We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is Ireland at it's best!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Westport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Moher House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #20 of 70 Westport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 5, 2011

What a wonderful experience for my first visit to Ireland, as well as my first B&B stay! Of our 14 day visit, this was my favorite place, in large part due to the warm and entertaining Marian. On arrival we were greeted with a lovely peat fire, home-made scones, and Bailey's, prior to overindulging in a wonderful chicken and pasta dinner prepared by Marian...is there anything better than home baked Irish brown bread? Breakfast was a choice of just about anything and we certainly enjoyed every bit of it. I do miss my porridge. Everything was delicious. The accommodations were lovely and homey with plenty of room and privacy. After staying mostly in hotels throughout the country, this was like a vacation in a vacation. Quiet, peaceful, country living, with beautiful rolling fields, endless flowers, and the company of the amicable O'Malleys. Not to mention we were just down the road from Westport and Matt Molloy's - need I say more! Wish we'd been able to stay longer. Next time, Westport and Moher House will be top on my list!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dorothy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (117)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 117 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2011

Exceptional, authentic Irish B&B experience! The home is surrounded by beautiful gardens and is adjacent to fields with sheep and wildflowers. The first day a rainbow appeared in the back yard! It is clean and quiet with comfortable bedding and linens. Marian is a gracious host as well as an excellent cook. Breakfasts were huge and delicious (I was even offered Bailey's for my oatmeal!). We also had a fabulous home-cooked dinner one night, followed by Irish coffee and a divine dessert. We were offered walking sticks to use for climbing Croagh Patrick, and had a great Pub evening with local musicians that we would never have found on our own. Met several members of the family and they could not have been nicer!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Herself101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2011

Had a lovely few days staying in Westport. The B&B is perfect, Marian & Tommy went out of their way to make us all feel extremely comfortable & welcome.
Can't wait till next year!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lydia218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

I took a group of people to Moher House in June and July 2011 - each time we were greeted with outstanding hospitality. We ate at the B & B - the food was excellent. Marian and her husband went out their way to give us a first class experience. We were tired from hiking all day, and they looked after our every need.
Zara Renander

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caminista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2011

Homey setting. Breakfast was excellent. Good advise re climbing croagh Patrick. Very accommodating host. No wifi but she allowed us to use her stick and printer.
Maria was vey warm and outgoing and an excellent representation of the Irish. The rate was lower than other B$Bs we stayed in.
All in all I would recommend if you have a car as it is 9 Ikm out of Westport.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelmom055_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2011

We stayed here prior to climing Croagh Patrick. We were welcomed warmly, and the meals were absolutely
delicious. The house was very comfortable and quiet, and our hosts let us use their computer. This was a wonderful place to stay, and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CCTD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2011

Marian & Tommy are gracious and personable hosts. The B&B is immaculate with a gorgeous yard. Besides tea and scones on arrival and a full Irish breakfast, we were offered, at reasonable cost, a "Full Irish" evening meal meal. Since we were walking the Western Way, we did not have a way into Westport for dinner. This was perfect. In the morning Marian gave us a ride to a Western Way trailhead, avoiding the walk along the busy highway.

Room Tip: Call ahead to arrange for the dinner meal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eweNme97801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Westport hotels
4.2 mi away
Westport Country Lodge Hotel
4.2 mi away
Hazelbrook Bed & Breakfast
3.8 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#4 of 13 in Westport
950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Westport Woods Hotel
Westport Woods Hotel
#11 of 13 in Westport
1,101 reviews
3.8 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#3 of 13 in Westport
1,006 reviews
4.2 mi away
Knockranny House Hotel
Knockranny House Hotel
#7 of 13 in Westport
1,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moher House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moher House Bed and Breakfast

Address: Liscarney, Westport, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 70 B&Bs / Inns in Westport
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing