We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Angela makes the difference” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Linden Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Linden Hall
Ranked #6 of 70 Westport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Angela makes the difference”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2008

I just returned from a week in Ireland and one of the nights I stayed at the Linden Hall B&B. After being somewhat gruffly turned away from another B&B in Westport since they were full (a little closer to the town center), I moved on to Linden Hall which was still very much walking distance to the center.

Angela (the innkeep) could not have been any friendlier as she got me settled in. She gave a rundown of the various pubs, restaurants, and points of interest in Westport.

As I had no set itinerary for my Irish trip (but knew that I wanted to hit the Midlands next), I asked her if she had any recommendations for that area. She advised to go to Tullamore (Co. Offaly) and pointed out a few notable places I might visit. It was sound advice as I'm very glad I didn't bypass that area (Shannonbridge, Tullamore, Tullamore Distillery, Clanmacnoise, and the Bog railway).

As for Linden Hall B&B itself, it was clean with comfortable, decent sized rooms and a nice, standard Irish breakfast. Above average compared to others i stayed in while in Ireland. What puts it over the top is the service. There are many nice B&B's with many nice proprietors in Ireland but Angela was a standout.

  • Liked — Angela, the innkeep
  • Disliked — Very small bathroom (which i WAS informed of before checking in)
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BillyPenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    43
    11
    5
    3
See reviews for
25
151
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2007

I stayed in Linden Hall very recently and I have to say I was extremely pleased with my experience. It was a 3 night stay and the location could not be better - literally minutes from the town centre on foot. The Manageress (Angela - if I recall correctly) was very well manered and seemed to have a great local knowlage and she didnt hesitate to advise me on day trips and also gave great advise on restaurants and night life. This to me is something far more valuable than all the brochures you can read! She was very pleasant and professional in her approach to everything. The rooms were comfortable, clean and warm, very welcome at this time of year!! Breakfast was excellent (as good, if not better than most hotels). I went for the traditional Irish breakfast and it was exceptional. Everything was conducted with grace and it made my stay all the better. I left there with fond memories of Westport and had an exceptional "value for money" experience at Linden Hall. In short: Rooms - Clean, tidy & Warm. Food: Excellent. Service: Very professional. 10/10 to Angela and all at Linden Hall. Will definately stay again and recommend to my friends coming over after christmas. Keep up the good work & i'll see you all again soon! Many Thanks, Kenneth.

  • Liked — Location, Friendly & Professional Staff, Value For Money
  • Disliked — Only staying 3 nights in Westport!!
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank kenneths9942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2007

My family and I stayed in Linden Hall for two nights in August. We stayed on the top floor in a triple bedroom. The owner very kindly gave us a blow up bed for our youngest child to sleep on, which was great as it is very difficult to get accommodation for four in one room. We were not charged for this extra bed. The house is beautiful and very comfortable. The room and en-suite bathroom were spotless. Location to the town is perfect, with parking out the front yet only a minutes walk to the town, but far enough not to have the noise from nightclubs etc.
A great breakfast was served each morning with a good choice of cereal etc.

  • Liked — Comfortable, clean, friendly staff
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank annaDonegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2007

We had read great things about Linden Hall, so we booked two rooms for three nights. I've never written a review for a B & B before, but felt I should warn folks about this property.

Our two rooms were very, very small and on the third floor. We could live with that. I was, however, really surprised at the cobwebs around the drapes, the windows and lights. The rooms were not very clean - not the attention to detail I had expected. The breakfast was ok - we had cereal - hard to goof that up.

We had made arrangements in April 2007 for these two rooms for three nights. Had offered to lock-in with a credit card number, but was assured via email that all was well. Imagine our horror when we found we were to vacate our rooms after ONE night. Yes, the gal had made a rather large booking error and we had to leave. We asked why WE had to be the ones to leave - couldn't she find accomodations for the other people elsewhere? No - she was adamant - we had to leave. She did find us accomodations up the road (Highly recommend the Altamont House). She gave us a humiliating rate reduction for our room charges (not enough to matter).

The bottom line? This gal has taken over the operations of this B & B from her relatives, and doesn't appear to have a handle on how to run her inn. Our traveling companion accidently left her nightgown in her room during our rushed retreat. Don't you think that when the gal cleaned the room she would've delivered the missing garment up the street where she'd sent us? No. We called her three times before we left town - she NEVER returned our call.

Terrible, terrible stay - the location is quite good - but the innkeeper is clueless. Stay at the Altamont House - is expertly ran, with a gorgeous lawn and garden to enjoy and a very capable innkeeper.

  • Liked — the location was good
  • Disliked — rooms were not very clean and innkeeper is incompetent
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank spinpygora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maria99-12, Owner at Linden Hall, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
We the owners (Maria and Steve) would like to say that during this customer's stay (in 2007) the B&B was under different management and not ours. We would like to say that since January 2012 those very small rooms and en-suites have been renovated are now a respectable B&B standard. Please check our recent reviews as they are all very positive.

We look forward to welcoming you to Linden Hall in the near future.

Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2007

I've never written a review on trip advisor before but my stay in Linden Hall made me want to warn others about staying here.
I stayed in a double room on the top floor which was very small so when you have all your bags in it made it hard to walk around the bed. The bathroom was a joke! The smallest bathroom I've ever seen which was very disappointing as having been out all day I felt like a relaxing shower but instead felt like I didn't want to be in the bathroom longer that I had too.
The room itself didn't look like much effort had gone into cleaning it. In fact there seemed to be an anti-cleaning policy in the B&B since the cups, cutlery, kitchen etc was very dirty.
The owner seemed friendly initially but we found her very unaccomodating when we arrived down 10 mins late for breakfast on the sunday and we're told tough that we would not be served.
Part of our group were in a triple room which involved a pathetic blow up mattress on the floor with damp bed linen. Far from comfortable (but yet still had to pay the same as everyone else).
So all in all totally overpriced (even if the location was good) and I would not recommend this place to stay. The owner certainly has not learnt anything about how to run a B&B and look after guests.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — smallness of room
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Water75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maria99-12, Owner at Linden Hall, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
We the owners (Maria and Steve) would like to say that during this customer's stay (in 2007) the B&B was under different management and not ours. We would like to say that since January 2012 those very small rooms and en-suites have been renovated are now a respectable B&B standard. Please check our recent reviews as they are all very positive.

We look forward to welcoming you to Linden Hall in the near future.

Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2007

Iwish I had known about tripadvisor before booking Linden Hall. I spent 4 nights sharing a double room on the second floor of this House which in fact has 8 or 9 rooms available for booking. The bedroom allocated to me was located on the second floor.There was barely enough room to walk around the bed, we had only a very small narrow single wardrobe for our clothing . The presence of pieces of fluff and a dead fly on the floor incicated that the room had not been cleaned. The en-suite combined toilet, handbasin and toilet was the smallest I have ever seen,
with no selves for placing toilet items. Bath towels supplied were stacked on the toilet cistern and those with holes or marks we did not use. The breakfast was not too bad but when we noticed that the forks were dirty, the cups were chipped or cracked and the milk had turned we lost our morning apetite. In general the house is. in desperate need of care and attention and I know that I paid far too much for what we recieved,

  • Liked — leaving
  • Disliked — Accommodation was not clean
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mayoLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maria99-12, Owner at Linden Hall, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
We the owners (Maria and Steve) would like to say that during this customer's stay (in 2007) the B&B was under different management and not ours. We would like to say that since January 2012 those very small rooms and en-suites have been renovated are now a respectable B&B standard. Please check our recent reviews as they are all very positive.

We look forward to welcoming you to Linden Hall in the near future.

Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
133 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2007

Linden Hall was a great choice for our one night stay in Westport. The location was perfect for walking around town, to pubs and shopping. The decor is a bit mismatched or dated, and there's some street noise if you're in one of the front room. However, it was all very clean, was a good value for the money, the breakfast was well done, and the hostess was extremely helpful and offered many excellent suggestions. Make sure to go to Matt Malloy's while in town (flautist for the Chieftains).

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alltravellvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.4 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#3 of 15 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
0.2 mi away
Westport Plaza Hotel
Westport Plaza Hotel
#2 of 15 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,911 reviews
0.4 mi away
Clew Bay Hotel
Clew Bay Hotel
#5 of 15 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#4 of 15 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
0.8 mi away
Augusta Lodge
Augusta Lodge
#1 of 70 in Westport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
0.2 mi away
St Anthony's Riverside Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Linden Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linden Hall

Property: Linden Hall
Address: Linden Hall Altamount Street, Westport, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 70 B&Bs / Inns in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Linden Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm welcomes, good humor and a relaxed atmosphere in our period style town house in the centre of Westport. We have an excellent location in the centre of Westport and are easy walking distance to Matt Molloys, Traditional Music Pubs, Restaurants, Hotels, leisure centers, train station, bus stops. All bedrooms have high ceilings with a touch of old world elegance and each has en-suite, TV & Tea/Coffee facilities. We are a non-smoking house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Linden Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing