We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“family gathering 2013”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Westport Plaza Hotel
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“family gathering 2013”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

the Westport Plaza was the site for our recent "Gathering" and it catered to our whole group in an excellent fashion - accommodating all requests for adjoining rooms etc and keeping us all close to each other.
The food was delicious and the private function room we availed of perfect for our needs.
Because the weather was exceptionally good we were able to avail of the outside space on their lovely patio and this added a continental feel to the experience.
Photos taken outside will be with us for years to come.
Staff and service was professional and courteous.
we will be back as Westport has so much to offer and the hotel is centrally located.

Room Tip: the king room we had adjoined the kids room which could easily accommodated all of us as it had 2 qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ann o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,967 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,454
    378
    96
    29
    10
See reviews for
408
945
33
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Castlebar, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

I have just left the Westport plaza hotel for an evening meal with my parents. We always eat in the castle court but decided a change would be good so went to the plaza instead. The hotel itself is lovely, the bathrooms were messy but is to be expected with children around and summer. We sat down and were given 1 menu between 3 of us an then some came to take our order. The food came promptly, and I have to say was delicious. The 3 of us were happy with everything but I wasn't impressed with the service, but it's a bar food and so I accepted it. Then my father went to pay for our meal and since mom hadn't finished even half of her salad she decided to take it home. Dad went to the bar to pay and asked if mom cud take the salad home. The bar tender said certainly, then instead of collecting the dish from the table, she brought da a box for mom to put I herself. Now from a 2 or 3* hotel I would expect this, but from a well established 4* hotel you have got to be kidding me. What a joke that was, as in the Castle Court it was never a problem for a waiter/bar tender to take the plate away and put it in the box. Such bad service will NEVER go back again. Ruined a perfectly good meal. It's sad that food that good is let down by inch horrendous service.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Bubblegumbelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnClesham, Manager at Westport Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Bubblegumbelle,

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry that you left the hotel disappointed. It appears that there was a misunderstanding when your father asked at the bar about a takeaway box. Of course we would take the plate away and do it for you if you asked which is what normally happens.

Thank you very much for your compliments regarding the hotel in general and our bar food which is very popular. If you are returning to us in the future please do not hesitate to ask for me personally as I would welcome an opportunity to restore you confidence in our hotel.

Yours sincerely

John Clesham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

Love this hotel! Great location in the middle of the town with loads to do around it! fab rooms had two double beds and a single in one room and amazing dinners at the restaurant/ bar!! Really nice staff, very friendly !! pool is a little outdated but overall love it :)

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LOD25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
130 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed here for a Hens Party weekend and straight away I presumed we'd be allocated pokey rooms in the rafters and the dinner that was part of the package would be just thrown at us - Well I seriously could not have been more wrong !

The rooms were lovely and specious with balconies over looking the courtyard, most of us were on the same floor which is always handy when there's a lot of women! Presidential Suite for the Hen was very large and big enough to accommodated all of us for pre-dinner drinks. Bathrooms were very specious with separate shower / bath and a large vanity area.

Dinner was served in Merlot Restaurant and was excellent. Although there was the usual few fussy eaters at the table and a few groups in the restaurant it didn't alter the top class service we got from the staff. There is also food served in the bar area and the menu ranges from seafood chowder to full main dishes. If thats not enough you can pop across the courtyard to the Castle Court Hotel and choose from the selection on offer there.

Location wise a 2 minute walk will bring you to the main hub of Westport, which is a small but exceptionally pretty town with lots of little craft shops, boutiques and coffee shops. At night all the pubs are hopping with live music from traditional pubs like Matt Molloys to more dance music in late night bars like Henehans. If your staying around the hotel for the evening the bar closes at normal times and any later drinks are served in the Castlecourt Hotel with is a 20meter walk across the courtyard. Anyone returning to the hotel after a night out looking for a residence bar is also directed here - the courtyard is locked and supervised by security at night so no unwanted guests wonder in!

Hen Party Tip: If your a slightly older Hens Party (30+) and don't want to compromise on good quality accommodation, nice food, great customer service (the sort you expect on your own weekend breaks and holidays) this is the place for you !

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rathcoole24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night on our anniversary in the presidential suite & it was amazing. Staff, service, food, location were second to none. Will definitely return to experience the spa. This hotel ticks all the boxes for couples, families, groups. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CatherineMcG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garrison, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Just back from a wonderful few days in this fantastic hotel. This is an excellent hotel, perfectly situated for easy access to the town. All of the staff were excellent in the way in which they treated all members of the party (10 up to 77!). The service across the hotel was fab! The food is exceptional catering for all tastes - either in the Merlot restaurant or in the Plaza bar. A perfect place for getting away from everything and completing relaxing. The spa was also first class - really recommend a visit here. The pool and fitness gym also great. What stands out foremost in my mind is the absolute 'professionalism' displayed by every single member of staff we met - thank-you so much! Huge thanks to Nigel for the extreemly professional manner he displayed on checkout - it was very much appreciated!
This hotel is well worth a visit - from our experience an excellent stay is guaranteed!

Room Tip: Family rooms are great. Double room well worth the upgrade to silver!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MIchael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwick, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Yeah, yeah, the Plaza has everything others have written about: it's near town centre, has free parking, air conditioning, wifi and spa (which was totally booked up before our early afternoon arrival)...but it completely lacks any character. If you enjoy staying at a Holiday Inn off the interstate in the US, then this is the place for you. I'd much prefer to have stayed at one of the many much more charming (and less expensive) inns or B&Bs.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkNS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Westport hotels
1.2 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#5 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Castlecourt Hotel
The Castlecourt Hotel
#7 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,583 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#3 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Harbour Mill
Harbour Mill
#1 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
0.5 mi away
Knockranny House Hotel
Knockranny House Hotel
#6 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,322 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Westport
Hotel Westport
#8 of 14 in Westport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westport Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westport Plaza Hotel

Property: Westport Plaza Hotel
Address: Castlebar Street, Westport, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Westport
#1 Family Hotel in Westport
#2 Luxury Hotel in Westport
#2 Business Hotel in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westport Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stylish 4 **** standard Westport Plaza Hotel elevates the hotel experience in the West of Ireland to a new level. Comprising of 88 deluxe rooms, including the silver, gold and presidential experience, with king size beds as standard and a selection of rooms with balconies overlooking the roof garden, the Westport Plaza Hotel is a haven of contemporary luxury. Our Resort Spa, Spa Sula is a spacious, tranquil sanctuary which is designed for you to relax and luxuriate in and includes 12 spacious treatment rooms and Thermal Suite with outdoor heated Jacuzzi Rockpool. In our Resort Leisure Centre, The C Club you’ll find a range of facilities to help you unwind. Why not take a leisurely swim in the indoor heated pool or let the jacuzzi bubbles ease those aches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Westport Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Westport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing