We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent from start to finish”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Westport Plaza Hotel
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent from start to finish”
Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights for friends birthday. All the group had wonderful time . Felt real spoilt. Had two diners which where Suberb . Staff went out of there way to accommodate are requests. Service efficient and friendly. Only complaint was noise from bar at castle court hotel kept me awAke at night

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barhave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,041 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,512
    390
    99
    30
    10
See reviews for
424
976
33
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (366)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dublin
1 review
Reviewed March 19, 2013

I stayed here last weekend an cannot fault the place, the staff the food the service..... everything was what you want and more. Well done to the whole team involved. The staff go above and beyond the call of duty in my opinion we were all made to fell so special, it was like a home from home

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rico27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Stayed in hotel over St Patrick's weekend with my wife and really enjoyed it. This hotel ticks all the boxes. Excellent service by the friendly staff, first class food including breakfast, bar lunch and evening meal in Restaurant Merlot. Finally the bedroom we stayed in was really good, comfortable bed,jacuzzi bath, mini bar and plasma tv. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robroy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarney, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed here last week for 2 nights and it was very good, an excellent room with a small balcony and a lovely jacuzzi bath, which was perfect after playing golf. Breakfast was lovely. We were less than a minutes walk from the centre of Westport. Secure car parking was an added benefit. Would definitely recommend this hotel for its location, friendly staff and excellent rooms.

Room Tip: If you are a smoker the balcony is a great benefit as you can sneak out there for your ciggie break.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShivKi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballynahinch, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Family treated myself and friend to 2 B&B and one Dinner at the Plaza. .What a wonderful
present. We really enjoyed our stay at the plaza. We had a really spacious room with 2 massive double beds which were oh so comfortable., a great sized bathroom with separate shower and bath which even had its own jaccuzzii. Breakfast was cooked to order but the icing on the cake was the evening meal which was so delicious and included a free bottle of wine. All the staff were so helpful and friendly. The leisure centre was also great. We were even offered a complementary bus to the train. A great experience altogether

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roisin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We have been visiting this hotel plus the Castlecourt for years and always want to go back time and time again! There are not many hotels or places that I would return to (I usually like to try something new) but this is the exception. Westport is a great location with plenty to see and the hotel is in an ideal location to take advantage of Westport and the surrounding area. They have some great deals especially for the over 55's but also for younger visitors! The dinner, bed and breakfast deals prove excellent value for money and the quality of the food is excellent. If staying in the Plaza you can also eat in the Castlecourt where the food is what I would describe as more traditional ie bacon and cabbage, lamb shanks, turkey and ham, roast beef etc and the Plaza again like the accommodation is more modern but both have excellent service and quality of food. My parents usually stay in the more traditional Castlecourt whereas I enjoy the more modern Plaza. Rooms in the Plaza are well furnished with really comfortable beds. Try to get a room overlooking the roof garden with a balcony. They also have a pool and a great spa (Spa Sula) where I have had the best abhyanga massage ever! The thermal suite with its outdoor jacuzzi is great to relax in before a treatment.

Room Tip: All rooms are well decorated and offer that luxurious feeling but try a room with a balcony overlook...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpiritofKillaloe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co.Clare
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed here on the 14 of March in a room on the second floor.

Room:
The room was really spacious, had everything you could want. Everything was spotless. The bed has to be the most comfortable I have ever slept in. Many reviews say this about the beds but they really are so comfortable. The bathroom was spacious and again completely spotless. We found the room very cold so turned the heating up before we left the room for dinner hoping it would heat up before we got back.

Restaurant:
We got the 2 course meal deal, everything was presented very well and was delicious, except for the lamb shank which seemed a bit bland but otherwise everything was good, staff were friendly and attentive.

Bar:
We had one drink in the bar in the Plaza bar which was nice but there was more atmosphere in the other bar in the adjoining hotel. The bar food menu looked nice and I'm sorry we didn't eat in here.

Breakfast:
Breakfast was very good, a large buffet for fruit and youghurts etc. Hot items were ordered at the table which is a nice change to the serve yourself buffet experience in most other hotels. Any extras such as extra coffee/toast was brought almost immediately and with a smile.

The Negatives:
As previously stated, the room was very cold. We turned up the heating and left for dinner and drinks. When we returned it was still cold. Tried to ring the Night Manager but our phone didnt work so I had to go down to reception desk. He apologised and came up to the room to try and fix it. Alas as soon as I showed him the phone, it worked perfectly. I must have sounded crazy. The heating however was still ice cold. He explained that the controller was set on a management setting for when the room is not occupied and he would change it from front desk.

He did and the room heated up eventually. He said he would pass on our complaint to the morning staff and apologised again. During the night I awoke to a cold room, the air con had switched on and gone back to cold again. I turned it back to warm and tried to sleep, and after a while it had switched back again.

On checkout we made the complaint again to the receptionist. An apology would have been brilliant and settled it. The receptionist told us it was our fault for not informing her before she went home. Seems strange, I'm not sure what she could have done that the night manager hadn't. We left from this encounter with a bad feeling from the hotel which is a shame.

Overall:
Would have been one of my favourite hotels except for the letdown on checkout. A shame as I will not return. If you have any problems with anything, make it known immediately and loudly. It seems that if you dont you will be blamed for the problem yourself and dismissed offhand which I can say is an unpleasant experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olivef988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Westport hotels
1.2 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#5 of 14 in Westport
921 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#4 of 14 in Westport
852 reviews
0.5 mi away
Knockranny House Hotel
Knockranny House Hotel
#7 of 14 in Westport
1,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Westport
Hotel Westport
#8 of 14 in Westport
1,058 reviews
0.9 mi away
Westport Woods Hotel
Westport Woods Hotel
#11 of 14 in Westport
1,042 reviews
1.2 mi away
Harbour Mill
Harbour Mill
#1 of 14 in Westport
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westport Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westport Plaza Hotel

Property: Westport Plaza Hotel
Address: Castlebar Street, Westport, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Westport
#1 Romantic Hotel in Westport
#2 Luxury Hotel in Westport
#2 Business Hotel in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westport Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stylish 4 **** standard Westport Plaza Hotel elevates the hotel experience in the West of Ireland to a new level. Comprising of 88 deluxe rooms, including the silver, gold and presidential experience, with king size beds as standard and a selection of rooms with balconies overlooking the roof garden, the Westport Plaza Hotel is a haven of contemporary luxury. Our Resort Spa, Spa Sula is a spacious, tranquil sanctuary which is designed for you to relax and luxuriate in and includes 12 spacious treatment rooms and Thermal Suite with outdoor heated Jacuzzi Rockpool. In our Resort Leisure Centre, The C Club you’ll find a range of facilities to help you unwind. Why not take a leisurely swim in the indoor heated pool or let the jacuzzi bubbles ease those aches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Westport Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Westport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing