We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It used to be a castle.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Westport Woods Hotel
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed May 29, 2014

My wife and I went to Ireland for 3 weeks for our honeymoon. We stayed at a combination of Hotels, Bed and Breakfasts, and homes on Airbnb. This hotel had an interesting layout because it used to be as castle. There was free wifi in the room.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Carrie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HumanResoucesManager, Manager at Westport Woods Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Dear Carrie B,

Congratulations on your recent nuptials! We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your honeymoon in Ireland and of course, your stay with us.

We really appreciate your positive feedback and we look forward to another opportunity to host you at our hotel. Wishing you many years of health and happiness together.

Kind Regards,
Michelle Walsh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,084)
There are newer reviews for Westport Woods Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

512 - 518 of 1,084 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2014

The staff are fantastic the hotel wonderful and the location was great.We had such a good time the hotel and staff definitely made our weekend really special the service was fantastic and complements to the manger "The hotel is a testament to him" keep up the good work.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline Cazz D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HumanResoucesManager, Manager at Westport Woods Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Dear Caroline Cazz D,

It was great to read your feedback! We are delighted that you had a wonderful girls weekend in the lively town of Westport.

It was also great to read that you thought the staff were fantastic, and I will ensure they hear about your positive comments.

Looking forward to your return,

Michelle Walsh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2014

I stayed here for two nights 17th to the 19th May. After reading some of the reviews,I was pleasantly surprised to be given a lovely room with spotless bathroom that certainly didn't need updating. Room 230. We decided to stay in hotel as it was raining so went to bar for some lunch. We both had the chowder, It was very tasty,really enjoyable. Had dinner in the Hotel restaurant, (Lakeview Restaurant) We were seated at the big round window, The view was breathtaking, A beautiful place to sit. We both had the prawn starter, I had the pork and my husband had the steak, with Apple pie and tea to follow. All for 25 euro per person. All lovely and very reasonable. We finished up in the bar and got talking to some lovely people. Barman and all the staff that we encountered during our stay were very nice and friendly.The next morning we woke up to a lovely sunny day, and after breakfast, which was plentiful and had the usual, fruits, cereals, and hot foods. We walked down to the center, (about 10 mins walk)and did a bit of shopping and found a lovely quaint Tea rooms in which to sit and have a break. In the afternoon we drove along the coast road to Louisburgh. Took a detour down to Clew Bay and walked along the beach and harbour. Took some photographs along the way. We stopped off at The Harbour in Westport on the way back and went into The Towers Pub and restaurant for a cooling down drink. We sat in the bar and we could see The Restaurant was doing a great business. Food looked lovely. We decided to get a taxi down that evening for dinner. the taxi was 5 euro and gave us his number to ring him when we wanted to go back to hotel. Had the chowder again and we both had different fish dishes. A great pick and food was served by lovely friendly waitress's. We had a wonderful two days in Westport and will certainly go back.

Room Tip: I was in room 230, No complaints.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ursula2909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HumanResoucesManager, Manager at Westport Woods Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Dear Ursula2909,

It was great to read your positive review! We are delighted that you had such a good weekend and got to experience lots in the town of Westport, with the added bonus of good weather.

I am particularly happy that you enjoyed the food in the hotel, many changes have been made in the past year to improve this section of the hotel in the past year. These efforts are still currently at the fore front of the hotel, with the addition of our newest Pastry Chef Trish, who has been baking up a storm of beautiful tasty deserts.

Hope to see you again,

Michelle Walsh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2014

I recently stayed here on a two night mid week deal including breakfast each morning and one evening meal. The room was clean with the toilet looking a little tired and in need of updating. Overall fairly decent though.

We went for dinner the first night and found the food to be not bad but fairly average. We were well fed so didn't complain.

The hotel itself is very well located which was important to us. In striking distance to the lovely town of Westport which is reached with a five minute walk. On the opposite direction you can walk down to lovely Westport harbour and Westport house. It also is in a good location to visit the stunning Croagh Patrick (reek) or Mweelrea mountains with a 10 to 15 minute drive.

The staff were generally nice and the gent who manned the bar at night time is a pure gent. I did however hear one member of staff shout at foreign guests "I'm busy with someone else" which was unacceptable. Staff in the leisure and spa area were also friendly and accommodating.

The leisure facilities are fine but could do with a sprucing up. All facilities such as pool, sauna, steam room etc are available there.

The hotel all in all is worth a visit. I do feel with a bit of work the potential here is massive. I love this area because of all it has to offer and beauty. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dufferman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HumanResoucesManager, Manager at Westport Woods Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Dear Dufferman,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. It was nice to read your positive comments, and I apologize for the issues that you noted.

Your input, and the feedback from all of our guests is vitally important to us. We are continually investing in the property - in the rooms and public areas, and guest comments help to prioritise this investment.

Once again, we appreciate your comments and we look forward to another opportunity to host you at our hotel.

Kind Regards,
Michelle Walsh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Location-Beautiful location just beside a lake to which the hotel has a private walk way. 5 mins drive to the town centre.
Food- the food was very good in the cafe- they made excellent vegetarian food for us. But the breakfast was very ok-and we felt the staff werent as welcoming as the ones in the cafe.
Service- Service was very slow- though check in and check out were quick- but due to less restaurant staff members, the service in restaurant wasnt good. I must say the two ladies tried their best but for the crowd it was not enough
Price- Ok for the room and the location. But i must say surely not a 4 star property.
Room- Very dated- electric switches werent working well. lights would turn on minutes after you switch them on. Shower fittings were outdated and hard as hammer.
Overall: A hotel that can offer a lot more if it wishes to. because of its location it has the potential to be one of the finest.
Parking: plenty

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SamsTravelogy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HumanResoucesManager, Manager at Westport Woods Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Dear SamAsia123,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. Indeed, we are certainly located in a beautiful, scenic spot and we are delighted to hear you enjoyed the views of the lake.

We were delighted to hear your positive comments about our food, however I was disappointed to read about the issues with the service you encountered. Since your last stay, we have made a change in this area, and I can assure you that service, and attention to detail are a top priority. Again, thank you for letting us know of the issues with your room during your last stay. Since then, our maintenance team have been working extensively to correct these.

Once again, we appreciate your comments and we hope to welcome you to our hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Michelle Walsh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

There was 5 people went here for the weekend. The hotel is lovely and bright. Staffs are very friendly. Rooms are big and very clean. Good leisure centre in hotel.
We had food in the Bar. This did not go well. All food was ordered together and starters arrived at different times. Some of the people had well finished their starters and other were only getting theirs and some did not get any till everybody else were finished. We brought this complaint to the manager who listened carefully and in our opinion did nothing. This is only a small problem and would certainly not stop us going back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dermot15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HumanResoucesManager, Manager at Westport Woods Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Dear Dermot15,

Thank you for your review. I was delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our staff friendly.

Your comments are important to us, the issue regarding the food service has been addressed. We have recently changed our Head Chef and employed a wonderful pastry chef, who between them are cooking up a storm!

Once again, thank you for your comments and we hope to welcome you to our hotel again soon.

Kind Regards,
Michelle Walsh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

The outside of this place was very nice, landscaping was pretty, plenty of parking, outdoor seating, trail to lake, very nice looking hotel. The lobby was pretty and the staff at the reception and check out were great. The breakfast staff and barkeep were just as nice and friendly. Our room was the issue. We had 401, The floors squeaked when you walked across it and was uneven. Someone came in on us, they had a key that fit our door and walked right in, thank God I was dressed. The red light on the phone flashed all night long. I called the front desk about the red light, thinking I had a message but she said I didn't and that the light would go off. It didn't, soI had to unplug the phone so I could go to sleep. This hotel uses Keys and not the digital cards.Our room was large, our bed was King and was hard. The Television was the new type LCD and there was a desk, work station.The elevator was not working when we arrived. We had to go up 4 flights of stairs with our luggage. They were putting a new floor in it. They did get it finished that night, it stated it could hold 8 people but I don't believe it. We ate in the bar that night and had very good food. The service was good as well. We had breakfast the next morning with a beautiful view over looking the lush green grass and the lake in the distance with swans swimming. The breakfast was great, large selection of fruit, cereal, and hot food to order. We didn't use the leisure center but we did walk down and look at it. It looked really nice, we just didn't want to walk up and down the steps so we took a trail down to the lake. The wifi was good and the television stations were terrible, as most of them have been since we've been in Ireland.I was awaken twice during the night by someone knocking on my door. I am sure it was kids and the hotel can't be responsible for this but it was disruptive. This was the most expensive hotel that we stayed at so far and I don't feel like it was worth the price.

Room Tip: Don't stay in Room 401...maybe not on the 4th floor at all if the floors are all like the room w...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tyme4relaxing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HumanResoucesManager, Manager at Westport Woods Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Dear Tyme4relaxing,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. I was delighted to see your positive comments on our staff and on our beautiful location. Our staff work very hard to make sure our guests are comfortable and satisfied with their stay, so we are happy you found them to be nice and friendly.

I was disappointed to hear about the issues you encountered with your room, but thank you for letting us know. I apologize that children knocked on your door. During the summer months when there are a lot of children in the hotel, the corridors are monitored by a member of the team.

Once again, thank you for your l review. We hope to welcome you to our hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,
Michelle Walsh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.4 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#3 of 14 in Westport
975 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#5 of 14 in Westport
896 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Westport
Hotel Westport
#8 of 14 in Westport
1,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Westport Country Lodge Hotel
0.9 mi away
Westport Plaza Hotel
Westport Plaza Hotel
#2 of 14 in Westport
2,095 reviews
1.4 mi away
Knockranny House Hotel
Knockranny House Hotel
#7 of 14 in Westport
1,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westport Woods Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westport Woods Hotel

Address: Quay Road, Westport, Ireland (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Westport Woods Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Westport
#5 Spa Hotel in Westport
#10 Family Hotel in Westport
#12 Romantic Hotel in Westport
Price Range: $98 - $338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Westport Woods Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit us at the Westport Woods Hotel and Spa for a fun and relaxing holiday in the West of Ireland. We have a range of breaks to choose from family holidays (with free go!kids! club), themed, weekend and golden years/over 50's breaks. Our guests love the Beech Club Leisure Centre with it's swimming pool and gymnasium, the teen adventure activities on the seven acres of our private woodlands looking down upon Westport House Loch and the space to relax and enjoy a great holiday or break. Everyone enjoys the regular local evening entertainment in the Bench Café Bar. Our unique location helps us specialise in romantic and memorable Wedding Receptions, created and designed especially for each individual couple. Make an appointment with our Wedding Coordinator and she will gladly show you what we have to offer you upon your Big Day. We offer one of the few approved hotel equestrian based holiday centres in Ireland, with excellent beach and mountain packages available all year round visiting areas in Clew Bay that very few visitors rarely get to see. Check out our current and best special offers on our web site. The hotel is easy to find, just a couple of minutes drive from Westport town centre on the Quay Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Westport Woods Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westport Woods Hotel Westport
Westport Woods Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing