We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service like a 5 star hotel”
Review of Linden Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Linden Hall
Ranked #6 of 70 Westport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Had a super weekend last weekend in Westport, we chose to stay at the Linden Hall as it was close to the town centre! Room are spotless clean, big plazma tv, Tea and coffee Making Facilities etc. We arrived a bit late and were greated by Paul(running the B&B) who immedietly took our bags and offer to make us fresh Coffee! Breakfast was super with a wide variety of choices to choose from plus it excellent! The Service we were shown by Paul was excellent he even took a top, id stained and left in the sink to soak, and washed and cleaned it !!!!!!! This is ideal spot for anyone looking to tour west port, 2 mins walk to the town and just across the road from Clew Bay Bicycle hire! The Greenway track is a must do once your here!

great clean B&B but its the service that makes it 10/10

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheTravelGem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maria99-12, Owner at Linden Hall, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Dear The Travel Gem,
Thank you kindly for such a great review. Its great that you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed all Westport has to offer. I am delighted you experienced good service in a relaxed and friendly way. This is exactly what we aim to achieve!
We look forward to welcoming you back again some time in the future.
Kind regards
Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (279)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 279 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2013

Two nights here were very comfortable. The room was spotless, especially the modern bathroom, which was a comfortable size with excellent shower. Room 3 was essentially two bedrooms, each with a double bed, separated by the bathroom. It suited us fine using the front half. It would be perfect for a family or couples who may prefer separate beds. Room 2 has a king bed and more space, but a bit smaller bathroom. Maria, the friendly owner, greated us warmly the first day and gave us tips for places to see in town. Breakfasts were very nice, served in a lovely Victorian period parlor. The location is very handy--near center of town and train station and just steps from the Westport Greenway, a nice walk to the quay area. For the price, this is really excellent.

Room Tip: Room 3 is good for families wanting nearby beds with some privacy, very nice modern bathroom; Room 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maria99-12, Owner at Linden Hall, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Dear also-ran,
Thank you for posting your comments on our B&B. I am very happy to read you enjoyed your stay and you found our location convenient. We are lucky to be located only a couple of minutes walk to the main street but on a residential street where it is not very noisy at night. As you mentioned the start of the Great Western Greenway (42 km off road cycle/walking route) is located straight across the street from us too and is proving to be very popular. Thanks for mentioning these points to future guests.
Kind regards
Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We were very happy with our two night stay in Linden Hall. The rooms were large, beds comfortable. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. With parking right out front, a 2 minute walk to town and a breakfast that made us all happy we could find nothing negative to say.
We have stayed in other hotels and B&Bs in Westport previously and we found Linden Hall to be good value for the standard offered.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank banbh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maria99-12, Owner at Linden Hall, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Dear banbh,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review. I am delighted you had a nice stay with us and you felt you got 'good value' for money.
Kind regards
Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Very nice, convenient B&B. The best breakfast during our 10 day visit to Ireland. The proprietor (Paul?) was most helpful. I had trouble making a local call and he dialed it for me on his phone. A computer is available. The rooms were very nice. Parking was easy.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buck S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maria99-12, Owner at Linden Hall, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Dear BuckS,
Thank you for sharing your positive experience of staying at Linden Hall. I am very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and you especially enjoyed the breakfast. We are always looking at ways of improving our guests experience and since you stayed with us we have up graded the quality of our breakfast even further.
Many thanks again
Kind regards
Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

I spent 2 nights at Linden Hall Sept 2013. I enjoyed it alot. The room was very comfortable, clean and solid. The furnishings were 'old school' which meant the place was a joy to be in. The shower was good and powerful and there was plenty of extra bed clothes if one needed them. The Wifi functioned brilliantly especially thru my laptop I took along with me on the trip.The managers of the guesthouse were very helpful and courteous. Make Linden Hall a selection of yours for Westport definitely. I will certainly be back. More than value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dermot2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maria99-12, Owner at Linden Hall, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Dear Dermot2013,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review and for such kind words. We really appreciate it and are delighted you had an enjoyable stay with us.
Kind regards
maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

My parents from Belfast had stayed at Linden Hall in the past and recommended it. We also considered Trip Advisor reviews, which supported my parents' recommendation, before booking. I am pleased to say that Linden Hall lived up to its reputation when we stayed there 8-9 September 2013. Paul is as good as everyone says: very welcoming, knowledgeable (about where to eat) and helpful. He makes a first class breakfast to your order. Note - his pancakes are superb and NOT on the menu, so ask him for some! Linden Hall is clean and tidy, in a good location for a short, level walk into town, but far enough out to be relatively quiet (though it is on a main road). There is free parking directly outside (though it is not secure). Our room was huge (family room); comfy beds and en suite. Loads of tea / coffee / water / biscuits, regularly replenished. In short, highly recommended. If you're looking for a base to explore Westport from, that is clean, tidy, comfortable and reasonably priced, you won't go wrong with Linden Hall. And, as already noted, Paul is a genuinely nice person who enhances your stay (very unlike some of the other less genuine staff we encountered in Westport!)

Room Tip: We had a family room to the front of the building i.e. overlooking the carpark / road. Room was grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maria99-12, Owner at Linden Hall, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Dear Claire,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a nice review and such a comprehensive one at that, of our B&B. I am delighted we lived up to your expectations and you had an enjoyable stay.
Kind regards
Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

I stayed in this b&b with my friends and everything was fantastic! Paul was very friendly and made us fresh coffee when we arrived. He also gave us some good advices were to go out in the evening. It's an old-style house, lovely decorated and with a great atmosphere. The room was spotlessly clean, and it was even a heater for tea and coffee inside. It's in a great location, very close to the city centre. The breakfast in the morning was delicious - lots of fruits, cereals, bread, irish breakfast, coffee, tea.. everything you could ask for!!
For me it was a pleasure to stay there, we had a great time and I really enjoyed it!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Naomi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maria99-12, Owner at Linden Hall, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Dear Naomi,
Thank you so much for such a lovely review. It was a pleasure to meet you and get to know you.
I enjoyed our conversation and I am delighted you had a pleasant stay with us. We look forward to meeting you again and having you stay with us next time you are back in Westport.
Kind regards
Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.3 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#4 of 13 in Westport
951 reviews
1.0 mi away
Westport Woods Hotel
Westport Woods Hotel
#11 of 13 in Westport
1,101 reviews
0.7 mi away
Augusta Lodge
Augusta Lodge
#2 of 70 in Westport
863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
St Anthony's Riverside Bed and Breakfast
0.5 mi away
Hazelbrook Bed & Breakfast
0.5 mi away
Willow Lodge
Willow Lodge
#9 of 70 in Westport
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Linden Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linden Hall

Address: Linden Hall Altamount Street, Westport, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 70 B&Bs / Inns in Westport
Price Range: $56 - $76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Linden Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm welcomes, good humor and a relaxed atmosphere in our period style town house in the centre of Westport. We have an excellent location in the centre of Westport and are easy walking distance to Matt Molloys, Traditional Music Pubs, Restaurants, Hotels, leisure centers, train station, bus stops. All bedrooms have high ceilings with a touch of old world elegance and each has en-suite, TV & Tea/Coffee facilities. We are a non-smoking house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Linden Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing