We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Save
Review Highlights
So near and yet so far...

We had booked with Boyne Valley Tours last year for an upcoming tour in June of 2020 and... read more

Reviewed April 22, 2020
Douglas P
,
Burlington, Canada
Boyne Valley Tours

I had such a great experience with Michael Fox of Boyne Valley Tours back in 2015, that I reached... read more

Reviewed April 7, 2020
vncmattapoisett
,
Mattapoisett, Massachusetts
via mobile
Read all 249 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around County Meath
from $45.70
More Info
from $44.50
More Info
from $46.91
More Info
from $60.14
More Info
Reviews (249)
Filter reviews
249 results
Traveler rating
244
3
1
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
244
3
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews michael fox private tour day tour mellifont abbey michael's tour trim castle personal tour dublin hotel thatched roof hired michael own pace passage tomb celtic crosses back roads delightful lunch an excellent guide historic sites
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
109 - 114 of 249 reviews
Reviewed November 11, 2015 via mobile

Such a great tour and the tour guides are brilliant. Went to Newgrange and Knowth. Such an interesting thing to see. The tour is long so it's great for a day out and such great value. Would highly recommend it

Date of experience: October 2015
1  Thank emsa2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2015

When we stepped off our international flight at 4:30am, we were wondering how we would handle an all day tour of the Boyne Valley with so little sleep. That was no problem! Michael Fox picked us up at our Dublin hotel promptly at 8am and we were off for a day that our group will always remember. We knew we wanted to see Newgrange and Trim, but beyond that we left the details of the tour to Michael. We arrived at Newgrange before the crowds and that was a good indication of how smoothly the rest of the day would go. The day was a good mix of walking the Hill of Tara, taking memorable photos, seeing beautiful gardens, eating a delightful lunch at a small town along the way, then wandering through Monasterboice and the Bective Abbey. Michael's knowledge of each of the sites kept us engaged throughout the day. We enjoyed a day of gorgeous weather and unforgettable sites. What a wonderful introduction to beautiful Ireland.

Date of experience: October 2015
2  Thank Jayhawk60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2015

I took my first trip to Ireland last week with my niece and nephew. I booked the Boyne Valley Day Tour with Michael Fox a few weeks in advance. Michael picked us up promptly at our hotel in Dublin and he immediately started to fill us in on the sites that we saw along the way to the Boyne Valley. He graciously accommodated my last minute request to visit the Sheela-na-gig, and we were able to do this before heading to Newgrange. The ride through the narrow rural back roads was quite a pleasure, allowing us the chance to see thatched houses and extensive farmlands. Michael was able to get us on the first tour of the day at Newgrange, which resulted in a smaller group of people than usual inside the structure and no waiting in lines. Throughout the day we visited Monasterboice, Hill of Tara, Bective Abbey, and Trim Castle. At a couple of the stops we had the place to ourselves. We also made an unscheduled stop at the Battle of the Boyne site and explored the gardens there. We asked him question after question and he answered each one thoroughly. His demonstrated a deep level of expertise on all of the locations we visited. Michael even entertained the numerous questions we asked about everyday life in Ireland. This tour was a pure treat and was worth every penny. I highly recommend that you take this personalized tour with Michael when you visit Ireland!

Date of experience: October 2015
2  Thank vncmattapoisett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2015

We engaged Michael to take us to The Festival of Fire this Halloween. We came from USA for this special event and Michael did the reconnaissance of a guide, dedicated to his client's experience. Since this was a first for him he researched the event, kept us up to date via email, and he even went to the location the day before to scope out the Festival details. He also added a couple of stops on our way from Dublin that were ancient and awesome. He is the man to provide more than just a tour; he cares! We will look forward to seeing Michael again and highly recommend his services⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Date of experience: October 2015
1  Thank Kathleen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2015

We booked Boyne Valley Tours for two days in September when our cruise ship stopped in Dublin. We had only booked one private tour in the past as we thought they generally seemed too expensive. Michael and his tour made us rethink this attitude. We thought we received full value for our money and then some and we got to do it in comfort without a bus load of tourists. We were very anxious to see as many neolithic sites as possible in our two days. Michael Fox put together a great itinerary for us and promptly picked us up at the ship on Day 1 and got us in the first group at Newgrange before the buses arrived. We are very grateful to Michael to have selected the sites he did based on what we told him via email that we wanted to see. He did an outstanding job of selecting the sites, creating the itinerary that would best suit the timeframe, relating local and historical information about each site and being a friendly companion. If we have tried to do the same itinerary on our own, we could not have done it in the amount of time we had and we would have missed many items of interest and knowledge of the sites that Michael was able to provide. We were just awed at the number of sites and the great condition that some of these sites were maintained. Michael was very personable and knowledgeable about all of the neolithic sites. Living in the area, he knows all the back roads and getting from site to site quickly all the while telling you stories about the local area. We stopped at his home to have tea and met his lovely wife. It was an outstanding two days of visiting neolithic sites and the highlight of our 30 day cruise around the United Kingdom. You will not be disappointed in your tour with Michael Fox.

Date of experience: September 2015
2  Thank Claudia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews