We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay here!”
Review of Ceol Na Mara

Ceol Na Mara
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ceol Na Mara
Ranked #65 of 69 Westport B&B and Inns
Cavan, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Do not stay here!”
Reviewed August 5, 2011

Would definitely not recommend this b&b. Booked a single room & got put in a shoe box up in the attic. The room was that small there was a sliding door into the bathroom. The bathroom was also so small that you could not have a proper shower as you could'nt strech your arms & the handbasin overlaps the toilet. There is only a small velux window so if your where hoping for a fire escape, think again and not that you would be warned as there is no smoke alarm. There was used bottles of shampoo & shower gel on the sink & out on the landing. The room was grubby & dirty with different parts of bed linen, not even a proper matching set. Host was very rude and sharp, expecting 50 euro. Kicked up hell and refused to pay, especially when she was told about the drunk guy walking into my room at 4am. Breakfast was very basic, dont expect much selection or a smile in the morning because you can be sure you wont get it. Worst b&b ive ever stayed in!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank foxyneady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    4
    1
    3
    4
See reviews for
2
5
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2010

Received a confirmation for our reservation on May 13th for a king room (actually found it to be a queen bed by american standards) which we requested. Upon arrival on July 23rd we were put in to a double bed room with no other options but to "kick-out" the guest that were staying in the king room. Host was very short and abrupt. She was supposed to inform the quests they had to move rooms - she did not do that. At approximately 11:30 pm we were finally able to move into that room - which had not been properly cleaned - trash was still in bathroom and shower had not been cleaned. Host made rude remarks at breakfast the next morning. Would not recommend this establishment if you have room preferences because confirmation emails from hosts do not apply or if you are looking for a quite nights sleep - other quests above us were late nighters and noise was a real issue.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Tourin11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Westport hotels

Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2010

Stayed 2 nights. Could not have been more helpful. Homely room with good breakfast and homemade bread. All that is best about B&B - and all with an Irish welcome. Thankyou and well done

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan_Ashdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2010

I stayed at the B&B in Westport with my parents for the last night of our 5 day tour of Ireland and it was well worth the wait!

Sharon is extremely gracious and gave us some great tips for dinner while we were in Westport.

The rooms have a more modern B&B style which was very refreshing and each room has an ensuite on it too. We had booked for a triple room but when we got there and she found out that I was travelling with my parents she moved me into a double bed at no extra charge. It was muchly appreciated the thought and I slept like a rock!

She is also located very close to the harbour and we felt no need to go into city centre since it was an beautiful walk to a great restaurant/pub along the pier. If you wanted more access to town centre though it is not a quick walk but an easy drive by car, maybe 5 minutes.

Breakfast was very filling and delicious as well as made to order. I thought my poor father was going to burst!

Thanks again Sharon and good luck with your course!

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ncmigas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umbria
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2010

Sharon, the hostess, is a very kind person. We liked the house, which was clean and confortable, her kids and the breakfast!
The rooms are big and very nice. Maybe the toilet is a little bit small but the general impression is very very good.
We suggest for sure this B&B!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LolloeGaia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Townsend
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2009

We stayed one night at Ceol na Mara and it was very fine! it is just outside the gates of Westport House but within walking distance of downtown. Our hostess, Sharon, is enthusiastic, friendly, and helpful. The beds are wonderful and the showers better than average. The brown bread Sharon served with breakfast was the best we had on the entire holiday. Sharon sent us to dinner around the corner at The Helm and it was excellent, also.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PT_Linda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2009

We recently stayed six nights, using Westport Quay as our base for the week. Sharon could not be any nicer. Wonderful accommodations and breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westport
0.3 mi away
West View Hotel
West View Hotel
#1 of 1 in Louisburgh
58 reviews
1.8 mi away
3 Arches B&B
3 Arches B&B
#1 of 5 in Louisburgh
12 reviews
11.0 mi away
Broadlands B&B
Broadlands B&B
#43 of 69 in Westport
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ponderosa Bed & Breakfast
Ponderosa Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 5 in Louisburgh
13 reviews
0.3 mi away
Elmgrove Bed & Breakfast
Elmgrove Bed & Breakfast
#30 of 69 in Westport
31 reviews
12.3 mi away
Roscaoin House
Roscaoin House
#39 of 69 in Westport
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ceol Na Mara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ceol Na Mara

Property: Ceol Na Mara
Address: Ceol Na Mara Lower Quay, Westport, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a wonderful family run Bed and Breakfast in the heart of Westport Harbour, just a couple of minutes drive from Westport town centre. We provide on site parking, all rooms ensuite, babysitting service when requested with booking, Sky T.V. and a lovely warm, inviting enviroment to make your stay a comfortable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ceol Na Mara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing