We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, good breakfast, nice location.”
Review of Boffin Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Boffin Lodge
Ranked #14 of 68 Westport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Friendly, good breakfast, nice location.”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed here recently and on arrival we were really impressed with the place. The location is good, not too far from the town or quay and the rooms were spacious and clean. However we found the beds too hard and uncomfortable. The couple travelling with us stayed in a family room and also found the beds too hard.
Aside from that the place was nice. There was a great choice for breakfast and it was cooked very well. My ficancé had a full Irish, I had scrambled eggs and toast and his sister had lovely pancakes. There was a nice selection of cereals, breads and yogurts also.
Over all I would recommend this B&B as long as you don't mind hard uncomfortable beds.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SineadP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    50
    12
    5
    6
See reviews for
57
112
27
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

Beautiful house. Very clean. Excellent breakfast. Very helpful hostess. Lots of extras which made it special. Bernie did our washing for us and let the kids feed her chickens. She gave us lots of advice including where to eat and where to stay in our next town. Highly recommended. Thanks Bernie!! X

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank penb71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witten, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

"Pat" took us late at night with a sense of humor - he stuck his head out the door and counted: one, two, three Germans, I guess? Equally pleasing was the quiet and clean rooms and a delicious Irish breakfast. Pats courtesy and friendly service are definitely recommended! The location of the hotel (approx. 10 min. Walk to the "center") makes it ideal for city travelers.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Friedhelm E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

This was our second stay at Boffin Lodge, last year for our honeymoon, and this year to celebrate our first wedding anniversay-it was every bit as good as we remembered it from last year!

We were met with a warm welcome from the owner Paddy, who was so helpful and full of suggestions on the best places to go and history of the area which was lovely.

The room was lovely, huge comfy bed, tv, hairdryer, tea and coffee facilities, and good powerful shower in the en-suite.

The breakfast was out of this world, great selection, so much to choose from, and the perfect way to set you up for the day ahead!

All of the staff were lovely, helpful, and cant do enough for you.

We will definately be back again next year, and we wouldnt want to stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Best B and B in Ireland and best I have ever been to.Excellent staff who certainly know how to treat people.Room was big with everything you need.The WIFI facility was a bonus along with the combo/satelite saorview.
We stayed 1 night.Breakfast was fantastic with a great choice available.Bernie is a very kind woman along with the rest of staff.Bernie made sure we had sticks for our Croagh Patrick mountain climb.The next morning we went to Westport House.
It was raining very heavy and Bernie made sure to give us raingear and umberellas which added
a nice touch to our stay. We will definetley be back again.This is the way B and B's should be run.
From
Gerry,Brigid and Stephanie Hewitt
Lucan,
CO. Dublin,
Ireland.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geraldini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

I stayed at boffin lodge the 1st night i stayed in the lovely town of westport it is located at top the hill near the waters edge where many of the citys better resturants are located ,,and leading itself to a very pituresque romantic stroll sin the evening around sunset ,,this area as well as the hotel is full of history ,,breakfast was in a in a country lightfilled room surounded by windows and friendly chickens,,outside in a lush garden setting ,fresh and bueatifull ,,the food professionally served ,,and well set out ,,,,decor was full of history and old world charm,,it was warm and inviting ,,,,thier was handy internet access set up in the hall ,,the hosts were gracious and helped me with my needs and concerns as a female solo traveler ..i was attending my son wedding ,,and this was such a blessing thier extra care and concern ,,highly recomended

Room Tip: they have a handicapped equiped room if that is needed
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jattotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.8 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#3 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,405 reviews
0.3 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#5 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
0.8 mi away
Clew Bay Hotel
Clew Bay Hotel
#4 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Harbour Mill
Harbour Mill
#1 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
3.4 mi away
Westport Country Lodge Hotel
0.8 mi away
Augusta Lodge
Augusta Lodge
#1 of 68 in Westport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boffin Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boffin Lodge

Property: Boffin Lodge
Address: Boffin Lodge Boffin Street | The Quay, Westport, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Boffin Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boffin Lodge is a purpose built 3* Guest House.(1999)It has a wide variety of accommodation available incl a 4 Poster Room with open fireplace. Non Smoking. €35 p.p.s.p.n year round More favourable rates to be had for 2 or more night stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Boffin Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing