We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Ever”
Review of Boyne Valley Tours

Boyne Valley Tours
Ranked #2 of 12 Tours in County Meath
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Private Day Tours of the Boyne Valley, County Meath, rich in heritage and history. Visit the heritage capital of Ireland as your personal driver brings you from one location to the other to stroll around at your ease. Take a suggested tour or design your own. Since your tour is personalised, you will be picked up from your accommodation in the Meath / Dublin area.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

My family and I hired Michael to take us around for a private tour and we were nothing less than thrilled. First we visited Newgrange, getting there early on Michael's recommendation, and managed to miss both the huge tour groups as well as the light showers that started shortly after we left the site. While in the car, Michael told us about local legends such as how the Boyne River started to flow and showed us a plethora of interesting sites that we never would have found otherwise. He was a perfect gentleman and even carried an umbrella for my mother when the sporadic showers hit. He was also able to keep us well informed on the history of each site and was a splendid tour guide, whether he was explaining the High Crosses at Monasterboice or telling us about the history of Battle of the Boyne he was always very well informed. Even when one of our members was feeling a little ill, Michael was very courteous and did his best to ensure her comfort. His sense of humor kept us on our toes as we moved from place to place and I really can't think of any way he could have improved the day. If you are going to the Boyne Valley, then you need to hire Boyne Valley Private Day Tours, you won't regret it!

Date of experience: July 2012
2  Thank kankan31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (229)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"michael fox"
in 96 reviews
"private tour"
in 30 reviews
"day tour"
in 45 reviews
"his knowledge"
in 22 reviews
"mellifont abbey"
in 14 reviews
"boyne valley tour"
in 15 reviews
"highly recommend michael"
in 11 reviews
"trim castle"
in 33 reviews
"comfortable car"
in 6 reviews
"safe driver"
in 5 reviews
"megalithic sites"
in 5 reviews
"dublin hotel"
in 8 reviews
"local guide"
in 4 reviews
"contacted michael"
in 4 reviews
"passage tomb"
in 13 reviews
"an excellent guide"
in 4 reviews
"celtic crosses"
in 5 reviews
Filter

204 - 208 of 229 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2012

On July 26th my friend and I were picked up early at our B & B in Dublin by Michael and brought to Newgrange and Knowth for the early morning tours before the tourist busses arrived. We had originally decided not to see Knowth but Michael convinced us it was worth checking out and he was right. We loved that there was ample time to explore. Then Michael took us to several other sites tailored to our interests including a visit to Kells and the sacred sites there. We especially enjoyed Loughcrew where we were about the only people there later in the day, and afterwards we spent some time at Four Knocks where we had the opportunity to experience this sacred space with no one else around. Michael then took us back to his home for tea and a walk in his labyrinth before driving us home. He even took us to a grocery store on the way back so we could grab a snack for dinner as it was late and we weren't up for going out. Michael was enthusiastic and knowledgeable and he clearly enjoys sharing his love of the special places of the Boyne Valley. Michael's tour was one of the highlights of our 2 week stay in Ireland.

Date of experience: July 2012
Thank Dorothy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Michael Fox provided my wife and me with a first time tour of the Boyne Valley attractions.
He was fabulous. Saw things that we would never had seen and he planned it so we were not waiting behind long tour bus lines. He is a very nice guy with great knowledge of the area.
The one day tour with Michael truly enhanced our visit to Ireland.
I would do it again in a second -

Ed Sullivan
Massachusetts, USA

Date of experience: June 2012
1  Thank EdwardS354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Michael Fox is an amazing tour guide, bringing alive the magic, mystery and history of the people living in the Boyne Valley thousands of years ago. We enjoyed not only the expected sites such as La Grange but we also visited the stone age cairn at Loughcrew during the spring equinox. A very special addition to our previously outlined tour. There were many surprises along the way, places we would have never found without someone with Michael's intimate knowledge of the Valley. My husband and I felt this was the best of best in terms of tours and recommend Michael's personal tour to anyone with interest in the ancient sites of Ireland.

Kathy Bergstrom
Los Angeles, California

Date of experience: March 2012
1  Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Michael Fox is a magician of a tour guide: calmly listening to a rather eclectic set of interests of three very different adults, and then planning, on the fly, and executing a most amazing one-day tour that hit all of the high points of our list, and far more than that. Expertly navigating a spotless late-model Audi through the backroads and byways of Boyne Valley without a wasted minute. We felt more in the hands of a trusted family friend than a tour guide. Intelligent, witty, and understated all while showing us the very best of this rich cultural landscape. Thanks, Michael. The trip was wonderful, and here, at last, is the first five star review I've ever posted of anything.
E. Gough

Date of experience: May 2012
1  Thank edwgough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boyne Valley Tours also viewed

County Dublin, Province of Leinster
 
Drogheda, County Louth
 

Been to Boyne Valley Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing