We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“barfood”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Westport Plaza Hotel
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“barfood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2011

i visited the plaza bar for lunch as i was a guest staying in the hotel the whole experience of the hotel was magnificent but there i had lunch it was good but i had a small issue with my starter so i approached the waitress by the name graine, my god i was so taken back by her attitude and rudeness and unprofessional manner! i explained my problem very nicely, but she just grabbed the starter never said can i offer you anything else or apologized to me, straight away i got annoyed! on her return she just slammed it on the table and walked of, i was furious, my husband asked me just to leave it as everything else in the hotel was fantastic, i really was upset by this and as you have a great hotel i do think this is something that needs to be addressed as with that experience i would not be rushing back.

Room Tip: the room we had was stunning and very friendly reception staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnClesham, Manager at Westport Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 27, 2011
Dear Katie

I am sorry to read that you did not enjoy your experience in the Plaza bar. I assure you that there was no intention to cause any upset to you during your visit and that this would not be a reflection of a normal Plaza bar experience. The vast majority of feedback from our bar customers is very good.
I will certainly take your comments on board and will discuss them with the team as part of our process of continuous improvement.

I am pleased that you enjoyed the rest of your stay and hope that in time you would consider returning in which case I invite you to contact me personally in advance beforehand.

yours sincerely

John Clesham gm@westportplaza.ie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,947 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,435
    377
    96
    29
    10
See reviews for
405
930
33
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2011

We arrived at the Westport Plaza at noon on a Sunday looking for a room! We had just left the hotel we were due to stay Sunday night in and turned up looking depressed in the Plaza. The girl on reception was brilliant, she checked us into a lovely room and made an appointment for us in the spa!

The hotel is gorgeous. Our room was very large with a lovely marble bathroom, seperate shower and jacuzzi bath.

We went to the spa and spent a relaxing hour in the thermal suite which includes an outdoor hot tub.

We didn't eat in the hotel as we went to An Port Mor, a favorite restaurant of ours.

I could not recommend the Plaza more. We will definitely be back to stay as soon as we can.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aoife A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daventry
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2011

I stayed here on business and, although I wasn't picking up the bill, it certainly seemed to be great value for money and I wouldn't have any problems paying myself.

The location is only a few minutes walk from the main pubs and restaurants of Westport, although there is a choice of the bar or restaurant if you want to eat in, depending on your budget. We ate in the bar on one of the evenings and the food was excellent and good value.

The rooms are large and spacious with free broadband (although I would have preferred wifi which was only available in the lobby area), jacuzzi bath and large shower in the standard rooms.

Breakfast was first rate and I have been informed by my work colleagues that the self service Irish breakfast was delicious.

Staff were friendly and helpful at all times and service couldn't be faulted. I had a room at the back of the hotel which was quiet allowing a fantastic night's sleep.

All in all, there is nothing I can find to fault about the hotel and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2011

Booked room on the spot when driving through Westport and deciding to stay the night. Room was updated, clean and very nicely appointed, even with a functioning balcony. Bathroom was very spacious with a large walk in shower and separate jacuzzi tub.

Dinner in the hotel lounge was also very nice and relaxed. Food was excellent (try the warm banana pudding!).

Overall a lovely stay, would have enjoyed booking a second and third night here if time permitted! Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KayJay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2011

We stayed at The Plaza as a family in adjoining rooms for last year's Autumn break. We have stayed in so many unwelcoming hotels, that the Plaza stood out for us. From our very first moment in Reception, we were greeted and had a chat with a friendly staff member, who asked if we needed help with our bags and had a chat with us. The rooms were lovely and spacious with warm contemporary decor. The only negative was that there was a power failure on one evening and we were told that the hotel had no back-up generator, so many guests were re-directed to their sister hotel The Castlecourt for dinner. While this wasn't a problem for us, it might have been for people with young children or the elderly, as it happened in the evening and was dark. Of course, as ever, staff dealt with everyone in a courteous and caring manner, so we will be returning in the next couple of weeks and judging by other recent reviews, nothing has changed, it's still a fantastic hotel. We're soooooo looking forward to it!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2011

I'm livng close to Westport so I get to use the spa as often as I can..Love it ive been to lots of different spas but this by far is amazing...Staff are great and do an amazing job - treatments are always 100% +

Would suggest if you have some free time to visit this spa...do :)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mags2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2011

I stay in hotels all over Ireland and
Europe on business the only one I look forward to returning to is the plaza the hotel,location,and staff are
5 star if you want the best you found it

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthonywicklow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Westport hotels
1.2 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#4 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Castlecourt Hotel
The Castlecourt Hotel
#6 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,556 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#3 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Harbour Mill
Harbour Mill
#1 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
0.5 mi away
Knockranny House Hotel
Knockranny House Hotel
#7 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,294 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Westport
Hotel Westport
#8 of 14 in Westport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westport Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westport Plaza Hotel

Property: Westport Plaza Hotel
Address: Castlebar Street, Westport, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Westport
#1 Family Hotel in Westport
#2 Business Hotel in Westport
#2 Luxury Hotel in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westport Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stylish 4 **** standard Westport Plaza Hotel elevates the hotel experience in the West of Ireland to a new level. Comprising of 88 deluxe rooms, including the silver, gold and presidential experience, with king size beds as standard and a selection of rooms with balconies overlooking the roof garden, the Westport Plaza Hotel is a haven of contemporary luxury. Our Resort Spa, Spa Sula is a spacious, tranquil sanctuary which is designed for you to relax and luxuriate in and includes 12 spacious treatment rooms and Thermal Suite with outdoor heated Jacuzzi Rockpool. In our Resort Leisure Centre, The C Club you’ll find a range of facilities to help you unwind. Why not take a leisurely swim in the indoor heated pool or let the jacuzzi bubbles ease those aches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Westport Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Westport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing