We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Westport Plaza Hotel
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
Clonakilty
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice place, friendly staff”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed in the hotel for 3 nights, with 2 dinners. the service both at reception and throughout the hotel was excellent. The room location and size were very suitable for a family (we were 2 adults 1 child). The food in the restaurant for breakfast and evening meal were of a very good standard, the menu varied each night. For families/children a nice touch is the gift of colouring books and pencils, and the pool is a great size, warm and well staffed.

Only minor complaints were
-the lobby/bar area were a bit cool - the weather had got cooler.
-to get to the pool you have to walk outside (in our case in the rain) - though not far. It is directly connected to the sister hotel on the same site.

Room Tip: Garden room - very quiet, can walk out onto roof terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank corkcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,005 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,481
    386
    99
    29
    10
See reviews for
413
962
33
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Really enjoyed our break at the Plaza Hotel. Everything was just perfect including the weather. Strongly recommended for all age groups. Leisure facilities clean and tidy. Staff very friendly. Very relaxing break. Also walking distance to centre of town which is just handy.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charliechada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlow, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

My husband & I stayed in the Westport Plaza hotel in July, it is a lovely hotel in a very good location. The food, staff, cleanliness & courtesy is second to none. We thoroughly enjoyed our few days, this was our second visit as our previous visit had to be cut short because of a family bereavement so we returned & we will hopefully return again. Westport is a very good location for a holiday, with it's walking, cycling, hiking, etc, etc.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marjake21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Had another great stay at The Plaza in June (2012) for a relatives wedding (which was next door in the Castle Court Hotel) Everything about the Plaza is class in my book, the staff are so friendly and do everything they can to make sure you have a great stay... The location is fantastic, right in the town. Beds are fantastic, very comfortable... Love the Jacuzzi baths that are as standard in every room. Had a nice balcony this time over looking the roof garden. Facilities are great, the spa is fantastic.., my only critism would be that things are a bit expensive, but then everything in Ireland is expensive at the moment due to the recession and the Euro... Would recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlleyKat83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This is a lovely hotel situated within easy walking distance of the Westport Restaurants and shops. Our room was spacious and clean and the ensuite facilities excellent. Although the hotel was very busy we were not disturbed by any noise either within the hotel or from outside. We had an evening meal in the hotel restaurant which was just superb. Probably the best meal we had in any hotel restaurant and better than a lot of 'fine dining' establishments! When we return to Westport it will be to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

This hotel is spectacular and I just had to share!! From the moment we arrived we were welcomed by the friendly and warm staff who were incredibly helpful throughout our stay. The room was bright and spacious and spotlessly clean. The hotel is just gorgeous, centrally located with an absolutely beautiful restaurant and an excellent bar. A fantastic hotel - I cannot wait to stay again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vanila_jb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We arrived mid-afternoon for a 2-night reservation for 2 rooms that we'd held for several months. The reception manager, Fiona, informed us that the hotel had a "situation" and we would not be able to stay there. She had already booked us into the 4-star Knockranny Hotel instead, in upgraded rooms. The Knockranny is not easy walking distance to town, and we had looked forward to being able to walk to restaurants and shops. While we discussed it, Fiona provided us with tea, and offered to call around to other hotels to find us in-town rooms. I looked up Knockranny on Tripadvisor where it had good reviews, so we agreed to move. I think Fiona handled a bad situation very professionally and competently. Our thanks to her for upgrading us to 2 suites at the Knockranny, and for the offer of drinks at the bar later that evening. She did everything she could to make a disappointing circumstance much more agreeable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Two_and_TheDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Westport hotels
1.2 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#5 of 14 in Westport
895 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#4 of 14 in Westport
1,432 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Castlecourt Hotel
The Castlecourt Hotel
#6 of 14 in Westport
1,616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Knockranny House Hotel
Knockranny House Hotel
#7 of 14 in Westport
1,342 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Westport
Hotel Westport
#8 of 14 in Westport
1,044 reviews
1.2 mi away
Harbour Mill
Harbour Mill
#1 of 14 in Westport
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westport Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westport Plaza Hotel

Property: Westport Plaza Hotel
Address: Castlebar Street, Westport, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Westport
#1 Family Hotel in Westport
#2 Luxury Hotel in Westport
#2 Business Hotel in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westport Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stylish 4 **** standard Westport Plaza Hotel elevates the hotel experience in the West of Ireland to a new level. Comprising of 88 deluxe rooms, including the silver, gold and presidential experience, with king size beds as standard and a selection of rooms with balconies overlooking the roof garden, the Westport Plaza Hotel is a haven of contemporary luxury. Our Resort Spa, Spa Sula is a spacious, tranquil sanctuary which is designed for you to relax and luxuriate in and includes 12 spacious treatment rooms and Thermal Suite with outdoor heated Jacuzzi Rockpool. In our Resort Leisure Centre, The C Club you’ll find a range of facilities to help you unwind. Why not take a leisurely swim in the indoor heated pool or let the jacuzzi bubbles ease those aches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Westport Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Westport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing