We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad”
Review of Boffin Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Boffin Lodge
Ranked #17 of 69 Westport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not bad”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed one night in a room at back of the house, with 2 single beds and a double. We had no specific complaints, other than overall it wasn't as good as many other places we stayed during our 2 week trip. I think our party of 4 (in 2 rooms) were the only people staying that night, so perhaps it would have been better in peak season or in a better room. The hostess was very kind but did mention that we were put at the back of the house due to the fact that it was easier to heat only a portion of the house. Westport was great, and this location is fine if you don't mind walking a bit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheAwesomes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    50
    12
    5
    6
See reviews for
57
113
27
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed January 29, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here during a wet weekend in January. Although the weather outside was poor, Boffin Lodge had such a wonderful atmosphere that it ensured our weekend was enjoyable nonetheless. I would highly recommend the 'Superior Room' option, as the fireplace is a fantastic touch, adding warmth and homeliness to our stay away.

Pat was incredibly enthusiastic and welcoming and he was happy to supply us with some suggestions on local places to eat. There was a great breakfast menu available and the facilities in the room were great.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Really nice atmosphere and the room was large and clean. Good location between the main town and the harbour. The owner was friendly and helpful. The breakfast was delicious with eggs laid by their own chickens- I would definately stay again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Easy to find with GPS as it is located on Boffin Lane, which is really a driveway to the B&B. Somewhat tight room with a very nice bathroom. Satellite cable TV was a plus. Great breakfast. Suggest going to water front for dinner, really nice French Restaurantto left of access road to the waterfront also a nice pub.Staff very helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adventurer61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed here for three nights over New Years. We were delighted with the place.

On arrival, Pat welcomed us at the door and told us everything we needed to know about our room, the guesthouse and the locality.

The room was huge, spotlessly clean and with a comfy bed. There was a spacious shower and a small kettle for tea/coffee. There was also underfloor heating with our own thermostat, satellite tv, wifi, hair dryer and a comprehensive guide to the area.

Breakfast was included and there were plenty of choices for cooked breakfasts, ranging from a full irish to French toast or pancakes. There was also a large spread of breads, fruit, yogurts and juices and more to help yourself from. Pat also brought us tea and toast to keep us going while he took our orders and cooked them fresh. We had a few different breakfasts over our stay and they were all hearty and delicious.

All in all, we found the Boffin lodge to be an excellent guesthouse and Pat was a really accommodating and helpful host, who made sure we made the best of our stay. I would definitely stay again and recommend the Boffin Lodge.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JackFromDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Stayed here for a wedding in Westport the weekend of 8th December.
As my parents ran a B&B when I was younger I know a good guesthouse when I see one and this place could not be faulted.
Pat welcomed us when we arrived and couldn't have been more helpful. From taxi and restaurant recommendations to even letting me print off boarding passes in the office he was brilliant.

Our room was enormous and excellent value for money, as were the breakfasts. Unfortunately the chickens are away at the moment but as an Irish couple living in London the Full Irish with plenty of brown bread and scones just reminded me of home.

I really can't believe the bad review from last month as frankly it was something that was outside the control of the proprietors, who still did everything to fix the situation at the time. Don't judge the place on that review, but on the hospitality and good food that everyone else is raving about.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank exiledelbows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

My husband, brother and sister in law were traveling from England to attend a wedding in Westport. I can be a bit of a snob and tend to stay in Hotels rather than B&Bs but after some previous travel experience decided to give it a go. I looked at trip advisor, as we have found this to be very useful previously and we were not disappointed. They were very accomodating and even let up check in early as we had had an early flight and needed to freshen up before the wedding. We had the room with the four poster and the bed was very comfortable and the room very large.There was a good selection for breakfast both to eat and drink. We stayed 2 nights and would certainly return. They even managed to sort out a room for my father in law who decided in the morning that he would also like to stay.
cheers Linda and Jim

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda3012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.8 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#4 of 14 in Westport
1,428 reviews
0.1 mi away
Westport Woods Hotel
Westport Woods Hotel
#11 of 14 in Westport
1,028 reviews
0.3 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#5 of 14 in Westport
894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Clew Bay Hotel
Clew Bay Hotel
#3 of 14 in Westport
981 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbour Mill
Harbour Mill
#1 of 14 in Westport
549 reviews
3.4 mi away
Westport Country Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boffin Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boffin Lodge

Property: Boffin Lodge
Address: Boffin Lodge Boffin Street | The Quay, Westport, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Boffin Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boffin Lodge is a purpose built 3* Guest House.(1999)It has a wide variety of accommodation available incl a 4 Poster Room with open fireplace. Non Smoking. €35 p.p.s.p.n year round More favourable rates to be had for 2 or more night stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Boffin Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing