We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best place to stay at Westport” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Helm Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Helm Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #17 of 70 Westport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Calliope, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best place to stay at Westport”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at this great place when we visited Westport for our brothers wedding in April this year. Couldn't have gotten better service. Food excellent - huge meals, great atmosphere, excellent accommodation. Wish we could have stayed longer. Will certainly be staying there again. Well done Vinny & Shane.

Room Tip: The units away from the main building are the best as they are newer. Being self contained was the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    43
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
48
51
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

A group of friends and I recently had the pleasure of eating and staying at the helm. The food was fab and excellent value. And we all felt very well looked after.
The accommodation was super. One small niggle is that they could possibly be better insulated for noise rather than heating. Maybe Not ideal for super light sleepers or if youll have kids running about. The apartments are very well equipped. Lots of us wished we were staying on an extra night.
Thanks a million guys. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yv0nnec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

Had our usual college reunion in March and on this occasion, spent the weekend in Westport. Stayed at the Helm apartments and it was one the most successful weekends to date. The staff are excellent, helpful, friendly, warm and welcoming. The food was of a very high standard and was most enjoyable. The apartments were warm, clean and very well priced. Entertainment was provided both Friday and Saturday night. Taxi's in and out of town were reasonable. Cannot fault the place!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cbk333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed in one of the 3 bed apartments. The bedrooms were very spacious and would comfortably sleep 8. The place was warm and clean. Breakfast was included each morning and the food was good - cereals, juice, fruit and yoghurt and full irish or any combination. The staff are excellent, very friendly and very helpful. We ate in the apartment both nights - the fridge is huge and also had an ice box. There was an oven, dishwasher and a washing machine, none of which I was expecting in a kitchenette! When we arrived, there was a welcome pack left out with brown bread, butter, cheese, tuc biscuits and a bottle of red wine - a really nice touch. Other small things like some tea, coffee, drying clothes, washing up liquid, dishwasher tablets. soap and lovely soft towels really make it a home away from home. We couldn't get connected to the wifi but that was only a small hitch. The location was excellent, we walked into Westport house both days so it was perfect for us. (Its a bit out of Westport as its down by the quay). We also had free use of the swimming pool in the hotel down the street - another great plus.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gerrimac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

I booked this as our accommodation for a hen party, I was a little worried as its a bit outside the town but I have to say it didn't bother us. The staff were amazing, the food was excellent and very well priced and the apartments were much more that what we expected! Seriously cannot fault this place! For only 2€ you can get a taxi/hackney into the town per person and the owner was brilliant they actually couldn't do enough for you. They sit down with you and talk to you like a friend not a customer. Breakfast was well worth the agony of getting out of bed. Will be returning hopefully in the near future. Also the location where they are is superb, right on the harbor. The sun was shining on the day we left and it felt we were in a foreign country! Such down to earth staff and more like a home than a business. THEY ALSO OFFER FREE WIFI

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

An excellent bar\restaurant\b and b!The place is fantastic full of music and craic at night,the staff are very friendly and helpful, its a home away from home!The food is gorgeous and have a lovely menu, the rooms are cosy and warm,yes you may get noise but that's expected anywhere isn't it!!If you want to go anywhere that makes you feel like home here is where you come for laughter and fun :o) will certainly be back its a place you wouldn't forget!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank icol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

Stayed here as a part of large hen party group! To say that all the staff at The Helm could not do enough is an undestatement, they were so accomodating with any request.
The accomodation was super, perfect for our needs with large spacious rooms.
We also had dinner and breakfast here, the food was excellent, serving hugh portions! Plus great music on a Sat night, enough to get any party started.
Couldn't recommend The Helm enough, the staff and their warm welcome is what makes this place!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hyvaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.1 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#4 of 15 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#3 of 15 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harbour Mill
Harbour Mill
#1 of 15 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Westport Plaza Hotel
Westport Plaza Hotel
#2 of 15 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,913 reviews
1.0 mi away
Clew Bay Hotel
Clew Bay Hotel
#5 of 15 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 918 reviews
0.9 mi away
Augusta Lodge
Augusta Lodge
#1 of 70 in Westport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Helm Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Helm Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Helm Bed and Breakfast
Address: The Helm The Quay, Westport, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 70 B&Bs / Inns in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Helm Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Helm Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Helm b&b
The Helm Hotel Westport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing