We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Back again - year after year”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Westport Woods Hotel
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Back again - year after year”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2009

Very nice hotel with attentive staff. Newer rooms are the best. Good bar and excellent leisure/gym facilities with pool. short taxi ride from the town and close to the harbour (quiet area). Restaurant Dinner is a little underwhelming but there are great restaurants in the town - Good selection at Breakfast though, which was good (buffet).

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,009 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    446
    278
    126
    84
    75
See reviews for
398
289
33
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ZTrav
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2009

Myself and my buddy managed to escape from the domestic drudgery of babies and kids, running a home, a full time business and 9 horses to look after between us (you get the picture) to the Westport Woods Hotel and Spa on a cheap mid week break. It was recommended by a friend of mine in Kerry but gosh did she undersell it. First of all Westport is a beautiful scenic town with fantastic restaurant and superb pubs, the hotel itself I was told is a three star. I travel a lot so was not expecting much to be honest. I am surprised it is only 3 star. The rooms are newly refurbished & tasteful, the beds so so comfy, the modern bar pretty trendy and the leisure centre and Spa very stylish in a boutique sort of way. The food was excellent - great buffet breakfast and dinner was good pub food in quality and quantities...plenty of fish/seafood on offer as well as traditional Irish bacon & cabbage and I had a delicious sirloin steak. Amazing value too - you could have a dinner and 2 glasses of wine for Euros15 a head when I was there - now there's a recession busting deal! What was most impressive about the hotel to me was the fact that it is the most eco friendly hotel in Ireland...we got a tour in the morning as reducing carbon footprints is a bug bear of mine and boy was I impressed. The hotel runs on a wood chip boiler and solar panels, has a huge composting scheme, used dead timber from the acres of woods all around for fuel...I won't go on but its pretty impressive and seems the management left no stone unturned...even the polystyrene cases that food gets delivered in get crushed and sent off to be manufactured into CDs. If I could I would only support hotels with this kind of green drive.

The hotel has its own stables and as avid horse riders that was the main reason we were there. Having shown ponies and competed in the past we are both a bit cynical when it comes to commercial treking centres I will admit. But we were pretty impressed by the horses here which are all "hunter" type and nicely forward going, well behaved and very sensible - exactly what you want if you can ride and are going for a good ride out. The owner of the hotel Michael Lennon took us out personally and we had a fantastic ride across the most amazing beach you can imagine. Later in the afternoon we were due to ride up the mountain but instead we decided we couldn't leave the beach it was so much fun. For exhilerating beach riding - wow this is it. The hot ports on the way back were much appreciated also - Irish hospitality at its best!

What a hidden gem of a place, and can't believe it rights on my doorstep.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2008

The reason we chose this hotel was because of its link with horseriding and this was what we six ladies wanted. From the first phone call to us leaving, we were treated so well. The hotel and the staff went way above our expectations. The rooms are beautuful, modern and are cleaned to a very high standard and the showers are great. Restaurant, leisure centre, bar entertainment excellent and the staff really professional and friendly. For anybody wanting a horseriding experience, this is amazing. We've done the beach ride, and we had the time of or lives. The horses are well kept and will do just what you want. They are well mannered and unspoilt. We are all looking forward to going back to the hotel and doing the mountain trek next time. Thanks to the staff for making our stay so enjoyable

  • Liked — very clean rooms. great showers
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonegalTonto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2008

Just back from an excellent stay at the Westport Woods Hotel & Spa in Westport. This hotel really offers Irish hospitality and a friendly welcome which sadly much of the tourist industry in Ireland is loosing. . Delicous food and late breakfasts, friendly bar staff ( best of luck to Tom Finn running for local council election and hi Annette on Front desk).

I opted for one of their beach rides one afternoon and as an experienced rider, was thrilled by the quality of the horses, the scenery and the spotless expansive beaches in the area.
My guides were great and very informative and the hot port to warm me up on the way home topped off a great afternoon.

Back at the hotel I treated myself to a Swedish massage, which left me relaxed and ready for another enjoyable evening at the hotel which always seems to have something going on.
Westport is an adorable town, very well kept and with lots of resturants and pubs to entertain.
I will definetly return to this hotel again and plan to have a girls weekend with lots of spa treats and try out another of their great rides, perhaps the Croagh Patrick ride next time.
Can't wait!
Well done all at the Westport Woods Hotel & Spa

  • Liked — Stylish modern design, very clean, lovely linens
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank HorseRider10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2008

Great place to stay. Very relaxing rooms clean & tidy. Staff very helpful. Meals very good. Ma Bakers on Saturday night very good. Ideal place to stay.

  • Liked — Very Good
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2008

Stayed here for a weekend in September with my husband. Had a great time from the moment we arrived to when we left. The leisure centre is fabulous and the spa peaceful. Had a great massage. The hotel is amazing with its green policy. You can see solar panels in the garden and they don't heat the hotel with oil but wood pellets. Great to see.

  • Liked — Location, leisure centre, spa
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mojo24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
co.tyrone
Level Contributor
110 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2008

We went to Westport woods hotel for 3 nights B&B. On arrival the lobby looked very modern but unfortunately our room wasn't. We got one of the oldest family rooms down a long dark, dank corridor. Why we were so far away remains a mystery as we had a lot of luggage and a baby in a buggy! On our way to the room we kept passing very modern rooms- so when we got to ours I was disappointed, but it was clean so I didn't complain.
Our main reason for choosing to go there was the Kids Club, so my husband and I would get a break also - this was not the case and from my children's point of view very disappointing. Due to the credit crunch there were very few families staying in the hotel and therefore the club was very poorly attended. The staff were lovely but clearly inexperienced. My children aged 9 and 5 were allowed to come and go from the club as they pleased. My husband and I couldn't believe this and we asked the staff to ring us if they wanted to leave as it is dangerous to roam around a hotel on your own! The girl took our number but had to use her own mobile to ring us as there was none in the kids club room. The following night a new go kids worker was on duty and when asked what was tonights dvd he told us the same as last night!!
In the Bench cafe we had a nice meal on our first night but the service on Monday was woeful - we ordered drinks and then had to go looking for them, likewise with the food. The breakfast were fine-nothing exciting. No fresh fruit or croissants though. Service wasn't good either - we had to ask for coffee twice, and when we went to get our food there was no bread or cereal bowls. The staff would have needed to keep on top of this.
Overall the leisure centre was very good, but lacked a lifeguard in the pool area on one the evenings that we were in the pool.
Westport house (behind the hotel) was a great place to visit and well worth the £60approx. Our girls enjoyed their day there better then the 3 in the hotel.

  • Liked — leisure facilities
  • Disliked — service and old style hotel room
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julesthereader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MickeyWest, General Manager at Westport Woods Hotel, responded to this review, January 1, 2009
Dear Julesthereader from Co Tyrone,
Thank you for your comments on TripAdvisor Traveler Reviews. I am always delighted to review and learn what our customers are saying and thinking about our services. It motivates us into trying to rectify any problems that are staring us in the face and not doing enough to sort them out.
Some of the actions that we are presently implementing and have got positive comments from recent guest visits have been to introduce energy saving LED lighting in our bedroom corridors which throws light onto newly framed interesting local & international modern art. We are proud winners of the hotel & entertainment category of the National Green Awards and are doing as much as we can to reduce our carbon footprint.
During 2008 we opened 44 new bedrooms and upgraded another 30 of the older bedrooms. We hope to have a complete renovation of all our bedrooms over the next two years. To better communicate to our guests a new web site will be launched in early 2009 which will communicate the different types of bedrooms on offer, whether family, standard or deluxe and this will explain what is available and the various pricing levels. Log on at www.westportwoodshotel.com and have a look see for yourself. Your comments have helped us improve this to our guests.
Our go!kids! Club was the main reason for choosing this hotel for your family short break. It has been developed over many years and we have received much positive comment and recognition for it. We have invested in many new resources this year in the Club, with two new playgrounds, one for younger and one for older children. We have built a new enclosed play area where older children can run around safely on locally supplied timber wood mulch, play dodge ball, soccer and other group games. We have also added a new zip wire for older children and teenagers.
We have partnered with on-site Horizon Adventure Holidays whom can offer at a discounted rate for Westport Woods Hotel families, rope climbing, kayaking, archery, raft building and group activity games. They also offer surfing mornings and afternoons at a good surfing beach Carrownisky, about 20 km from the hotel.
The hotel owns its own trekking centre and offers discount pony rides to hotel guests and their families.
Our go!kids! club offers a registration for families for the different activities that are on offer, breakfast train with collection from the guest bedroom in the morning with supervision, swimming in our Beech Club leisure centre with supervision (an extra lifeguard is always on duty during this time), scheduled day trips to the bowling alley, cinema, Westport House, Bertra Beach, Pick a Pot & Paint it, Pony Riding and Pitch & Putt , all of these trips are supervised. Kiddies tea before dinner and various entertaining activities during the evening. We welcome adult participation and have a family event most evenings, table quiz, talent show, disco, cabaret, mini Olympics, blind date and family bingo. It is our policy to entertain the children and allow them enjoy themselves as much as possible with new friends that they meet at the go!kids! club. Safety is paramount and the play areas have been designed with this very much in mind, child safe external perimeter fencing to avoid the lake and car parks.
We have telephones in both our crèche area (when it is open) and also the go!kids! club. Unfortunately they did not seem to be used during your stay with us. Your concern about children running around the hotel unsupervised is very relevant in these times and to ensure a more improved supervision regime, at registration we will give numbered go!kids! bibs to smaller children that like their independence and will be spotted more quickly if they should leave to go looking for their parents. We also can organise a baby sitting service at an extra charge if parents need this service. Our kiddie organisers (KO's) get a full weeks induction, which includes first aid & security training, games & entertainment training, communication skills, and above all an awareness that the holiday should be fun for the children participating in the Club.
There should be a different children's DVD on every night of the week and it will in future be publicised on the go!kids! notice board.
My Head Chef Eamon Farrelly is presently reviewing our menu offering for 2009 and designing them from as much locally produced ingredients as possible. This will cut our carbon footprint and help make us one of the Greenest Hotels in Ireland.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the Westport Woods Hotel & Spa in the not too distant future and show you and your family the improvements that you have helped motivate with your valuable assessment on TripAdvisor Traveler Reviews.
Regards Michael Lennon,
Westport Woods Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.4 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#4 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Westport
Hotel Westport
#8 of 14 in Westport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,008 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#3 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Westport Plaza Hotel
Westport Plaza Hotel
#2 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,940 reviews
3.3 mi away
Westport Country Lodge Hotel
0.9 mi away
The Castlecourt Hotel
The Castlecourt Hotel
#7 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westport Woods Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westport Woods Hotel

Property: Westport Woods Hotel
Address: Quay Road, Westport, Ireland (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Westport Woods Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Westport
#5 Spa Hotel in Westport
#10 Family Hotel in Westport
#12 Romantic Hotel in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Westport Woods Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit us at the Westport Woods Hotel and Spa for a fun and relaxing holiday in the West of Ireland. We have a range of breaks to choose from family holidays (with free go!kids! club), themed, weekend and golden years/over 50's breaks. Our guests love the Beech Club Leisure Centre with it's swimming pool and gymnasium, the teen adventure activities on the seven acres of our private woodlands looking down upon Westport House Loch and the space to relax and enjoy a great holiday or break. Everyone enjoys the regular local evening entertainment in the Bench Café Bar. Our unique location helps us specialise in romantic and memorable Wedding Receptions, created and designed especially for each individual couple. Make an appointment with our Wedding Coordinator and she will gladly show you what we have to offer you upon your Big Day. We offer one of the few approved hotel equestrian based holiday centres in Ireland, with excellent beach and mountain packages available all year round visiting areas in Clew Bay that very few visitors rarely get to see. Check out our current and best special offers on our web site. The hotel is easy to find, just a couple of minutes drive from Westport town centre on the Quay Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Westport Woods Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westport Woods Hotel And Spa
Westport Woods Hotel Westport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing