We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cant wait to stay again next year!”
Review of Boffin Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Boffin Lodge
Ranked #18 of 70 Westport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 28, 2012

This was our second stay at Boffin Lodge, last year for our honeymoon, and this year to celebrate our first wedding anniversay-it was every bit as good as we remembered it from last year!

We were met with a warm welcome from the owner Paddy, who was so helpful and full of suggestions on the best places to go and history of the area which was lovely.

The room was lovely, huge comfy bed, tv, hairdryer, tea and coffee facilities, and good powerful shower in the en-suite.

The breakfast was out of this world, great selection, so much to choose from, and the perfect way to set you up for the day ahead!

All of the staff were lovely, helpful, and cant do enough for you.

We will definately be back again next year, and we wouldnt want to stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (305)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

182 - 188 of 305 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2012

Best B and B in Ireland and best I have ever been to.Excellent staff who certainly know how to treat people.Room was big with everything you need.The WIFI facility was a bonus along with the combo/satelite saorview.
We stayed 1 night.Breakfast was fantastic with a great choice available.Bernie is a very kind woman along with the rest of staff.Bernie made sure we had sticks for our Croagh Patrick mountain climb.The next morning we went to Westport House.
It was raining very heavy and Bernie made sure to give us raingear and umberellas which added
a nice touch to our stay. We will definetley be back again.This is the way B and B's should be run.
From
Gerry,Brigid and Stephanie Hewitt
Lucan,
CO. Dublin,
Ireland.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geraldini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

I stayed at boffin lodge the 1st night i stayed in the lovely town of westport it is located at top the hill near the waters edge where many of the citys better resturants are located ,,and leading itself to a very pituresque romantic stroll sin the evening around sunset ,,this area as well as the hotel is full of history ,,breakfast was in a in a country lightfilled room surounded by windows and friendly chickens,,outside in a lush garden setting ,fresh and bueatifull ,,the food professionally served ,,and well set out ,,,,decor was full of history and old world charm,,it was warm and inviting ,,,,thier was handy internet access set up in the hall ,,the hosts were gracious and helped me with my needs and concerns as a female solo traveler ..i was attending my son wedding ,,and this was such a blessing thier extra care and concern ,,highly recomended

Room Tip: they have a handicapped equiped room if that is needed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jattotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Very nice stay in the boffin lodge westport, friendly staff, lovely breakfast, very good price, staff very helpful.

Would love to return sometime, would recommend I would say one of the best b and b in westport

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ed W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stayed in Boffin Lodge for 2 nights and had a most enjoyable visit. The location was perfect with easy access to the superb and the town itself.
The bedroom was large & spacious and the bathroom was a generous size. The lounge was comfortable and the dining room was very pleasant. Bernie & the staff were welcoming and gave us useful information about places to eat in Westport. The breakfast choice was comprehensive and catered well for our needs.The food was fresh, well prepared with very generous helpings.
Westport itself has a great variety of places to eat. We would recommend Torrinos ( Italian) and Mangos (fish restaurant). Also many great pubs with Irish music.
Thank you Bernie & co. We had a great time.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Myself and family spent a long weekend at Boffin Lodge last week.

It was a lovely place, the staff were very friendly. Bernie especially was very warm and welcoming :-) The breakfast each morning was great, can't beat a good full Irish brekkie and even better the eggs were fresh from the chickens in the garden.

Great location near to Quays and short walk to Westport town.

Would definately recommend this place and would love to come back.

Thanks for a lovely stay Boffin Lodge.

The Gibbons crew from Birmingham xx

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally G G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

I stay at hotels regularly for business travel and have become immune to some of the problems and niggles associated with large anonymouns hotel chains.

The first thing that you will notice upon arriving at Boffin Lodge is a personall un-hurried welcome. You are welcomed and engaged in conversation because life is too short not to ! Unlike an anonymous name-tag you'll be welcomed by Bernie who is genuinely interested in how you are.

Here are the things that matter:
1. the house is spotless, your room will be clean and well aired. The bathroom will be clean and modern
2. the rooms are quiet: you will be able to sleep even with the windows open
3. the breakfast will set you up for the day
4. you can get to the center of Westport town quickly

Bringing children? You can get adjoining rooms: this is very important for families. They'll be fascinated by the chickens who will stare in at you while you're eating breakfast. Ask nicely and they can help Bernie feed them: it's no mystery why they're plump looking birds.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.7 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#4 of 13 in Westport
966 reviews
0.3 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#3 of 13 in Westport
1,012 reviews
3.4 mi away
Westport Country Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Harbour Mill
Harbour Mill
#1 of 13 in Westport
593 reviews
6 mi away
Quay West
Quay West
#13 of 70 in Westport
100 reviews
0.8 mi away
Woodside Lodge
Woodside Lodge
#3 of 70 in Westport
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boffin Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boffin Lodge

Address: Boffin Lodge Boffin Street | The Quay, Westport, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 70 B&Bs / Inns in Westport
Price Range: $81 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Boffin Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boffin Lodge is a purpose built 3* Guest House.(1999)It has a wide variety of accommodation available incl a 4 Poster Room with open fireplace. Non Smoking. €35 p.p.s.p.n year round More favourable rates to be had for 2 or more night stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Boffin Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing