We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Save
Review Highlights
So near and yet so far...

We had booked with Boyne Valley Tours last year for an upcoming tour in June of 2020 and... read more

Reviewed April 22, 2020
Douglas P
,
Burlington, Canada
Boyne Valley Tours

I had such a great experience with Michael Fox of Boyne Valley Tours back in 2015, that I reached... read more

Reviewed April 7, 2020
vncmattapoisett
,
Mattapoisett, Massachusetts
via mobile
Read all 249 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around County Meath
from $45.81
More Info
from $44.60
More Info
from $47.01
More Info
from $60.27
More Info
Reviews (249)
Filter reviews
249 results
Traveler rating
244
3
1
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
244
3
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews michael fox private tour day tour mellifont abbey michael's tour trim castle personal tour dublin hotel thatched roof hired michael own pace passage tomb celtic crosses back roads delightful lunch an excellent guide historic sites
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
227 - 232 of 249 reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Michael Fox is a magician of a tour guide: calmly listening to a rather eclectic set of interests of three very different adults, and then planning, on the fly, and executing a most amazing one-day tour that hit all of the high points of our list, and far more than that. Expertly navigating a spotless late-model Audi through the backroads and byways of Boyne Valley without a wasted minute. We felt more in the hands of a trusted family friend than a tour guide. Intelligent, witty, and understated all while showing us the very best of this rich cultural landscape. Thanks, Michael. The trip was wonderful, and here, at last, is the first five star review I've ever posted of anything.
E. Gough

Date of experience: May 2012
1  Thank edwgough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

My friend and I went on a tour with Michael yesterday. I had discovered Michael on the internet while researching Loughcrew and discovered his web site (www.boynevalleytours.com).
I'm not a big fan of getting in large tour buses and heading to major tourist sites so I really appreciated Michael's personalized tour. He took us to some amazing places including Loughcrew--could have stayed there all day--along with some beauty and inspiring holy wells which I had wanted to see. Based on our interests, he really mapped out the day for us.
Michael is extremely knowledgeable about the area from both a folk and academic perspective. Will definitely go again to explore more sites in the Boyne with Michael.

Date of experience: July 2012
1  Thank wandag23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

We had a wonderful experience on our tour with Michael. We had come from Rock of Cashel the day before and were weary of the tourist crowds. We explained this to Michael, and he went out of his way to take us to little visited sites that were incredibly impressive but not in the standard tour guides.

Our favorite was Four Knocks Passage Tomb, where Michael picked up the key from a home nearby and we were able to enjoy the beauty and sacred nature of the passage tomb all to ourselves. This was a stark contrast to the next day, when we were herded into Newgrange with 25 other visitors and could barely see the artwork and structure before we were rushed out. We also loved Bective Abbey, where in addition to a personal tour, Michael introduced us to some archaeologists who were working on the site. We were able to talk to the archaeologists and they shared some of their finds with us, like a primitive needle and spear tips.

It was a wonderful experience and Michael was very generous in sharing his insider's knowledge of the Boyne Valley.

Date of experience: July 2012
Thank Diana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Our tour was much as others describe: individually crafted to suit our interests, well informed and timed to avoid the heavy crowds, a thoroughly pleasant experience and one that Micheal, while making sure we experienced the optimal amount of the wonders of the Boyne, also allowed us the time and space to have our own experience. Newgrange at 9AM, Four Knocks alone at midday and Tara in the late afternoon were really very special. Thank you, Michael! Trust this kind man to show you the land the he loves. Also, he has access to two lovely labyrinths. Don't miss them.

Date of experience: June 2012
Thank Peg E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

The tour of newgrange and surrounding areas (Hill of Tara etc.) was excellent. Michael was very professional and sincere. He picked us up at our hotel in an audi, made sure that we are as comfortable as possible and was very flexible in terms of matching the tour with our interests. Highly recommended.

Date of experience: June 2012
Thank Sayantani_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews