We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Waterside Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #11 of 68 Westport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wicklow
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just perfect!”
Reviewed July 6, 2012

We stayed in the Waterside on the 2nd July with two friends from Washington DC. We picked the Waterside as we thought it would be nice to be close to the harbour, which it was, but even more than that we received such a warm reception the B&B became a lovely part of our trip. The rooms where overlooking the harbour, they were clean and comfy and the staff was so friendly it really added to our experience.
Our breakfasts were delicious - homemade brown and soda bread while you wait for your gorgeous hot breakfast...what more could you want!
I would recommend the Waterside about any other B&B but also the other hotels, personal service, lovely rooms, gorgeous breakfast and a great rate.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RedBenji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    15
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
53
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

nice B&B right next to westport quay
it takes about a 10 min walk to town... whre you can find lot's of restaurants, bars & pubs...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fadingblossom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level Contributor
187 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2011

this was a randomly chosen place to stay. We knew nothing about it when we stopped. We were surprised when an American ,Jim, opened the door. Jim was very friendly as was his wife. This inn is in the harbor area away from the main town. There are some restaurants and pubs nearby so it made no difference to us that the town was a bit further away. Our room was comfortable with a view overlooking the harbor. Parking was on the street, but we were lucky enough to get a close spot. not sure how this would be in the high season. My husband was super excited because Jim indicated he would cook anything we wanted for breakfast the next morning. Jim made us excellent breakfast burritos with a side of black beans. not what you would expect while in Ireland, but a nice change for sure. Jim was also super helpful in directing us to a tire shop on our way out of town. I recommend this place to anyone traveling in the area.

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank hulagirl98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2010

This B&b is tucked away opposite Westport Harbour. Catherine the owner was very friendly and the rooms were as expected clean and good size. Lovely view of harbour from my room. It is a 15 min walk to Westport town, but pleasant one, though there are goods pubs and restaurants 10 yards from b&b.

I would recommed this b&b. I paid 40 euro's and stayed 2 nights. I had a lovely room with double and single bed (You would obviously pay more in season)

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clooney3971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palatine
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2010

We stayed in the Waterside recently and with 3 adults had 2 children aged 3 and 5 months. The accomodation was immaculate and the rooms were spacious considering we had a travel cot in one. However, it was the friendly and excellent customer service that stood out to us. Jim's breakfast was amazing and especially for the 3 year old who still talks about the garnish on her plate with her suasages which was an excellent touch. We were only 2 mins from the harbour which was fab as there is a playground for kids and also some amusements.

Would highly recommed the Waterside as family friendly and certainly a home away from home.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PalCrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 25, 2009

The location of this b and b is fantastic and the owner Jim cooks his breakfast with a real passion, the guy enjoys cooking different breakfasts from omlettes to irish breakfast fresh fish to his own creations. very friendly athmosphere and Jim and his wife know the area extremely well.

we stayed for 2 nights and got great advice on where to eat out , where to drive .

This is the real deal

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank chefsuperstore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2009

I was traveling with two 11-year-old boys who have energy to spare. The gorgeous area was ideal for the outdoor activities that kids love. The B&B's owners, Jim and Catherine, are the ideal hosts--friendly and extremely helpful without being at all obtrusive. Jim arranged for the boys to take his puppy on a walk each morning after breakfast, which they just loved. He also had extremely helpful advice regarding parking in downtown Westport and the most direct driving route to Galway.

At the end of the day when we returned to the B&B and I was tired from trying to keep up with the kids, we could simply walk around the corner for dinner. We had two lovely meals at local restaurants recommended at the B&B, The Helm and Quay Cottage.
Our room was immaculate, and had a gorgeous view and a nice warm shower that was especially crucial after a hike up Croagh Patrick.

Woudl recommend this very special place to any traveling to Westport.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RosemaryDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Westport hotels
1.1 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#3 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,405 reviews
0.1 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#5 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harbour Mill
Harbour Mill
#1 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Clew Bay Hotel
Clew Bay Hotel
#4 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
1.3 mi away
Westport Plaza Hotel
Westport Plaza Hotel
#2 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,967 reviews
1.1 mi away
Augusta Lodge
Augusta Lodge
#1 of 68 in Westport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterside Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterside Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Waterside Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1 The Harbour | The Quay, Westport, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your The Waterside Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing