We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous mid-week break!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Wyatt Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Wyatt Hotel
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
1 review
“Fabulous mid-week break!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2009

My husband and i stayed here on a midweek break. It was very reasonable and the location was fantastic. The staff were so pleasant and the service was excellent. They recommended sights to see and an excellent restaurant in the town.
Our room was a bit small, but extremely comfortable. For what we paid we were more than satisfied! We will be back!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dublingal75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    777
    387
    114
    35
    26
See reviews for
249
627
40
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2009

My partner, two good friends of ours, and myself spent our New Year's 2009 in The Wyatt of Westport. Upon arrival we were met by a friendly receptionist, swiftly "checked-in", and directed to our room. The room was clean, comfortable, and was of a good size. Unfortunately, due to our time of arrival, we were unsure if we would be able to get food from the kitchen. The welcoming staff informed us that they could get what we wanted from the menu (it must be noted that it was some 30mins after the "shut-off" time). The food was of a good standard and the attached bar was good fun, especially the "orange neon sign". After time spent in the bar we visited some of the other local establishments and returned late that night.

As requested we were woken at 8.30a.m. to a full Irish breakfast with all the works. Good quality breakfast with local produce (fundamentally it was warm, not like some we have had). One criticism would be that the poached egg should probably not be served on toast as it tends to become soggy from the excess water on the egg, (only a minor point though). After sometime spent in the town and surrounding area we returned with the papers underarm. There was an open fire by the reception area with two "grande" chairs on either side. We swiftly plonked ourselves on front and began a Saturday ritual of catching up on the economic turmoil.

That night, and as part of our deal, we received a meal in the Hotel restaurant. The 4 of us sat down to eat and were greeted by a fully informed waitress. The food, it must be said, was excellent and all were happy, especially me with my combination dessert: "superb". It must also be noted that the Manager of the Hotel walked around the dining room and wished everyone a Happy New Year, a very nice touch.

Would I recommend the Hotel? Most definitely, very central location, good rooms, good food, and a great welcome.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank IrishIsle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, NY
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2008

My wife and I (and another couple) sayed at Wyatt Hotel in Westport for one night in Sept 2008. Though it had no real view, our room was a good-sized double, quite modern and nicely furnished, with a very nice bathroom. It also offered free off-street parking for our rental car. Staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel itself has a nice bar and a comfortable, moderately-priced restaurant where we had an excellent meal. The only feature of the hotel that was at all lacking was the breakfast, which was just so-so The hotel is right in the middle of this lovely small town, on a distinctive central square (called the Octogon) with nice shops, pubs, etc. It is an easy walk to good shopping and pubs with good music. A longish walk or a short drive take you to the Quay, another beautiful part of town on Clew Bay. And Crough Patrick, the holy mountain, is just a short drive away. We loved Westport and were completely satisfied with Wayatt Hotel.

  • Liked — Location, convenience
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sfendler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2008

first class all the way!!!
on entry of the hotel bein greeted by the friendly and very helpful reception staff. The rooms where immaculate and the comfort level was second to none.Our meals were also of a very high standard every morsal was more delicious than the last! My wife and I both enjoyed our stay immensely

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
Thank minilush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2008

I cannot believe that this hotel has positive reviews. My partner and I stayed here for a bank holiday weekend. We found the hotel extremely expensive for what it was and the service was at best utterly disinterested and on one occasion, extremely rude. Our room was pokey and overlooked the hotel's back yard and bins, and it smelt of cooking. The bathroom was even worse. Although it was clean, the sink was the smallest sink I have ever seen and my partner wasnt even able to shave there. Also, there was no adequate parking. At the end of our trip, we filled in a comment card which was negative but we were never contacted by the hotel to inquire as to why we had not enjoyed our stay. Finally, we sent a letter of complaint that was never even acknowledged.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AdaDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2008

We stayed in the Wyatt hotel in August 2007 while attending an event in the town and so had no hesitation in returning this year for the same event and a 3 night stay - our mistake. I couldn't believe how the standard had dropped in a year, on the walk to our bedroom the amount of cobwebs and dust on the art work and pieces was surprising.
The bed covers were full of undefinable stains as was the "white" shower curtain in the bathroom.

The plughole in the bathroom sink got stuck on the first night, we reported this to the nightporter and the problem was not resolved until the last night of our stay at 11.30pm after numerous conversations with reception staff throughout the days..having to brush our teeth over the bath didn't seem to bother the staff.
We also ordered breakfast to our room on one of the mornings and there was a mix-up, eventually with no apology breakfast was delivered an hour after the request time.

We were also in a room which was beside the kitchen vents and the smell wasn't too pleasant. Also on one of the days the cleaning staff left our "clean" cup, saucer and spoon on the edge of the bath near the toilet, it just wasn't a nice sight!!!

When I highlighted my experiences to staff again on check-out I was told that the general manager would contact me - still no word...we will not be returning to this hotel next year...

  • Liked — it's location
  • Disliked — room cleanliness
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank buttons2008Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2008

We stayed at the Wyatt in August this year during a very poor summer (weather-wise) and found that the staff were exceptionally hospitable, the accommodation was excellent and the food sublime. We had a wonderful stay and found that nothing was beyond the remit of the dedicated staff, from reception, dining room & bar to accommodation. We will be back.

  • Liked — Food
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sinead802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Westport hotels
1.0 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#4 of 15 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
0.3 mi away
Westport Plaza Hotel
Westport Plaza Hotel
#2 of 15 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,913 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clew Bay Hotel
Clew Bay Hotel
#5 of 15 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Castlecourt Hotel
The Castlecourt Hotel
#7 of 15 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,531 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Westport
Hotel Westport
#8 of 15 in Westport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
0.7 mi away
Knockranny House Hotel
Knockranny House Hotel
#6 of 15 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wyatt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wyatt Hotel

Property: The Wyatt Hotel
Address: The Octagon, Westport, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Westport
#3 Romantic Hotel in Westport
#6 Business Hotel in Westport
#9 Family Hotel in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Wyatt Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wyatt Hotel is a gem located in the heart of Westport town in Co. Mayo. The hotel boasts a welcoming atmosphere popular with visitors and locals alike. The town centre property hosts 55 tastefully decorated rooms, an upmarket Brasserie, an adjoining traditional Irish Bar, as well as an award winning Restaurant. Westport is a top tourist destination with hundreds of activities to suit all interests, all year round. The Great Western Greenway as well as the iconic Croagh Patrick are just two of the many attractions for leisure enthusiasts. Westport was voted best place to be from in 2012. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your The Wyatt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wyatt Hotel Westport
Wyatt Hotel Westport
Wyatt Westport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing