We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Westport Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clew Bay Hotel(Westport)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Wyatt Hotel(Westport)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Westport(Westport)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbour Mill(Westport)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,199)
Filter reviews
2,199 results
Traveler rating
1,638
415
103
31
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,638
415
103
31
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmerlot restaurantjacuzzi bathroof gardensilver experiencesister hotel the castlecourtspa sulapresidential suitemini barleisure centresmall balconytop classfantastic hotelhen partybar foodcastle courtfrom start to finishwould highly recommend this hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,137 - 2,142 of 2,199 reviews
Reviewed September 20, 2007

My husband and I were staying in Co. Mayo on holiday and decided to treat ourselves by booking a night in the Westport Plaza hotel for our one year anniversary. Things however got off to a bad start. The lady at reception booked us into the wrong room so we were not given the extras we had paid for in our "Silver experience" package. We explained to reception the mistake and she assured us the items would be sent to our room. We went out to dinner. After 2 hours on our return the items were still not in our room and a call down to reception was required to make sure they arrived. Finally a man delivered the items and did apologize profusely. He even upgraded us to Gold experience. We really enjoyed the room, it really was luxury. However, when it came to trying to go to sleep the nightclub in the hotel beside started up. It was extremely loud. We rang down to reception to complain and they were unable to do anything about it as they were fully booked. This noise went on to 3am. Eventually it stopped and we were able to go to sleep. Unfortuately we were awoken at 6am by noisy machinery behind the hotel where building was going on. We did complain again at reception during checkout but nothing was suggested or offered. During checkout there was yet another mix up with our payment and they were unable to find out whether preliminary card details had been taken or not. Obviously the girl who checked us in made a complete mess. A lovely hotel but spoiled completely by the noise. It ruined our anniversary and we won't be back.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank laura_j90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2007

Stayed here for two nights on a DBB package. The hotel is designed in a 60s decor style, brown is the predominant colour everywhere.

We stayed there on the 'silver' experience. The room was nice, comfortable bed etc, unfortunately overlooked by the room at right angles to ours & they could see straight into the bedroom - so avoid room 522. The room was very hot at night, and when we enquired, the air conditioning was 'turned off for the weekend'!

The staff, particularly at reception are absolutely brilliant, couldn't be more helpful. The waiting staff in the resturant were also superb.

To be honest we found the dinner quite unremarkable, very standard fare, and not that flavoursome - eat out if you can, we did so on our second night. There are some very good resturants in Westport, and all walking distance, and they are far better. Breakfast was bland, international buffet style, with mixed results. The hot food could be best described as lukewarm and overcooked. Not a single sign of anything Irish, no soda bread, no potato bread - a huge surprise and disappointment.

In summary, whilst the hotel rooms, including public rooms are all new and modern and clean, and the staff are brilliant, there are better places locally, and places which are better value. In our view, it is overpriced for what it is, and badly let down by the quality of the food.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank tyrone-lass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2007

Having searched high and low for a hotel suitable for a weekend break with our 9 month old son, we decided to take a chance on the Westport Plaza. What a good choice. The hotel itself is only a year old and has a layout and decor that reflects this. Rooms are spacious and have all mod cons. Food in both the bar and resturant are above average by hotel standards. Residents also have access to the leisure faciailities, bars and resturants of the near by Castle Court hotel. A spa is opening in Winter 2007. All in all it is an excellent place for a family break. It is child friendly without having the feeling of being over run with kids. Staff are extremely helpful and friendly. Best of all for us was the babysitting service which is arranged by the hotel. Our babysitter was in fact a staff member and we had an arrangement with her for 4 consecutive nights. She was fantastic and provided great peace of mind and a chance for us to enjoy the offerings of Matt Molloys pub! A great selection of local resturants. We found the Quay Cottage and Mangos to be particularly good. Also, a lovely town with loads to do in the surrounding areas. Will definetly be returning in future. Would really recommend this to a couple with young child looking for a break. Only criticism would be the cleaniness of the leisure centre changing rooms but I imagine this will be addressed with the opening of the new spa.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank Tomsmom06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2007

Had an excellent 3 night stay here. Clean, very well kitted out and very hard to fault. Breakfast was excellent as was the evening meals.

Room was spacious and clean and staff were child friendly. Would recommend the kids club.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank cinnamontoast2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2007

This place stands out from the other hotels in town. It is just so much more nicer that the others I walked by. The rooms are extremely modern and new. All rooms except the disabled rooms have jacuzzi tubs with jets that at least in my room had only semi-strong pressure. The lobby almost has a W style feel to it, very hip looking without the club like feel of a W. Shower stall filled up very quickly and would eventually leak out and there is an ugly iron and board in the middle of the room (so out of place for such a nice room). This place wont disappoint even the 4 seasons type traveler (although not exactly of that caliber). Great location. Lower floor rooms have doors that open up to a courtyard (not sure if this is a benefit or not). The pool area was not very inviting, but few in Ireland are, since they are all indoors. If you are looking for the best place to stay in Westport, I would be very surprised if this isnt the place for you.

  • Stayed: July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravelSnob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews