We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heartily recommend this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Westport Plaza Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 14, 2009

We have just returned from a midweek break (from Sunday to Wednesday) that included 3 nights B&B and 2 Table' d'Hote dinners in the Merlot restaurant. We arrived early on Sunday afternoon (2:30pm - check-in not till 3:30) and although our allotted room was not ready we were assigned a room of equal status straight away. The room was on the first floor, spacious with modern tasteful decor and large marble bathroom with separate shower and jacuzzi bath. The room exceeded our expectations in terms of size and standard of fittings/decor. Included in the room were wired internet access and new release movies on demand via the in-room entertainment system, both at no extra cost. Interestingly the television at it's loudest was perfectly adequate to hear from the bed, but it could not be turned up so loud as to be a nuisance to neighbouring rooms - a great idea if it is intended as such.

The style of the hotel's public rooms is modern chic and some may find this a little cold, especially compared to the sister hotel, the Castlecourt, across the courtyard. We found the (traionally-styled) bar in the Castlecourt more inviting than the segmented bar in the Plaza with it's different seating and partitioning styles. Just a matter of personal taste.

There are both Irish and non-Irish staff throughout the hotel and all were found to be professional, warm and courteous. A special shout out to Joshua and his restaurant staff who were superb, both at breakfast and dinner. A nice touch was that if you wanted something off the a la carte menu you payed a small supplement (3€ for starters and €5 for mains) though the choice on the Table d'Hote was impressive.

Often Irish hotels let themselves down when it comes to food and we were a bit anxious that the dinners in the Westport Plaza would be quantity over quality. No such problem here. Their French-born chef can turn out superb bistro-style food ( we had great starters of pork belly and scallops with cepes accompanied by beautifully cooked halibut and duckling). Served in a nice atmosphere by professional staff makes eating a high point of a stay in this hotel.

The hotel was surprisingly busy at this time of the year with a number of bus tour groups booked in and we had to queue for breakfast for about four minutes on our last morning, but the restaurant staff were as attentive when the restaurant was busy as when less busy.

My wife had one session in the Sula Spa which she reported as relaxing and the facilities up to her expectations. We didn't use the complimentary leisure centre on this occasion. Plenty of free parking is available in the underground carpark which has lifts to the guest room floors as well as reception.

Staff do seem to be genuinely interested in you enjoying your stay and that must reflect the owners' commitment to quality.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tablepourdeux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,127)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,909 - 1,915 of 2,127 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2009

Would heartily recommend this hotel and its sister hotel the Castlecourt, on the same campus. Management are highly visible and the staff are most welcoming and spontaneous. Pity it is just a little pricy for our European friends - practically all the guests were Irish (and reading the reviews on Tripadvisor, it looks like not many Germans/French/Italians stayed there this year). Really enjoyed our three day stay and would definitely return

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spanishcitytourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2009

We visited the Westport Plaza on a five day break in Sepetmber and we simply loved it.
The friendly welcome we received on our arrival set the tone for our stay. The food was the best we have eaten in any hotel we have stayed in served with the utmost efficiency and always with a smile.The saff in this Hotel are really quite something. Nothing is too much trouble for them. They attend to your every need and make you feel like you are the only guests they have to attend too. We are already looking forward to our next visit just to be papmered for a few days and to enjoy more of that goergous food and wine

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susie08DublinIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2009

We booked the Westport Plaza for 3 days for a couples break thinking it was a boutique hotel with a spa as advertised on the website. It is not a boutique hotel with a spa. It is half a larger family hotel and wedged between that and a very loud nightclub, the main night club in Westport. It shares every second floor with a family hotel. Which was full and we had to queue for breakfast. You have to book and PAY to use the spa. Spa is a very loose term, it's a foot spa, sauna, steam room and large jacuzzi. Not what I'd call a spa or pay by the hour to use. When I entered the spa reception there were dirty plates left over from a meal and the fruit in the fruit bowl was rotten. We were told we were lucky it wasn't a weekend night or we would be able to hear the night club. We checked out as soon as we could without incurring a penalty.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank janoreilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnClesham, General Manager at Westport Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2009

We were disappointed to read this review from this guest as we pride ourselves in our hotel our service and most of all our genuinely friendly staff.
The Westport Plaza Hotel is an 87 bedroom 4 star luxury hotel in a convenient town centre location . We are located beside our sister hotel – The Castlecourt Hotel and Night club which is operated separately . We enjoy some 80 metres of street frontage , fountain courtyard and underground car parking.
We have a large 3 storey purpose built new Spa which has just celebrated its first birthday. It has no fewer than 12 spacious treatment rooms , thermal suite , outdoor heated jacuzzi rock pool and is complemented by a brigade of 12 enthusiastic and talented Therapists. We do charge for Spa treatments and the pricelist and brochure is available in all guest bedrooms. It would be normal for hotels and Spas to charge for such services and we believe that the prices that we charge are very reasonable. In addition to the Spa we have a Leisure centre and swimming pool complete with sauna , fitness centre and steam rooms. This facility is entirely free to all residents.
The entrance to the spa which is referred to is not actually the main entrance but a sky walkway which connects the hotel with the Spa for the comfort of our guests. Some spa guests have their lunch on this walkway and it is set up with dining tables and chairs and it is possible that the lunch may not have been cleared by our staff at the time that this guest crossed the walkway. I would assure all guests that any fruit in our fruit baskets would at most be ripe and not as described in this review.
Our breakfast is buffet style with tea and coffee and toast served to the table. At peak times the buffet can be busy however we do have breakfast menus on the table and on this we offer a variety of plated options served to the table and if our guest ask their waiter a plated breakfast will be served.
We will of course take on board the comments made in this review as we have a philosophy and culture of continuous improvement largely based on guest comments , reviews , cards and verbal feedback. We thank you for staying with us and would welcome an opportunity meet you should you be returning to Westport in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2009

Stayed here for a midweek break to celebrate my birthday. IThe hotel had been recommended to us but I did not believe this could live up to how much they raved about it, wow I was so wrong.

We arrived to the most friendly welcome and was shocked when the recptionist (sorry I didn't take your name) remembered speaking to me two days before, this was only the beginning. Our room was large and spacious, the large bed was so comfortable I got it hard to get out of it and add to that the great selection of Movies and well stocked Mini bar we could have moved in. The bathroom matched the superior level of the room and the jacuzzi bath was a real treat.

We eat in the bar for lunch on both days and found the food to be very fresh and plentiful. Those chocolate brownies were amazing as was the guinness ice-cream which the waiter was kind enough to let us taste.

We spent a morning in the spa where the girls went out of their way to make sure we achieved the relaxation we asked for. Thanks Maggie for the great treatments and the chat, I will be back. The rock pool was fabulous and the good weather made this even more enjoyable. The relaxation room is everything you want after your treatments.

We ate in the Restaurant on one night and the meal was very good even if the baked alaska was a little disappointing after the great deserts in the bar. Selection of food and wine was excellent. Breakfast was well run and hassle free. A very minor issue was my omelette was very over cooked but nice to have other options rather than standard buffet available.

Thank you for a beautiful few days that surpassed last years 5 star experience in so many ways. We will be back very soon.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matildaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2009

The Westport Plaza Hotel with its sister hotel Castlecourt Hotel is located in the centre of Westport..Myself and my wife spent a most enjoyable 5 nights Golden Years stay between 6th and 11th Sept 09...we could not find any negative points with this complex... we stayed at the Westport Plaza and had full use of all the activities in the Castlecourt Hotel... The Westport Plaza been 4 STAR lived up to its rating 100%... Fantastic accomondation.. Top class food... and extremly friendley staff in all departments... As a regular flyer to the sun holidays... my idea of a holiday has changed thanks to our stay at the WESTPORT PLAZA HOTEL !! My next holiday ( at christmas ) will be in Westport !!! Thanks to all Management and Staff in WESTPORT PLAZA HOTEL for a wonderful holiday... Pauline & Peadar Doyle..... Dublin

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goldenoldie60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2009

Absolutely love this hotel....there is nothing to dislike.
Food was gorgeous and the staff are so helpful..Rooms billiant.
Its absolutely worth every penny.
If you go to Westport you have to climb Crock Patrick

Wish I was going again....

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AileenDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Westport hotels
1.2 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#3 of 13 in Westport
1,012 reviews
0 mi away
The Castlecourt Hotel
The Castlecourt Hotel
#5 of 13 in Westport
1,716 reviews
0.5 mi away
Knockranny House Hotel
Knockranny House Hotel
#7 of 13 in Westport
1,468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Westport Woods Hotel
Westport Woods Hotel
#11 of 13 in Westport
1,106 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#4 of 13 in Westport
964 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Westport
Hotel Westport
#8 of 13 in Westport
1,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westport Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westport Plaza Hotel

Address: Castlebar Street, Westport, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Westport
#1 Romantic Hotel in Westport
#2 Business Hotel in Westport
#2 Luxury Hotel in Westport
Price Range: $88 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Westport Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stylish 4 **** standard Westport Plaza Hotel elevates the hotel experience in the West of Ireland to a new level. Comprising of 88 deluxe rooms, including the silver, gold and presidential experience, with king size beds as standard and a selection of rooms with balconies overlooking the roof garden, the Westport Plaza Hotel is a haven of contemporary luxury. Our Resort Spa, Spa Sula is a spacious, tranquil sanctuary which is designed for you to relax and luxuriate in and includes 12 spacious treatment rooms and Thermal Suite with outdoor heated Jacuzzi Rockpool. In our Resort Leisure Centre, The C Club you’ll find a range of facilities to help you unwind. Why not take a leisurely swim in the indoor heated pool or let the jacuzzi bubbles ease those aches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Westport Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Westport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing