We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service average, accommodations nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
St Anthony's Riverside Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 70 Westport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Maine
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Service average, accommodations nice”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

First, the B&B is updated, clean and in a very good location. However, in comparison to the several other Ireland B&B's we stayed in over 11 days, this was the only one which did not have professional personnel. Yes we were greeted very cordially by the manager when we arrived and he certainly gave us good suggestions for dinner. However, when we arrived but before we even had a chance to go to our room, he handed us a menu for breakfast wanting us to fill it out right then. That put us off. Next, he asked us to be sure to review our stay in Trip Advisor. That was also a bit distasteful. What was especially unusual to our stay was that each morning (we stayed 2 nights) there were different staff cooking and serving breakfast, all who seemed a bit harried. Danny, the manager, was not available in the mornings to offer tourist advice. We understand that he does not arrive at the B&B until later in the morning. This was very different from all of our other B&B stays where the owner was available day and night to assist us with our stay. This B&B just did not live up to other Ireland B&B's excellent service and guest care.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnneTriper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St_Anthonys_BB, Owner at St Anthony's Riverside Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you for your review of our property. I'm sorry you did not feel that you were not provided with as good as service as other B&B's. In relation to the breakfast menu it is normal that we would ask guests to fill in a breakfast menu the evening before breakfast. I am sorry you felt you were rushed into filling in the menu. We also do ask guests to review us on tripadvisor as it is very important for our businness however this is normally done when guests are leaving and also when we know our guests have enjoyed there stay with us! We apologize again if you were asked before your head even hit the pillow. Sometimes breakfast can be busy and hectic when you are feeding so many people we do try to ensure that our guests have a peaceful breakfast. Danny our manager works in the afternoons it is not possible for him to be available all the time. His mornings are his time off but if he is around the house at that time he always takes the time for guests. The morning staff are always happy to look after guests and anwser any questions they might have. Again we are sorry you felt you did not get the best service and thank you for the review .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    46
    12
    1
    3
See reviews for
32
125
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We loved the location of this B&B, and the hosts were helpful and friendly. Danny took a real interest in making sure we knew about places to go, restaurants, etc. Our room was comfortable, and it was a good value.

Room Tip: If you have a lot of luggage, ask for a room on the ground floor or a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St_Anthonys_BB, Manager at St Anthony's Riverside Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for the great review, we really love getting them! Hopefully we will see you again some time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stay here for two nights over the May Bank Holiday weekend and if we are ever back in Westport again will be staying here. The room was larger than I expected and the breakfasts were excellent. What really made the stay was the friendly staff whom gave great suggestions on where to go and where was good to eat. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Irsihfigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We only stayed for 1 night and had we had more time in Westport we would have loved to have stayed here longer. We booked online, but they were a little surprised to see us so maybe call to book or confirm your reservation. But they had a great room for us. Everything is fresh, bright and squeaky clean. The breakfast was delicious. They have a lovely sitting room with a fireplace to relax in. The town is small so the location is great. Enjoy your stay there!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillsky123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipperary, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

I Stayed at Saint Anthony's for five nights as a base for touring the very scenic County Mayo. I really enjoyed my stay. The house appears to be a period residence which is comfortable, and very tastefully decorated, The apartment in which I stayed was equally as comfortable. There was ample fresh towels, hot water, and it was cleaned and freshened daily.

The town has an array of restaurants to choose from, all of which appear to offer very interesting menus. There is lots to see and do in the county, the scenery and beautiful walks are amazing. The town has a nightlife to appeal to all tastes.

The host family at Saint Anthony's are a real example of what we Irish can do best, The hospitality they offer is second to none. Not alone do they serve a really good Irish breakfast, they go above the call of duty in acting as tour advisers for your trip to the area, and food advisers regarding the local wonderful restaurants.

I would highly recommend this charming and friendly bed and breakfast to singles and couples alike, it is central for touring and you will not be disappointed. The venue is pet friendly also.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vesuvius52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wagga wagga
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We unfortunately only stayed one night - could have stayed a week! St Anthony's is in an excellent location, easy walk to shops/restaurants. Danny very warmly greeted us upon our arrival and was very happy to provide information regarding good restaurants etc. Lovely fresh interiors throughout. We had a really gorgeous room that immediately relaxed us. Wished we could have stayed longer. The breakfast was fantastic - fabulous french toast with bacon and freshly squeezed orange juice plus, plus. Didn't need lunch that day! We'll be back - longer next time.

Room Tip: We had an upstairs room at the back of the property - didn't hear a sound at all. Perfect for s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank knockgraffen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Stayed here Patrick's weekend and room (triple) was well presented, spotlessly clean, large and quiet with a lovely view if a river. Overall excellent experience with great service, good breakfast and friendly staff . Would stay here again....so if only they could organise the weather as well as their accommodation the weekend would have been perfect !

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank route157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St_Anthonys_BB, Manager at St Anthony's Riverside Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you for the great review. We love getting them! The weather here at the moment is fantastic, cold but dry...your right though it is a shame it is out of our control. Hopefully see you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.3 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#4 of 14 in Westport
874 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clew Bay Hotel
Clew Bay Hotel
#5 of 14 in Westport
1,024 reviews
1.3 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#3 of 14 in Westport
949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Westport
Hotel Westport
#8 of 14 in Westport
1,073 reviews
0.9 mi away
Westport Woods Hotel
Westport Woods Hotel
#11 of 14 in Westport
1,069 reviews
0.6 mi away
Augusta Lodge
Augusta Lodge
#2 of 70 in Westport
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Anthony's Riverside Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Anthony's Riverside Bed and Breakfast

Property: St Anthony's Riverside Bed and Breakfast
Address: 8 Distillery Road | Carrowbeg, Westport, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 70 B&Bs / Inns in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — St Anthony's Riverside Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. Anthonys is a charming characterful B&B situated in its own oasis in heart of Westport Town, Co. Mayo, Ireland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your St Anthony's Riverside Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing