megalithic tour, including Brú na Bóinne and Fourknocks. His... read more

Reviewed December 24, 2018
Tommy C
Read all 229 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around County Meath
from $44.77
More Info
from $51.66
More Info
Reviews (229)
Filter reviews
229 results
Traveler rating
225
2
1
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
225
2
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews michael fox private tour day tour his knowledge mellifont abbey boyne valley tour highly recommend michael trim castle comfortable car safe driver megalithic sites dublin hotel local guide contacted michael passage tomb an excellent guide celtic crosses
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 229 reviews
Reviewed October 15, 2017

Touring with Michael was amazing. We, my husband, mother and myself, booked him for the day. He personalized the tour based on our interests, which were varied. We went to New Grange, Slane Castle Distillery, Hill of Slane, Hill of Tara, Battle of the Boyne site, and Monasterboice. His knowledge of the valley and its' history was outstanding.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank krockenbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2017 via mobile

After completing a tour of Ireland, my sisters and I wanted to see more of County Meath, where our grandmother was born. However, we did not want to drive ourselves. When I found Boyne Valley Tours, I contacted Michael Fox and he responded immediately. He was very willing to give us a 3 day tour of County Meath-anywhere we wanted to go and/or to see the historic sites. It was very easy to communicate with him prior to our trip. When we changed our plans with him from 3 days to 2, he was very flexible and accommodating.

He picked us up in Dublin and shared a wealth of information and history with us. He timed our visits to locations so that we didn’t need to wait in lines. Michael was very professional and we felt very comfortable traveling with him. I highly recommend Michael Fox and Boyne Valley Tours.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank CarolanJoan17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2017

Michael knows the Boyne Valley like the back of his hand. He grew up in the valley, still lives in the valley, and loves the valley. He made our day tour educational, entertaining, and exciting. He made sure we got the photos we wanted, knew how to dodge the rain showers, and was very flexible with our itinerary. His tour was one of the highlights of out trip to beautiful Ireland.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank CKClear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2017

Touring with Michael makes you feel as if you've caught up with a long lost friend who shares with you all his favorite places.He met up with us early in the morning to take us to Newgrange before the hordes of tour buses arrived from Dublin. He waited in line for the tickets while we toured the museum. When you are on vacation, time is your most valuable asset. Michael made great use of our precious time. We never felt rushed, yet saw so much. We also went to the gardens at The Battle of Boyne, Four Knocks, Slane Castle, Navan, and The Hill of Tara. Everywhere we went people greeted Michael with genuine affection, which was extended to us. Michael has knowledge and passion of Boyne Valley. Rick Steves says that when you travel, you should bring home memories, not stuff. The day we spent with Michael Fox in Boyne Valley was truly a memory we will always treasure. My husband, our 15 year old son, and I all give Michael "two thumbs up"!

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank Smileen2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2017

If you are looking for a short drives day trip from Dublin, a private tour of the Boyne Valley is an excellent option. Michael is an excellent guide an goes out of his way to ensure you have a wonderful day. His knowledge and genuine interest in the region makes the day even more enjoyable as he's able to show and inform you of things you would likely miss on a larger group tour. I'd highly recommend Michael's services to anyone interested in touring this region of Ireland.

Date of experience: August 2017
1  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews