We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top class service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Linden Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Linden Hall
Ranked #4 of 70 Westport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Top class service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

Very hard to find fault with this place. Parking outside the door, town just a few minutes stroll, clean, spacious, nice room.

The door could be a little more secure in the room maybe.

The stand out is the service. Paul was excellent. He sat us down for tea on arrival and chatted between ourselves and other guests in another room. Very nice guy.

We mentioned that my girlfriend is vegetarian. We came down the next morning to find that Paul had prepared a fresh hot vegetarian option especially for her. She really enjoyed it too. Have payed top rates in hotels and had a massive bowl of cold beans offered as vegetarian breakfast before, so this made a big change.

The full Irish breakfast was nicely cooked but thought the ingredients could have been of beter/tastier quality. It did the job though.

Would recommend this place highly if visiting Westport.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ire100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    43
    11
    5
    3
See reviews for
25
151
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

Linden Hall is a clean, attractive and well-run establishment. We came in our on bikes and immediately Paul, the manager, helped us get our bikes stowed away and then offered us tea. The rooms had space heaters which was welcome after being out in the wind and rain. The breakfast was delicious and hearty, which we needed before our ride to Leenane.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland ohio
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

Excellent value and location in Westport, Co. Mayo Ireland. Paul, who is the manager at Linden Hall, did everything possible to make our stay comfortable. Paul works constantly to make Linden Hall a wonderful B and B to stay at. I recommend this B and B highly. Vincent, great location.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank comayoeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed in Linden Hall with my boyfriend and friend, over the weekend for two nights (November 2nd and 3rd 2012). We found the house to be clean, tidy and very welcoming. The service was excellent, rooms were perfect and the breakfast was lovely.
Paul, the manager, was very accommodating as we needed a 7am breakfast, up for a race and there was no panic on checking out on the second morning. He couldn’t be more helpful and nice to us. The hospitality was fantastic, tea/coffee and biscuits in the room ready for us in our warm bedrooms. I would recommend the B&B and certainly will be booking again when we return to Westport.
A really special place to stay, and so close from the town centre.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank angela r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
135 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

My wife and I stayed at some incredible B&B's while on our vacation in Ireland. Overall, this one was ok. Our room was very clean (you could still smell the bleach in the bathroom) but also very very cold. The heaters didn't work so well. We were also given a "family room" which had two bedrooms but there were also two doors into our room, only one of which we had the key for. It was just a little creepy.

Breakfast in the morning was decent, your typical Irish breakfast. Our host, Paul, was very polite and attended to anything we needed. All in all, it was a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scallywag81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maria99-12, Owner at Linden Hall, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear KlorineHead,
Thank you for posting your review. I am very sorry to hear you found the room cold and you thought 'the heaters didnt work so well'.
All the rooms in the house are heated by central heating/radiators which come on periodically by timer. A system you find in most irish houses. Because the central heating is not on 24/7 we provide a separate electric plug in heater in every room for guests comfort. There are in fact two of them in the family room you were in, to cover the two sections of the room. Guests can use these heaters if they need extra heat any time of the day. They do take a few minutes at the begining to heat up so i am assuming that is why you thought they 'didnt work so well'.
There is also an electric blow heater in every bathroom which provides instant heat if you need it to take a shower.
The family room you had has two doors, one of which is permanently locked. We usually only give guests one key to the main room. If you would have felt more comfortable or secure by having the other key to the other door we would have been happy to give it to you. It is a pity you didnt mention it to us.
Thankyou very much for your positive comments on breakfast and service provided.
Kind regards,
Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

I spent 2 nights in Linden Hall and would like to recommend it as a really good find. The owner was very welcoming and attentive. The cleanliness was second to none. I was there with a friend who is Australian and I was delighted with the welcome and standard of service. Well done

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank birgitta j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maria99-12, Owner at Linden Hall, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Birgitta j,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Linden Hall. I am delighted that you felt you recieved a warm welcome and that you were happy with the service you recieved. We aim to provide good service in a relaxed and friendly way. Glad to hear you would be happy to recommend us and of course we would be delighted to welcome you back again sometime.
Kind regards,
Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballybrack, Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

We were greeted on arrival by Paul, ( who helped with our luggage) with tea and biscuits.
Our room was spotless clean an d nicely decorated. Very very comfortable. Breakfast was great,
lots of what ever you wanted. We would recommend Linden Hall and plan on returning soon.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Edel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maria99-12, Owner at Linden Hall, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Edel M,
Thank you very much for posting your review. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and delighted to hear you would be happy to recommend us. We strive to provide good service in a relaxed and friendly way and It is nice to get such positive feedback. Thanks again!
Kind regards,
Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.4 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#3 of 15 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
0.2 mi away
Westport Plaza Hotel
Westport Plaza Hotel
#2 of 15 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,913 reviews
0.4 mi away
Clew Bay Hotel
Clew Bay Hotel
#5 of 15 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#4 of 15 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
0.8 mi away
Augusta Lodge
Augusta Lodge
#1 of 70 in Westport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
0.2 mi away
St Anthony's Riverside Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Linden Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linden Hall

Property: Linden Hall
Address: Linden Hall Altamount Street, Westport, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 70 B&Bs / Inns in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Linden Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm welcomes, good humor and a relaxed atmosphere in our period style town house in the centre of Westport. We have an excellent location in the centre of Westport and are easy walking distance to Matt Molloys, Traditional Music Pubs, Restaurants, Hotels, leisure centers, train station, bus stops. All bedrooms have high ceilings with a touch of old world elegance and each has en-suite, TV & Tea/Coffee facilities. We are a non-smoking house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Linden Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing