We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, great scones”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Westport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Moher House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #20 of 70 Westport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We were welcomed with hot coffee and scones on a cold rainy day when we arrived. The location is perfect, peaceful and clean. Lots of parking space. There is a choice of not only a big Irish breakfast but also nice french toast and sausages. I recommend this place heartily.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janban53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (116)
There are newer reviews for Moher House Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 116 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2013

We were in our second week of circling Ireland, clockwise, when we stayed at Moher House. Not only was it nice and clean with a friendly atmosphere, the owners were very welcoming, putting us completely at ease. THEN, they invited us into the living room to watch the National Hurling Championship between Kilkenny and Galway. We had no idea what hurling was but they graciously walked us through the rules and scoring - a great treat! In our discussions we mentioned seeing a bicycle touring group returning from Dublin only to find out that their daughter was in the group. The morning included a delicious traditional Irish meal with bacon, eggs, potatoes, tomatoes and delicious bread. In 2 weeks, we stayed in several B&Bs around Ireland and Moher House is the best.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

This was a wonderful place to stay after a day's hiking. The house is extremely clean, the beds very comfortable and the fixtures modern. All rooms are on the ground floor. This is a quiet country home surrounded by a beautiful garden located approximately 15 minutes south of Westport. Marion and her husband are wonderful hosts and you truly feel like a you are a welcome vistor and leave knowing you have a new friend in Ireland. In addition to an excellent breakfast, Marion served dinner for a small additional price. Our hosts were the most accommodating friendly B&B owners we meet in our month long stay in Ireland.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doug W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

After miles and miles, seeking for a bed and breakfast in this wild nature of Mayo, we were blessed to stumble upon a lovely cottage with a delightful and colourful garden. And when the door opened, a very welcoming man lets us choose a room (which is too rare in bed & breakfasts).

And when we were done unpacking, scones and tea were waiting for us in the living room, where a turf fire warmed up the atmosphere. At that point, we already forgot everything else!

We had the opportunity to have a healthy dinner here.

The breakfast was original: we chose smoked salmon and it was perfect!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oltarus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in Marian's B&B. Every thing was perfect. Clean, welcoming, charmful host, homely atmosphere. We had an Irish Coffee in the evening sitting by the fireplace and Catherine had her panecakes in the morning. Marian behaves as if we were a membre of her family comming to visit her. We were pempered.
Thanks a million for your hospitality Marian.

Room Tip: Forget about Hotels, looks for a B&B like Marian's. "The Moher House"
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miro08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We were on a hiking tour. Marian picked us up and droped us off next day. We had tea, skons and a warm fire. Marian dryed our shoes. Wonderful B&B, nice rooms, delicus food. Marian is a charmful host. Just GREAT!!!!

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
Thank Egon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moherhouse, Owner at Moher House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Hi folks, thank you for your review . It was a pleasure to have you stay at our home . I'm sure you enjoyed your stay in Westport. Hope you will pass this way again.
Sincerely Marian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

My self and 9 of my friends came down for the gaelforce West challenge and from the min we walked into moher house we were looked after until the second we left.. Everything was handed up to us without even asking for it wether it were tea and scones or ironing our clothes. Would highly recommend it for anybody travelling down towards that area and to definetlytry out the home made scones.. 10/10

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gaelforce1298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Westport hotels
4.2 mi away
Westport Country Lodge Hotel
3.8 mi away
Harbour Mill
Harbour Mill
#1 of 14 in Westport
576 reviews
3.9 mi away
Westport Plaza Hotel
Westport Plaza Hotel
#2 of 14 in Westport
2,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#3 of 14 in Westport
971 reviews
4.3 mi away
Augusta Lodge
Augusta Lodge
#2 of 70 in Westport
855 reviews
3.4 mi away
Glenderan Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moher House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moher House Bed and Breakfast

Address: Liscarney, Westport, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 70 B&Bs / Inns in Westport
Price Range: $96 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing