We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
McCarthy's Lodge & Bar
Ranked #6 of 69 Westport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Wonderful stay at McCarthy's, great location, lovely room and good wifi. Nice added extras such as the tea and coffee in the lounge. Lovely staff too! Thank-you for allowing us to hang around until our bus arrived...much appreciated!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaileeUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    33
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
39
66
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed November 24, 2013

I just spent the weekend here and all I can say is that these folks know how to do it right. I highly recommend it , you are close to all the action and have a nice pub on your doorstep. Beds were excellent, very comfy and the whole place is very clean and the staff are very friendly. Top notch !

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Spent two nights in McCarthy's with a gang of lads on a weekend away. The place couldn't have been better. The owners were so hospitable and friendly, providing good service, an excellent breakfast and all this at a very affordable price. Their next door pub is a gem; good Guinness, great craic, a warm fire, Sky Sports and plenty of live music. The location is a real plus; right in the middle of the action in the lively town of Westport. Will definitely stay there again. Thanks Mike & Geraldine!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathal1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

A friend and I came to Westport for one night for good music and a hike up Croagh Patrick the next morning. We had just checked out of our hostel (when I say "checked out" I mean locked out because we were so hungover we couldn't communicate)
With piercing headaches, we wandered the streets in the direction of the mountain when we stumbled across McCarthy's open doors. It might have been the smeared makeup from the night before, or the sheer look of desperation on our faces that drove the owner to invite us in...we obliged.

He told us to set down our bags and opened two bottles of coke and poured them over ice for us, what an angel. After explaining our situation he offered to hold our bags while we climbed the mountain, he even found two walking sticks for us to borrow and as if that wasn't the answer to our prayers...his buddy drove us to the base of Croagh Patrick. Wait, there's more! He made sure to pull over at a shop to get us water bottles and treated us to a cup of tea before our hike.
Needless to say, we were treated with such generosity by the folks at McCarthy's we will be sure to pay it forward. We didn't have enough time to thank them because we had to catch our bus, hopefully we'll get them back next time around.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HayleyCleaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We spent one night at McCarthy's lodge on our vacation through Ireland. Compared to some of our other B&B's, the room was a bit spartan--however, it was clean, Geraldine was friendly and welcoming, the price was reasonable and the location can't be beat--right next door to McCarthy's pub, with great local music. (The real deal, not a tourists' hangout.) I should also add that, despite being next to the pub, the rooms are very quiet--a nice plus!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at McCarthy's while on a cycling trip with my cousin after it was recommended by someone on the road from Longford. We felt very welcome and were delighted by their comfortable rooms, spacious and secure cycling facilities, lovely breakfast and attentive staff.

Highly recommended. I expect I'll visit again!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Adam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wexford
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Just back from a two night stay in McCarthys cant praise it enough, fantastic location, reasonable price rooms were a decent size and clean. lovely tv room for chilling out in, Staff were legends great for the chat over breakfast, endless amounts of tea!! Will certaintly return!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irishjojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.1 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#4 of 14 in Westport
1,428 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clew Bay Hotel
Clew Bay Hotel
#3 of 14 in Westport
981 reviews
0.3 mi away
Westport Plaza Hotel
Westport Plaza Hotel
#2 of 14 in Westport
2,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#5 of 14 in Westport
894 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Castlecourt Hotel
The Castlecourt Hotel
#6 of 14 in Westport
1,612 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Westport
Hotel Westport
#8 of 14 in Westport
1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McCarthy's Lodge & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McCarthy's Lodge & Bar

Property: McCarthy's Lodge & Bar
Address: Quay Street, Westport, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — McCarthy's Lodge & Bar 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your McCarthy's Lodge & Bar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing