We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“VIP Setting!”
other travelers have booked this property
Harbour Haven
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Harbour Haven
Have your wake up coffee in the front garden before you tackle the mountain Enjoy views of clew bay
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Harbour Haven
Have your wake up coffee in the front garden before you tackle the mountain
Enjoy views of clew bay
Relax in the living room with a good book and a log burning stove
Peaceful setting
The fully equipped kitchen makes food preparation a joy
Going out instead?  Enjoy the spacious kitchen for a preprandial
Hand crafted dresser by a local artisan
Nautical themed dining room to watch the Clewbay sunset
The setting sun from the dining room,a simple pleasure
Sunset from the music room and life feels good
Upstairs Landing
Seaview bedroom with ensuite
A place to read before bed
Restful bedroom
Tranquil bedroom
Elegant decor
Original Art works calm your spirit
Al fresco dining any time of the day
Why not have a sundowner on the deck
and watch life unfold
You can always come back and climb 'The Reek' next time.
and catch another West of Ireland sunset
The quay from Westport House
The Reek (Croagh Patrick)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
8 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Westport, County Mayo, Western Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Gster476
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“VIP Setting!”
Reviewed August 18, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This delightful house sits right on the Quay area within a walk or short drive of many wonderful opportunities. We could walk to several restaurants, including a fun 10-minute stroll over the hill to Cronin's Sheebeen with excellent food on the water. In addition, a handy grocery store was 5-10 minutes walk the other way. Being away from the congestion of downtown Westport was perfect. We could walk on the trail right behind the house into downtown and enjoy the bustle but then be back at the house for serene views over the water. We also appreciated the easy drive out toward Croagh Patrick and the terrific beaches out that direction. If you get sun, don't miss Silver Strand: what a treasure. The house itself is full of character (in a good way!) My kids were delighted to find a piano and guitar to indulge their musical passions, and hundreds of books are available to enjoy while you're there. The included "necessities" were far fewer than any of the other places we rented in Ireland such as paper towels, salt and pepper, garbage bags, dishwasher detergent, etc. I don't consider that a criticism, just a note that you may need to pick up a few of these items as we did. I didn't observe any other house in the Quay area that would match this one for location and we have nothing but very fond memories of our special week at Harbour Haven!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 29, 2017
Dear Greg and Family,
Thank you so much for being such wonderful guests.We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at Harbour Haven and thrilled that your family got to express their musical talents.We have enjoyed collecting our library so it is nice that you share our passion for books.We hope to welcome you back to Westport in the future.

Best wishes,
Margaret
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicia M
England
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“great house for a big group”
Reviewed August 6, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We really enjoyed staying here. The house was great. There were 13 of us and we had a lots of room to cook, eat together, and chill in the living room. Being so close to the Quay meant we could stroll to some restaurants and cafes. We also took the greenway walk into Westport a few times.

The sea is just across the road and it was lovely to see this every day and the birds that used it.

An excellent stay

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 23, 2017
Dear Alicia
Wonderful that you all got to chill and chat together. We love our family gatherings here and enjoy the haven that is Westport,so it's very nice that others can experience the joy of reconnecting with family too.
Best wishes,
Margaret
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_CoD...
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great house in a great location”
Reviewed July 31, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

The house has ample space with 8 bedrooms, well equipped and was perfect for a week with the extended family. It's located on Westport Harbour which is about 2k from the town centre but is well served with some great restaurants, cafe's and bars and perfect for a stroll on the Green way into town or walk along the coast. I would also recommend Cronnin's Sheebeen ( best fish and chips ever), the Towers ( surf and turf) and Creel café (midday coffee and cakes ). Big thanks to Margaret and the ever helpful Dot!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 23, 2017
Thank you Stephen I'm delighted you and your family got to spend some quality time in Harbour Haven.We are blessed having Dot looking after us.Her enthusiasm is heartening!
We look forward to welcoming you and your family back here soon
Best wishes
Margaret
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Road68327...
1 review
“Wonderful Harbour Haven”
Reviewed July 17, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

This was a wonderful house in a great location and we thoroughly enjoyed it. Everything worked and we had great comfort. The property manager, Dot, was very responsive to any extra needs we had. However, on arrival we were a little surprised to find very little in the way of courtesy items such as enough toilet paper, soap, etc. to get by for a day or so. Unlike the situation with other houses we've rented, there were no welcoming items such as a cake or a bottle of milk or anything to make us feel welcome. I think small gestures like this make people feel the owner cares not just about the money but about making her guests feel welcome. Little things matter. All in all this is a great house. I just wish the weather had allowed us to enjoy the views and garden but we made the most of it in spite of that.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 19, 2017
Dear Margaret,
Thank you for your feedback. I am glad to hear you enjoyed the house and your stay in Harbour Haven. We are always looking for ways to improve our Guests experience and we will certainly be adding the Welcome Pack as a priority. We look forward to welcoming you back to Harbour Haven in the future.
Best Wishes,
Margaret
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jknight22...
Solihull, United Kingdom
1 review
“Harbour Haven”
Reviewed June 5, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Another great week in Westport. Fantastic house with exquisite views. Ideally located within minutes of Westport Harbour.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 18, 2017
Thank you.
Glad you enjoyed your holiday. Hope to see you back in Westport again soon
Best wishes
Margaret
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanith C
1 review
“Mrs”
Reviewed November 8, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

An absolutely beautiful house in a great location with all the amenities you could need. We comfortably fit 10 adults and 6 kids under 5 here. The back garden was a great bonus and kids spent a lot of time here. The house itself is very impressive, homely and relaxing. I would have no qualms about recommending this house to anyone, particularly large groups. On a final note, the owner was great to deal with as I was back and forth with dates a lot. We hope to return soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 8, 2016
Thank you for your lovely comments and review .I'm so glad you had a lovely holiday and that everyone enjoyed themselves.We understand its a difficult task to organise a family group for holiday dates so its never a problem adjusting dates and numbers before you finally confirm your booking. You were very easy to accommodate in all respects, and we look forward to whenever you wish to revisit.
Best wishes,
Margaret
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eileen W
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic spacious house in a beautiful location”
Reviewed October 26, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We stayed in this well appointed and spacious house for a whole month. Thank you to Margaret all our needs were met, nothing was too much trouble. Some of the party was delayed in arrivungl and Margaret could not have been more accommodating, arranging collection of some of the party who travelled by train, which was not the original plan, arrived late into Westport railway station. The house is comfortable and has everything you could need, with plenty of space which allowed our extended family and friends to have their own space as well as a large lounge where we could chill and watch TV or a movie, listen to music or read - and wow what a great collection of books the owners have. The bedrooms were spacious and had great storage. The children enjoyed playing in the garden and the location in terms of the Greenway could not be better - you could get on the Greenway just one minute from home! We brought bikes with us and there was plenty of secure storage for these. The Quays area has a great selection of restaurants and bars, we especially enjoyed Sunday lunch and music and dancing on Thursday evening at The Helm. We went on an evening fishing trip organised by the Helm which was fantastic! Crough Patrick was only a 15 minute drive away and some of our party climbed the mountain. We enjoyed the hustle and bustle of Westport town but much preferred being located down at The Quay with beautiful views and walking distance to the shops and restaurants. The Creel was perfect for a coffee and a big slab of cake and The Towers offered a wonderful menu and service was excellent wherever we went.
If you have the time check out Joyce's Country Sheepdogs in Connemara about an hour away, so worth it. We had a trip out with Westport Jarvey - the wonderful Bella the horse and charming Kevin.
If you are looking for a comfortable stay in a great location, if you enjoy having a good bit of space and want a home from home then Harbour Haven is for you. A great place to come home to after a day out at Achill or shopping in Castlebar! We would highly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 27, 2016
Dear Eileen and Nick,
Thank you for the comprehensive and glowing review. We are truly delighted that you all had such a fun time time here in Harbour Haven and we would love to welcome you back again. You were wonderful guests and certainly made a very good impression with our friends here at the Quay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing