We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What other B&Bs should aspire to...”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Westport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Boulevard Guesthouse
Ranked #4 of 70 Westport B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 14, 2013

The innkeepers were welcoming, knowledgeable, and witty. The location on South Mall is close to everything. Rooms are large and the breakfasts satisfying. (Be sure to have the porridge!). A great stay at a great price.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Donn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (629)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

279 - 285 of 629 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2013

In the fall 2013 my wife and I toured Ireland for 5 weeks by bus (Bus Eireann). No driving for us on the “wrong” side of the street! We chose lodging based primarily on 1) Location : close walking distance to center of town 2) TripAdvisor evaluations 3) cost (value). We stayed primarily in B & B’s. The Boulevard Guesthouse is a gem in Westport. Westport is a gem in itself. We were lucky enough to see Matt Malloy play at his pub. The guesthouse is on a quiet street facing the river just about 100 M from the bus stop and not much farther to Matt Malloy's pub. I can not say enough good things about Sadie and Noreen. What a wonderful pair to greet you each morning for a generous breakfast. They gave us good recommendations on walks, food, and music. The bedroom was good sized and quiet. The WiFi was very weak, so I went to the visitor's center. That was the only drawback. Hopefully, they have fixed it. Highly recommended accommodation.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JDN39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Fantastic B & B in such a quaint town! Noreen and Sadie were such wonderful Hosts friendly and welcoming . The room was clean and cozy with a view of the river. The breakfast was delicious. These two ladies make me want to run back to Ireland and spend a few more days with them, great recommendation by Rick Steve's .

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We had the most delightful stay here. Our room was lovely as was the rest of this beautiful old home. We were greeted in the most friendly way by our wonderful hostesses, Sadie and Noreen.. The breakfast was excellent and we took advantage of recommendations for food and hikes and music. Truly would have loved to have stayed longer!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank fish555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

This has to be one of your favourite spots in Ireland now and its mostly thanks to Sadie and Noreen! Even though my husband is a Dub and the Dubs had just beaten Mayo in the All Ireland, they were still kind to us! ;) Most likely because I am Australian and that saved us! No in all seriousness, the Boulevard is a must when visiting Westport. Its large and eloquently fitted out rooms are beautiful, warm and welcoming. We had the green room which was so lovely and quiet and we had such a peaceful sleep which is the best when driving long hours on country roads. The breakfast, along with Sadie and Noreen's light hearted banter was wonderful. The wifi connection was also a plus! They were great at letting us know what to do in and around Westport which was so helpful.
Thanks Ladies we will be back again (maybe next time with the two kids so look out!)
All the best
Amy and Derek

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amsgreeneyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

What a great location for our home base while visiting Westport and the surrounding beautiful countryside. Only a block or two from the main shops, restaurants and pubs of Westport, this guesthouse is surprisingly quiet with free on-street parking right outside. Hosts John, Sadie and Noreen were incredibly helpful -- even leaving a special luncheon to come and check us in when we arrived early.

Our room was spotless, well-equipped and huge with two beds. Breakfast choices were so good we wish we could have stayed more than three days to try them all. The porridge here got our vote for the best of what we had at the eight guesthouses where we stayed during our 18-day trip to Ireland. The bowl of fresh fruit in the dining room was a nice touch. We look forward to returning here again soon!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LovetoTravel2828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

One of our favorite B&Bs on our recent trip to Ireland. Great location in the lovely town of Westport with pretty, comfortable rooms and a good breakfast. Sadie and Noreen were delightful to talk to with, and very helpful in directing us to local sites. They even came to our rescue when we left a bag! We stay there again!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.2 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#4 of 13 in Westport
978 reviews
1.2 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#3 of 13 in Westport
1,024 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Castlecourt Hotel
The Castlecourt Hotel
#5 of 13 in Westport
1,732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Westport Plaza Hotel
Westport Plaza Hotel
#2 of 13 in Westport
2,144 reviews
0.6 mi away
Augusta Lodge
Augusta Lodge
#2 of 70 in Westport
865 reviews
0.2 mi away
McCarthy's Lodge & Bar
McCarthy's Lodge & Bar
#7 of 70 in Westport
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boulevard Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boulevard Guesthouse

Address: The Boulevard South Mall, Westport, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 70 B&Bs / Inns in Westport
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boulevard Guesthouse is located on the South Mall, a quiet residential street in the center of the town, along by the river and yet so quiet at night. Sadie & John Moran have refurbished their home to a very high standard and all six bedrooms have private bathrooms as well as tea- and coffee-making facilities, televisions and full wireless broadband access (Wi-Fi available in all rooms). There is plenty of free on street parking outside the house on this quiet side road. We are near all amenities including Matt Molloy's of ''The Chieftains'' fame (traditional Irish group ), Hoban's Bar at the Octagon has good Irish Music and lots of other bars with good music in them too. The town is full of top quality restaurants and cafés with every type of food you could want. There is so much to see and do around this lovely part of Ireland with such unspoiled and rugged beauty. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Boulevard Guesthouse Hotel Westport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing