We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Westport Woods Hotel
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

We had a great time in the Westport Woods Hotel it was very relaxing ,the swiming pool was lovely the staff were very helpfull .Good food lovely walks and so near Westport House it is so nice to meet people we hope we will get to stay again ,








hotel



hotel
Hotel the food was very good it and it was so relaxing the swiming pool was great

Room Tip: room at the the south side it is nice and quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tibby13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael L, Reservations at Westport Woods Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Hi Tibby13

It really makes our day at the Westport Woods to hear your compliments and that you enjoyed your stay.

You highlighted various things that you enjoyed during your stay and one of them is the way our staff welcome our guests, and if anybody reads back on the comments on Trip Advisor they can see that the staff are mentioned many times on how pleasant and helpful they are welcoming guests such as yourselves. Its something we really take pride in and it is so good to hear guests remark that we are so successful in this.

Westport Woods is one of the top hotels in the area if not the country and as you have pointed out we have state of the art facilities within the leisure centre available to our guests.

We especially look forward to your return visit and lets hope its soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,009 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    446
    278
    126
    84
    75
See reviews for
398
289
33
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Donegal, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

We have just had a 3 night break with our two children age 5 and 7. This is our second break at this hotel with our children. Our children just loved the kids club and therefore so did we. The breakfast train is brilliant and the dinner session in the evening also allowed us to have a relaxing stay and very relaxing meals. The leaders in the kids club, Michael and Elanna were a real hit and new exactly how to keep the kids entertained, so well done guys.
The food and the service was excellent and nothing was any trouble.
We are already planning our third visit to this hotel.
Anyone reading this who have young children, this hotel is highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JSDonegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael L, Reservations at Westport Woods Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Hi JSDonegal

The Westport Woods is, as you have pointed out so clearly, a family orientated hotel and the management have spent huge sums and very long hours devising and promoting go!kids! and all the associated children's facilities.

We are so happy that you and your family have enjoyed the facilities and as you say soon to be three times in total and this gives us great satisfaction in our success to make this hotel the number one family hotel.

See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

Our family reunion was held in Westport Woods on weekend ending 21 April 2013 and happened to coincide with a music weekend. While we were separate from the music events there was musical entertainment in the evenings in the bar and on Saturday night one of the entertainers from the music weekend event entertained us in the bar until the small hours after he had finished in the function room. Food was great, bed was comfortable and we had great fun

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tom b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael L, Reservations at Westport Woods Hotel, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Dear TomB

It is always nice to receive a review like yours, and it is great to see you enjoyed yourself at your family get together as you know the Westport Woods is a family orientated hotel and thank you for your kind comments.

Kind Regards
Reservations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

Myself and my family have stayed in this hotel numerous times and we are always impressed by the facilities and excellent customer service. Last time we visited was mid April and there was a great atmosphere in the hotel. It caters for all ages - young kids enjoyed just as much as adults. The Leisure Centre is great and the Spa is amazing too. The staff are so friendly and welcoming and the location is perfect for travelling and exploring parts of Mayo. Although not very bad, dinner choice can be a let down but I understand the menu changes regularly. Overall I would definitely recommend staying in this hotel and will be back again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael L, Reservations at Westport Woods Hotel, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Dear Dee B

From what you say you and your family seemed to have had a great time, which is fantastic for us to hear which means that all the improvements and the training is working. We take particular note of how you remark on the staff being so friendly and welcoming and this is one of the main comments we receive on a regular basis. We have also noted that you were not 100% happy with our dinner menu choice and your comments have been noted and were brought to the attention of the head chef at a recent meeting and we have since introduced a new a la carte menu.

Thank you for your comments and recommendations.

Kind Regards
Reservations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

lovely staff, especially in leisure centre. Rooms upgraded since last visit, and child friendly. restaurant poor enough, but good value overall. Plenty of variety for breakfast. Quiet hotel on the outskirts of town

Room Tip: Top floor much newer rooms, and rooms facing the leisure centre are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Reddoc83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael L, Reservations at Westport Woods Hotel, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Dear Reddoc83

Thank you for your comments. Yes our staff are lovely and are totally customer orientated to provide all guests with that personal friendly service.

As you have pointed out our hotel is child friendly and the rooms have been upgraded since your last visit. Thank you for this. It is good to see that returning guests such as yourself are appreciating our constant ongoing upgrades that we continue to do even in such a harsh economic climate.

We are sorry that you were not pleased with the restaurant and this point has been noted and any improvements we can identify in the restaurant will be acted upon as soon as possible.

Kind Regards
Reservations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Armagh
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Very friendly and relaxing hotel break.
Staff very nice,food excellent,rooms clean and comfortable.
I was there for a wedding anniversary break and thoroughly enjoyed my stay.
Ideal location for travelling around Achill, Connemara and Croah Patrick.

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking over the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank douglasCountyArmagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael L, Reservations at Westport Woods Hotel, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Dear DouglasCountyArmagh

What a lovely review. Thank you very much. Again our customers comment on how nice our staff are which we really appreciate, and we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay at the Westport Woods Hotel. Please come back again soon.

Kind Regards
Reservations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here over the Easter break and could not fault this hotel. Our room was ready as soon as we arrived and was a spacious and spotless room. A great size king bed and a single bed for our daughter!! Great views over the Lake. Yes the keys had a large key ring - but so what?? Leave it at reception when leaving the hotel. Simple!! Staff were extremely helpful and courteous, and their customer service superb!! On our last day we were greeted for breakfast and the staff member enquirer about our trip home!! Thats how you make a stay personal!! For those looking for an outdoor adventure -look no further as go treking is run from the woodlands. This is by far one of the best treks we have been on with perfectly matched horses, attention taken to assess capability before leaving the paddock, and great instruction and support for my daughter along the way. Whether an experienced rider or a novice I highly recommend that you make this part if your westport experience. Transfers are available too which is a nice touch. A special mention must be made to the hotel owner Michael who ensures that guests do get the personal touch which is lacking in even hotels smaller than the woodlands!! We will definetely be repeat customers!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spjohnston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael L, Reservations at Westport Woods Hotel, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Dear Spjohnston

Well Spjohnston you have pointed out something which also mystifies us at the Westport Woods Hotel. We admit we have our bad days and things do not go to plan, which means occasionally we do get an unhappy guest, but we try our best to make sure that everybody who stays with us enjoys their stay and goes away happy, and then for some reason, totally unexpected, we get a bad review which just confuses us as we have tried so hard to rectify any complaints.

The management try their best to improve any shortcomings that are found in the hotel and any points that are noted by guests and brought to our attention. They also spend many thousands on constantly upgrading the hotel which is ongoing and extremely hard to do in these recession times but we are getting there and will not stop until everybody who stays at the hotel is 100% happy,

You mention go!trekking!. This is a special activity available to guests to enjoy Clew Bay on horseback and we are the only hotel in this area which provides this unique facility which is a service provided by the owner/manager Michael Lennon, who himself is heavily involved in equestrian sports with his own stables, and who makes sure that everybody who goes horseriding has a fantastic day out.

Thank you very much for your kind comments.

Kind Regards
Reservations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.4 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#4 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Westport
Hotel Westport
#8 of 14 in Westport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,009 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#3 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Westport Plaza Hotel
Westport Plaza Hotel
#2 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,941 reviews
3.3 mi away
Westport Country Lodge Hotel
0.9 mi away
The Castlecourt Hotel
The Castlecourt Hotel
#7 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westport Woods Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westport Woods Hotel

Property: Westport Woods Hotel
Address: Quay Road, Westport, Ireland (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Westport Woods Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Westport
#5 Spa Hotel in Westport
#10 Family Hotel in Westport
#12 Romantic Hotel in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Westport Woods Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit us at the Westport Woods Hotel and Spa for a fun and relaxing holiday in the West of Ireland. We have a range of breaks to choose from family holidays (with free go!kids! club), themed, weekend and golden years/over 50's breaks. Our guests love the Beech Club Leisure Centre with it's swimming pool and gymnasium, the teen adventure activities on the seven acres of our private woodlands looking down upon Westport House Loch and the space to relax and enjoy a great holiday or break. Everyone enjoys the regular local evening entertainment in the Bench Café Bar. Our unique location helps us specialise in romantic and memorable Wedding Receptions, created and designed especially for each individual couple. Make an appointment with our Wedding Coordinator and she will gladly show you what we have to offer you upon your Big Day. We offer one of the few approved hotel equestrian based holiday centres in Ireland, with excellent beach and mountain packages available all year round visiting areas in Clew Bay that very few visitors rarely get to see. Check out our current and best special offers on our web site. The hotel is easy to find, just a couple of minutes drive from Westport town centre on the Quay Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Westport Woods Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westport Woods Hotel And Spa
Westport Woods Hotel Westport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing