We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Cillcoman Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Westport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cillcoman Lodge
Ranked #29 of 70 Westport B&B and Inns
Chicago/Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed April 25, 2012

I stayed at the Cillcoman Lodge after the first---and hardest--day of a Connemara cycle trip. The Lodge is on the far side of town, set up on a hill with lots of land. Built as a B&B, not a conversion, it is much roomier than most, and Mary, the owner, clearly takes pride in its appearance. The rooms are larger, extremely well maintained, and the bathrooms are roomy with lots of hot water. It's either a healthy walk or a quick drive/cycle back to the main town, but set off the road away from town, the silence at night was most welcome. Rather than returning to town for dinner, I heartily recommend the Shebeen pub, just past the B&B. The bar menu is extensive, and since they share a building with an excellent restaurant, the meals are spectacular. A nice ambience, frequented by locals as much as tourists. Mary makes a wonderful breakfast, and you leave well-fed and well-rested.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bowsermania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    21
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
29
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2011

Since more than 10 days we were traveling to and around Ireland (over 3 500km). Full day tour has us a little bit tired. When we arrived on the evening at Westport and we crossed the colorful streets, we had only wanted to sleep. B & B turned out to be a luxurious villa, which, compared to the spartan conditions of the previous night, seemed a palace. A friendly welcome by the host and showed us the room which we very happily tuned. Huge king beds, modern bathroom, internet access on the ground floor in the living room, delicious breakfast - all for only 100 €. The quality is worth the price.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank PiotrQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2011

This B&B was situated in a convenient place to the very attractive harbour and its bars and restaurants. The house itself was beautiful and clean and it was obvious that the owners had very high standards. The room and en-suite were also very pretty and clean. This is one B&B I can highly recommend and the friendliness of the owners.

Helen and Martin Walker

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martelandhelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worth, Illinois, USA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2010

The service was very good at this B&B. Excellent breakfast fare. The room was clean, quiet and comfortable. The location to the town of Westport was not really close. you need to take a cab. When we booked this room, the description said it was within walking distance to shops and restaurants. But it was not a lot of trouble to get into town.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank droehr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2010

We had not booked this B&B in advance and were lucky to find this little gem having phoned the owner from Westport town centre. The room we were offered was a family room in the loft conversion. Beds very comfy. Good in-room facilities. Nice shower.
One of the other reviewers mentioned thin walls. Was not really affected by this although we could hear people in the room below us but not a distraction.
Breakfast was great, and the previous evening, we were recommended the nearby Sheebeen pub for a meal - excellent. At 70 euros for a double - very good value

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaxonMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2010

SERVICE: The host Mary greeted us on our arrival and showed us our room. She was helpful with any queries we had, and was friendly and welcoming.

ROOM: Comfortable double bed, very clean, modern bathroom was very large too with good clean power shower. Tea and coffee making facilities provided, and view of the large garden. Nice plush carpets, and big windows so that the room was light and airy.

BREAKFAST: Good substantial fry, with choice of cereals beforehand, and toast. Tea and coffee provided, and again, good service from Mary and, presumably(!), her husband.

LOCATION: It is near the quay, and handy to Croaghpatrick - suitable for those who our looking to do more outdoorsy type stuff. As we were only staying for one night and really looking to go into the town, it wasn't very handy for us. But it is only a €6 taxi ride into town, and same back again at night, and was certainly no hassle at all in getting taxis.

VALUE: It was €70 for the night, which I thought was very reasonable.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank little_L86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2010

Im not normally the person to write reviews but after our recent stay in Cillcoman Lodge, I just had to come in and share my experience with everyone. From the moment we arrived in Cillcoman which is close the the Quay/harbour area of the picturesque seaside town of Westport.. we just feel in love with the place. The location was great..perfect for a leisurely stroll to the plentul nearby pubs & restaurants where we enjoyed some great pints of Guinness. The hostess Mary and her husband run a fabulous b & b. You feel at home as soon as you step inside the door. The rooms were spotless with every facility available. The breakfast was varied for every taste and we were rolling out of the breakfast room. The beds were great. Orthopaedic beds..which were brilliant as my partner suffers from terrible back pain. Sleep was blissful. There is nothing I can say to fully describe the fantastic stay we enjoyed. Go check it out for yourselves...

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ava21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.4 mi away
Harbour Mill
Harbour Mill
#1 of 14 in Westport
557 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cloonmonad House
Cloonmonad House
#45 of 70 in Westport
16 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Lighthouse
The Lighthouse
#49 of 70 in Westport
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Woodbine Cottage B&B
Woodbine Cottage B&B
#22 of 70 in Westport
31 reviews
0.7 mi away
Adare House
Adare House
#8 of 70 in Westport
182 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quay West
Quay West
#11 of 70 in Westport
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cillcoman Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cillcoman Lodge

Property: Cillcoman Lodge
Address: Rosbeg | Coast Road, Westport, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 70 B&Bs / Inns in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cillcoman Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cillcoman Lodge B&B is a modern purpose built B&B situated on Coast road near Westport Harbour/Quay.All rooms at Cillcoman Lodge are en.suite with T.V. tea/coffee and hairdryers.Private parking available with garden.A guest lounge is available and a warm welcome is assured at all times. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing