We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect Christmas trip for 2”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Westport Plaza Hotel
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A perfect Christmas trip for 2”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Myself and my partner stayed here for 4 nights in one of the deluxe king rooms. The room was huge and very fancy. There was a jacuzzi bath, double shower and free film every night from the comfort of your bed. The leisure facilities were excellent. We enjoyed the heated swimming pool, jacuzzi, steam room and shower room every day. The breakfast selection was good, with various gluten free cereal options which was very nice to see.The restaurant was exquisite. Would definitely recommend eating there at least once. Food was fantastic! The food in the bar was very tasty too for a cheaper option.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BuildingMeARocket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,947 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,435
    377
    96
    29
    10
See reviews for
405
930
33
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mullingar
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

This was our third stay at the Plaza. As expected, the staff took great care of us and we experienced the kind of personal care that is sadly lacking in other hotels these days. We also witnessed some outstanding service being delivered to other guests by staff who literally went out of their way to make people feel at home.

There were a few maintenance issues which affected both our rooms but these things are to be expected in a busy hotel . A few more checks might be needed to ensure high standards are maintained. This aside, the staff did everything they could to address the issues and to put them right and it did not detract from our overall enjoyment of our stay.

Thank you to John and his team for an excellent Christmas. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BrightonDub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
183 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 500 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

We decided to stay in the Westport Plaza Hotel for 3 nights at Christmas due to the reviews on Tripadvisor. Sadly and very disappointingly for us, this hotel did not live up to our expectations at all.

On arrival, we were greeted and checked in by a very pleasant and welcoming receptionist, who assigned us our room. We’d reserved a Junior Suite and our suite was an excellent size and looked over the courtyard so there was no traffic noise etc. Due to choosing the Junior Suite, we also received a small bottle of red and one of white wine, 2 cupcakes, chocolates and one small bottle each of still and sparkling water. The wine and the water were replenished every day, which was good.

Our negatives regarding our stay were:

>The fridge in our kitchenette hadn’t been cleaned out so it still contained the used food from previous guests. We cleaned the fridge out ourselves and on heading out, we asked the receptionist to dispose of the rubbish. She was very apologetic and offered for housekeeping to call back up – which we didn’t need.

>On our first morning, my husband dropped something on the bedroom floor and when he went to pick it up, he discovered nail cuttings from previous guests on the floor and skirting board. When we were heading to breakfast, we asked that the skirting board in the bedroom was hovered etc to remove the nail clippings. Disappointingly, despite 2 requests, the nail cuttings were still there when we were leaving 3 days later!

> Our room wasn’t serviced properly on the 2nd day. The only things done were the towels were replenished and the bed made. No floors were vacuumed, no toiletries replenished and the bin in the kitchenette hadn’t been emptied. We’d to request that this was done and placed another request for the nail cuttings to be removed – they weren’t!

> On Christmas Day, breakfast was a bit hit and miss. Yes it was busy, but the staff weren’t able to manage. We were seated but the waitress wouldn’t take our order for tea or coffee. It took two attempts to order this. When we returned from the buffet, another couple had been seated at our table. This was embarrassing for both them and us and by the time we managed to alert a staff member to this, our food was cold. Plus, there was no butter etc on the table either. I can appreciate that they were busy but they should have been better organised.

> We had 3 meals included in the price of our stay and these didn’t live up to expectations. While the food was hot, the accompanying vegetable portions were tiny. We got one small dish with potatoes and vegetables between the two of us. There was a person travelling alone and they actually received the same size portion for one as we did for two. On Christmas Day, we requested more vegetables as the portion between us was tiny [3 brussels sprouts, one scoop of mash, 4 baby sweet corn and 3 runner beans between 2 people] and some gravy, as the dinner was very dry. The first waiter we asked looked at my husband as if he’d no right to ask. After 10 minutes waiting, a waitress asked us if everything was ok, we told her that we’d requested some gravy and extra vegetables but hadn’t received them. 10 minutes later, the waitress asked if we’d received the vegetables – we hadn’t! She said she’d get them but by this stage, we’d finished. It was very disappointing given the price we paid etc. and the waiter’s attitude really upset us.

> On our first night, we ended up having to leave the bar at 10.45pm as there was a constant stream of children running in and out of the bar. Nothing was done to stop them, despite the bar manager looking at them. It was very frustrating and we ended up going back to our room.

The positives regarding our stay were:

> The hotel is in an ideal location close to the centre of Westport.

> The Junior Suite was an excellent size and having the kitchenette was handy. We received some biscuits and a small gift [wine for the man, lotion for the women] on Christmas Eve which was a nice touch.

> The bar staff were friendly and efficient and the bar food we had at lunch on our 2nd day was very tasty and hot.

> The breakfast buffet had a good choice and the food quality was excellent and the food was hot. You had to request toast if you wanted it.


On check out, the receptionist did ask if everything had been ok and we told her our issues. We did speak with the Manager who listened to our issues and did round off our bill. Sadly, while it was appreciated, it didn’t help our disappointment. This was our first time staying in an Irish Hotel for Christmas and our stay didn’t live up to our expectations and it wasn’t value for money either.

Would we stay in the Westport Plaza Hotel again? I don’t think so. The standard of hygiene was sadly lacking and this is a concern. Some things can be an oversight, but nail clippings not being removed despite two requests is inexcuseable and areas not cleared after guests check-out is unacceptable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Celticcreation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnClesham, Manager at Westport Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying with us recently. I am very sorry that your experience did not live up to your expectations. I sincerely apologise for our shortcomings on this occasion and I will look into ways of avoiding any reoccurence.
At least I did get the opportunity to meet you prior to your departure. I would greatly value a further opportunity to make amends if you are coming back to Westoport in the future and I have invited you to contact me personally in the first instance. You have my business card and I will remember you as I have made a note of your details.
On a positive note I thank you for the positive aspects of your stay which you listed on your review.
I hope to welcome you back to us at a suitable time in the future and will make sure that your next stay is more memorable for the right reasons.

Yours Sincerely

John Clesham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chepstow
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

We stayed for a 40th Birthday weekend. This is a really good standard of hotel, I have NO complaints & I would love to return should the opportunity arise.

We stayed in a Gold room. It had a large bathroom with double power shower & spa bath. It was beautifully tiled, well-maintained, bright & airy & spotless.

The bed was good & a good size. I could go on & on with praise for this hotel as it was very well deserved. The Merlot restaurant was well worth a visit, where everything was prepared with TLC & service was perfect. The spa was good (could do with a lock on the mud rasul door!)

What a wonderful hotel - thank you Westport Plaza & Merry Christmas!

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the courtyard, it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sky35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

We have just returned after getting married on 11th December. Absolutely wonderful venue for our civil ceremony & wedding reception(43 guests). The function room was just perfect for both, the staff accommodated every detail and ensured a smooth and stress free day. The food was outstanding, each and every one of our guests could not wait to share there delight at the menu & food....totally impressive.

One of the hotels recommended DJs...Ronnie was fantastic...his music was current and the lighting amazing, rounded the day off perfectly..

I cannot fault any part of the hotel, rooms are comfortable with all MOD cons, bathrooms are luxury with jacuzzi baths throughout...

Thank you all for making our four days stay so special... and for all bride & grooms to be that are looking for a wedding venue..... don't hesitate...our wedding guests and I travelled 3hrs to be there and it was worth every minute.

Jackie & Ash Murray County Tyrone x

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jackie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

The staff had a great sense of humour whilst offering an excellent standard of service and made our stay. Rooms were great as was the spa. Had a meal in the restaurant on our first night and wish we had done the same the second night as it would be difficult for any other restaurant to match the standard of food and service.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

We had a three night break booked in the Castlecourt Hotel that was changed at the last minute to the Westport Plaza due to work being carried out, we could not have asked for more. The staff were so friendly and helpful an absolute delight. We originally booked a twin room but this was upgraded, we had a kingsize and a three quarter bed in a lovely spacious room, we also had a jacuzzi bath. The Hotel was very relaxing as was the spa, i would recommend you try this. Overall a charming place to stay with lovely people looking after you.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 82Amanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Westport hotels
1.2 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#4 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Castlecourt Hotel
The Castlecourt Hotel
#6 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,556 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#3 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Harbour Mill
Harbour Mill
#1 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
0.5 mi away
Knockranny House Hotel
Knockranny House Hotel
#7 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,294 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Westport
Hotel Westport
#8 of 14 in Westport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westport Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westport Plaza Hotel

Property: Westport Plaza Hotel
Address: Castlebar Street, Westport, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Westport
#1 Romantic Hotel in Westport
#2 Luxury Hotel in Westport
#2 Business Hotel in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westport Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stylish 4 **** standard Westport Plaza Hotel elevates the hotel experience in the West of Ireland to a new level. Comprising of 88 deluxe rooms, including the silver, gold and presidential experience, with king size beds as standard and a selection of rooms with balconies overlooking the roof garden, the Westport Plaza Hotel is a haven of contemporary luxury. Our Resort Spa, Spa Sula is a spacious, tranquil sanctuary which is designed for you to relax and luxuriate in and includes 12 spacious treatment rooms and Thermal Suite with outdoor heated Jacuzzi Rockpool. In our Resort Leisure Centre, The C Club you’ll find a range of facilities to help you unwind. Why not take a leisurely swim in the indoor heated pool or let the jacuzzi bubbles ease those aches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Westport Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Westport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing