We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Grand..........”
Review of Linden Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Linden Hall
Ranked #8 of 70 Westport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 25, 2013

what a gem of a place. perfectly located overlooking westport town centre, its a great place to stay if going for a break and wanting to be on the doorstep of town.

travelled with my partner for a night away while staying with family for a week in mayo. booked via booking.com and got this room at a bargain price of £39.00 with breakfast included.

room was perfect for our one night stay. flat screen tv, free wifi, comfy bed. nice linen on bed. very clean and tidy. bathroom was perfect. clean, tidy, spacious and a great shower to blow off the cobwebs.

breaky was well presented, fresh and a great start to the day. this was served by the landlady who was really nice and sincere and willing to make the best for us.

would i stay at this establishment again........thats a no brainer. every time indeed. it made our night away a little bit more special. always helps when people go the extra yard for you. great little pub around the corner for a quick drink called `tobys` and its only a five minute walk into town....not even that, i would 3 at the most.

to finish i am saving the best until last.......Paul.....or Saint Paul of Westport as i will call him. what a guy. a lovely greeting upon arrival and a man with a good awareness of his guests. never far away when needed and the warmest of smiles to go with any request. if only paul could be cloned and introduced to the service industry around the world.

if you are looking for a no nonsense, clean, warm, well run and value for money place to stay then look no further. this place has restored my faith in the B&B industry.

Thank you Linden Hall for all your hard work.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sean-seany-sean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maria99-12, Owner at Linden Hall, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Dear Sean,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a lovely review and such a comprehensive one at that! We really appreciate it. Delighted you really enjoyed your stay at Linden Hall. Amongst all of your positive comments i would like to pick up on your mention of our local bar 'Tobys'. It is definately a great little cosy bar, located around the corner, very popular with locals, with lovely character ,really friendly, and 'great craic' !! :-)
Delighted you felt you got good value as you mentioned that you got your room 'at a bargain price'. We are happy to offer extremely good 'bargain' prices like this at certain times during the year. Please book directly on our own website.
I will be sure to pass on your lovely comments to 'Saint Paul'. Im sure he will love his new title :-)
And i am so happy we have restored your faith in B&Bs.
It was nice to meet you both and we look forward to welcoming you back again sometime.
Kind regards,
Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (279)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 279 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2013

Great location, 5 minute stroll from the train station. 5 minutes stroll in to town. Great little bar close 'tobys'.
Very pleasant greeting on arrival. Really well looked after at breakfast. Good selection for breakfast.
Room was clean, very spacious with extremely clean en-suite,
Special mention to Paul the manager, great service received, pleasure to stay here.
I would highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shields77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maria99-12, Owner at Linden Hall, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Dear Shields77,
Thank you so much for all your positive comments and taking the time to post them.
Im delighted you had an enjoyable stay with us and you would be happy to reccommend us!
Thanks again and kind regards,
Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

found by accident the room was excellent PAUL who looks after the B+B is super looks after everything just great. nothing to much trouble what ever was needed no problem .will go back every time now in Westport .Clean Tidy Comfey warm breakfeast super .

Room Tip: The room i had was perfect and would have any i was given WILL B BACK
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maria99-12, Owner at Linden Hall, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Dear Alan W,
Thank you very much for your lovely comments. I am very happy you enjoyed your stay with us.
I am delighted you found everything to your satisfaction.
We look forward to welcoming you back again to Linden Hall.
Kind regards,
Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

Very hard to find fault with this place. Parking outside the door, town just a few minutes stroll, clean, spacious, nice room.

The door could be a little more secure in the room maybe.

The stand out is the service. Paul was excellent. He sat us down for tea on arrival and chatted between ourselves and other guests in another room. Very nice guy.

We mentioned that my girlfriend is vegetarian. We came down the next morning to find that Paul had prepared a fresh hot vegetarian option especially for her. She really enjoyed it too. Have payed top rates in hotels and had a massive bowl of cold beans offered as vegetarian breakfast before, so this made a big change.

The full Irish breakfast was nicely cooked but thought the ingredients could have been of beter/tastier quality. It did the job though.

Would recommend this place highly if visiting Westport.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ire100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Linden Hall is a clean, attractive and well-run establishment. We came in our on bikes and immediately Paul, the manager, helped us get our bikes stowed away and then offered us tea. The rooms had space heaters which was welcome after being out in the wind and rain. The breakfast was delicious and hearty, which we needed before our ride to Leenane.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michele W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Excellent value and location in Westport, Co. Mayo Ireland. Paul, who is the manager at Linden Hall, did everything possible to make our stay comfortable. Paul works constantly to make Linden Hall a wonderful B and B to stay at. I recommend this B and B highly. Vincent, great location.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank comayoeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed in Linden Hall with my boyfriend and friend, over the weekend for two nights (November 2nd and 3rd 2012). We found the house to be clean, tidy and very welcoming. The service was excellent, rooms were perfect and the breakfast was lovely.
Paul, the manager, was very accommodating as we needed a 7am breakfast, up for a race and there was no panic on checking out on the second morning. He couldn’t be more helpful and nice to us. The hospitality was fantastic, tea/coffee and biscuits in the room ready for us in our warm bedrooms. I would recommend the B&B and certainly will be booking again when we return to Westport.
A really special place to stay, and so close from the town centre.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angela r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.3 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#4 of 13 in Westport
991 reviews
0.7 mi away
Augusta Lodge
Augusta Lodge
#2 of 70 in Westport
866 reviews
0.4 mi away
McCarthy's Lodge & Bar
McCarthy's Lodge & Bar
#5 of 70 in Westport
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Willow Lodge
Willow Lodge
#9 of 70 in Westport
87 reviews
1.5 mi away
Woodside Lodge
Woodside Lodge
#3 of 70 in Westport
781 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hazelbrook Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Linden Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linden Hall

Address: Linden Hall Altamount Street, Westport, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 70 B&Bs / Inns in Westport
Price Range: $96 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Linden Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm welcomes, good humor and a relaxed atmosphere in our period style town house in the centre of Westport. We have an excellent location in the centre of Westport and are easy walking distance to Matt Molloys, Traditional Music Pubs, Restaurants, Hotels, leisure centers, train station, bus stops. All bedrooms have high ceilings with a touch of old world elegance and each has en-suite, TV & Tea/Coffee facilities. We are a non-smoking house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Linden Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing