We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Wonderful day in Boyne Valley

Mickael is very friendly, cultivated and excellent relationship. He took the time to make us... read more

Reviewed December 30, 2018
YNL3522
,
Rennes, France
Personalized Megalithic Tour

Michael took us two on a personalized Megalithic tour, including Brú na Bóinne and Fourknocks. His... read more

Reviewed December 24, 2018
Tommy C
Read all 229 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around County Meath
from $44.90
More Info
from $97.87
More Info
Reviews (229)
Filter reviews
229 results
Traveler rating
225
2
1
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
225
2
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews michael fox private tour day tour his knowledge mellifont abbey boyne valley tour highly recommend michael trim castle comfortable car safe driver megalithic sites dublin hotel local guide contacted michael passage tomb an excellent guide celtic crosses
Filter
Updating list...
56 - 61 of 229 reviews
Reviewed October 11, 2016

I wanted to avoid the large bus tours when exploring the Boyne Valley, and rather than rent a car and try to navigate all of the locations myself, I opted for a day trip with Michael Fox from Boyne Valley Tours. He was very responsive to all e-mails that I sent, and when he picked me up from the hotel in the morning, he was extremely punctual. The car was extremely clean and comfortable, and it made travel times between sites go by quickly and smoothly.

Michael was extremely accommodating, and he worked with my itinerary in order to see all of the sites on my list in the most appropriate order based upon location and opening times. Newgrange and Knowth were the first stop of the day, and he arrived to the site in time for the first tour of the day to avoid the crowds and ensure a ticket. If you plan on seeing a lot of sites throughout Ireland during your visit, I highly recommend purchasing a Heritage Card for 25 euros that allows you entry into many state-managed sites, including many places within the Boyne Valley.

While Michael is not a trained historian, he does have a passion for his local history that is quite evident. He is moderately knowledgeable about all of the sites within the Boyne Valley, and he knows many of the people at these sites, so you may get an impromptu tour/access by an employee if you are lucky (e.g. at Old Mellifont Abbey I was granted access to a locked chapter house and heard a very interesting story about the property by a guide).

Michael spent the entire day showing me around the area, and I was able to see every location on my desired itinerary, as well as a few added bonuses. This was an excellent way to tour the region and have full control over the sites you visited, without the busloads of crowds that you would expect on a large bus tour. While the tour is a tad expensive for a solo traveler, it is well worth it if you have a real interest in exploring the Boyne Valley and hearing about the history of the region. I highly recommend Michael Fox's day trip!

Date of experience: August 2016
1  Thank JMC80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2016 via mobile

Michael was a fantastic private tour guide who truly made our time in Ireland memorable. We hired Michael to take us from Dublin to Newgrange and the Boyne Valley. We were a group of three - my wife and I both in our early thirties and her mother in her mid-70s. It was our first time in Ireland and after spending a day taking in the sites of Dublin we wanted to explore the area.

First off, his car was immaculate and the smooth ride made the day feel luxurious. Michael took us to the famous Newgrange passage tombs, Hill of Tara, Trim Castle, and a number of historical sites and ruins. He shared his deep knowledge of the area so that the history came to life at each stop. He also made sure that we saw some of the incredible views and landscape of the Boyne Valley.

Many of the people working in the area - from the restaurants to the historical sites - knew Michael and he easily navigated his way around some of the larger tour groups so that we could quickly get seated for lunch and gain quick entry through some of the lines. He went above and beyond while getting tickets for our first stop, running ahead to make sure we had tickets for the first shuttle up to Newgrange while my mother-in-law, who recently had knee replacement surgery and wasn't able to move as quickly, was able to get to the Visitor's Center at her own pace.

As a guide, Michael was friendly, prompt, and made sure we saw as much as possible without making us feel rushed or exhausted by the end of the day.

Highly recommend.

Date of experience: October 2016
1  Thank Wilson G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2016 via mobile

Michael's tour was simply fantastic. I simply couldn't fault the experience. He is a very knowledgeable guide and took me to the most amazing places: I wanted to see Newgrange and Tara but he took me to see Fournocks prehistoric passage tomb, and Trim Castle stopping off at a Sheila Nagig on route and the cadaver tomb in Beaulieu. I would not hesitate to recommend Michael. Great communication before hand, prompt pick up, great tour geared to my interests and a lovely man. I should note I am a solo female traveller and can reassure any lone travelling women who might be nervous of a day trip with a guy: he is lovely, and very respectful

Date of experience: September 2016
2  Thank ChristinaAMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2016 via mobile

Michael was absolutely Fantastic to work with. He was so professional, prompt, kind, informative and the list goes on. Our Boyne valley day trip was spectacular and I learned so much about Ireland and its history. Do not miss doing this tour with Michael. You will not regret it. Everywhere he took us was amazing!
He even tailored the trip for my friend and I and did something special for us. One of the highlights of my trip to Ireland.

Date of experience: August 2016
1  Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2016

Don't hesitant to take a tour of the Boyne Valley with Michael Fox. You'll not only see the incredible sights of this region but also get a real sense of what it's like to live there. He's very well informed and willing to tailor the day to your specific interests. I would recommend seeing Newgrange on your own and then touring with Michael the next day. We stayed in Slane, so were able to see the Hill of Slane, Monasterboice, with its high crosses and round tower, Mellifont Abbey, and the Battle of the Boyne field. After grabbing a takeout sandwich in Drogheda, we had lunch at Michael and his wife Bernie's (a talented artist in her own right) lovely home. After lunch,we walked down the road to see a Sheela found in a neighbor's driveway wall, saw their newly refurbished parish church, visited a passage tomb located in a farmer's field (seems they are everywhere in this area!), raised a half pint at O'Connell's pub, and then on to the Hill of Tara. The pacing of the day was just right and we thought the tour was very good value. Highly recommend touring with Michael.

Date of experience: August 2016
1  Thank cpd01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews