We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent friendly hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Westport Woods Hotel
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Very friendly and relaxing hotel break.
Staff very nice,food excellent,rooms clean and comfortable.
I was there for a wedding anniversary break and thoroughly enjoyed my stay.
Ideal location for travelling around Achill, Connemara and Croah Patrick.

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking over the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank douglasCountyArmagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael L, Reservations at Westport Woods Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2013

Dear DouglasCountyArmagh

What a lovely review. Thank you very much. Again our customers comment on how nice our staff are which we really appreciate, and we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay at the Westport Woods Hotel. Please come back again soon.

Kind Regards
Reservations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,091)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

659 - 665 of 1,091 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here over the Easter break and could not fault this hotel. Our room was ready as soon as we arrived and was a spacious and spotless room. A great size king bed and a single bed for our daughter!! Great views over the Lake. Yes the keys had a large key ring - but so what?? Leave it at reception when leaving the hotel. Simple!! Staff were extremely helpful and courteous, and their customer service superb!! On our last day we were greeted for breakfast and the staff member enquirer about our trip home!! Thats how you make a stay personal!! For those looking for an outdoor adventure -look no further as go treking is run from the woodlands. This is by far one of the best treks we have been on with perfectly matched horses, attention taken to assess capability before leaving the paddock, and great instruction and support for my daughter along the way. Whether an experienced rider or a novice I highly recommend that you make this part if your westport experience. Transfers are available too which is a nice touch. A special mention must be made to the hotel owner Michael who ensures that guests do get the personal touch which is lacking in even hotels smaller than the woodlands!! We will definetely be repeat customers!!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spjohnston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael L, Reservations at Westport Woods Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2013

Dear Spjohnston

Well Spjohnston you have pointed out something which also mystifies us at the Westport Woods Hotel. We admit we have our bad days and things do not go to plan, which means occasionally we do get an unhappy guest, but we try our best to make sure that everybody who stays with us enjoys their stay and goes away happy, and then for some reason, totally unexpected, we get a bad review which just confuses us as we have tried so hard to rectify any complaints.

The management try their best to improve any shortcomings that are found in the hotel and any points that are noted by guests and brought to our attention. They also spend many thousands on constantly upgrading the hotel which is ongoing and extremely hard to do in these recession times but we are getting there and will not stop until everybody who stays at the hotel is 100% happy,

You mention go!trekking!. This is a special activity available to guests to enjoy Clew Bay on horseback and we are the only hotel in this area which provides this unique facility which is a service provided by the owner/manager Michael Lennon, who himself is heavily involved in equestrian sports with his own stables, and who makes sure that everybody who goes horseriding has a fantastic day out.

Thank you very much for your kind comments.

Kind Regards
Reservations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I recently stayed there as part of a group of 19 people (from age 2 - 62!!) for family celebration. Every person in our group was extremely satisfied with their experience of how well the hotel and its staff catered to all of our individual requirements. Excellent kiddies club which kept children entertained twice a day - particularly around meal times. Will definitely be returning again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SusanO279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael L, Reservations at Westport Woods Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2013

Dear Susan0279

The Westport Woods Hotel is a family friendly hotel. In fact family holidays are the core of our business and we have adapted our hotel to cater for such. We are so happy that your group was extremely satisfied as you say and also that our staff lived up to your expectations. We do hope to see you again.

Thank you.

Kind Regards
Reservations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

There was a large group of us (12adults and 7children) stayed here in April for our parents anniversary. Gemma and the receptionist staff were fantastic and could not have been any more helpfull. The hotel really caters for the children, we hardly saw the kids all weekend
Rooms were spacious and well equipped and the leisure centre was also fantastic.
Well worth looking into if you are planning a trip to Westport, espcially if you have children.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yaya2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael L, Reservations at Westport Woods Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2013

Dear Yaya2013

We are glad you all enjoyed your stay and the kids enjoyed our go!kids! club and thank you for pointing out how spacious our rooms are and how fantastic our leisure centre is.

We appreciate kind lovely reviews such as yours as they let us know we are doing our jobs correctly and to our customers requirements.

Kind Regards
Reservations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

After checking in we went to our room, which was not what we expected, not suitable for a family, but after raising our concerns with the reception, we were moved into a more spacious family room. The reception staff were very helpful in particular Gemma. That was the only issue we had, restaurant clean, good service and lovely food, bar big and family friendly, swimming pool and kids club a big hit. Overall our experience in Westport Woods was good, a lot of smiles and laughter. Will we return to Westport Woods, yes.

Room Tip: Ensure you get the room you booked and want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ColmM552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael L, Reservations at Westport Woods Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2013

Dear ColmM552

We will be the first to admit that we do not get it right every time, but when this is brought to our attention that we have done something wrong we will rectify this for our customers as soon as possible.

Thank you for your comments on the other facilities provided by the Westport Woods Hotel and we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our go!kids! club.

You say that you will return and we hope it will be soon.

Kind Regards
Reservations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Would recommend this hotel as it was all over very good, food, rooms and staff was all very good, location ideal, would go back no problem. Swimming pool, sauna, jacuzzi and gym available to all guests. There is also a gym with state of the art equipment for use I'd desired. Lobby very big and ideal for the children, whom was very well looked a after by staff.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TessTaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael L, General Manager at Westport Woods Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Dear Tess

Thank you for your recent positive Tripadvisor review.

It is becoming more and more important for my business to receive both positive and not so positive stories telling others what we really are about.

Your description defines very much what we pride ourselves at doing best, providing great family holidays with our go!kids! 'Everyone Can Play' Kids Club. Nearly everyone whom 'PLAYS' really, really enjoy themselves and have a great family holiday.

Tell your friends all about it and we'll send you a go!kids! Everyone Can Play Welcome Back to Our Hotel Voucher you can use off your next visit to Westport and another Family Holiday..

Regards

Michael Lennon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is really lovely. The rooms are fantastic - spacious, warm and comfortable.

The hotel has a great mix of people - couples, families, young kids and big groups of young people. It has a lovely atmosphere with very friendly staff. Leisure facilities are great.

We stayed on a Groupon deal and the value was fantastic. We also went horseriding which the hotel organised - I would highly recommend it.

We didn't eat dinner at the hotel. Breakfast was nice.

We'll definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CR49_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael L, Reservations at Westport Woods Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2013

Dear CR49_9

The Westport Woods Hotel is a family hotel wihere we specialise in taking care of children with our go!kids! club. The hotel is also an activity hotel for the more energetic and we also pride ourselves in our targeted holidays and breaks for what is called our 'golden years' customers. We are also a top wedding venue for the area so yes, our hotel has a great mix of people as you point out, couples, families, young kids and big groups of people. Sometimes it can get very hectic but as you say it has a lovely atmosphere and our staff are very friendly.

It pleases us greatly to hear that you enjoyed your stay and you would like to stay here again and we look forward to this and lets hope it is soon.

Kind Regards
Reservations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.4 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#3 of 14 in Westport
990 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#4 of 14 in Westport
926 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Westport
Hotel Westport
#8 of 14 in Westport
1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Westport Plaza Hotel
Westport Plaza Hotel
#2 of 14 in Westport
2,108 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Castlecourt Hotel
The Castlecourt Hotel
#6 of 14 in Westport
1,695 reviews
1.4 mi away
Knockranny House Hotel
Knockranny House Hotel
#7 of 14 in Westport
1,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westport Woods Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westport Woods Hotel

Address: Quay Road, Westport, Ireland (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Westport Woods Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Westport
#5 Spa Hotel in Westport
#10 Family Hotel in Westport
#12 Romantic Hotel in Westport
Price Range: $98 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Westport Woods Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit us at the Westport Woods Hotel and Spa for a fun and relaxing holiday in the West of Ireland. We have a range of breaks to choose from family holidays (with free go!kids! club), themed, weekend and golden years/over 50's breaks. Our guests love the Beech Club Leisure Centre with it's swimming pool and gymnasium, the teen adventure activities on the seven acres of our private woodlands looking down upon Westport House Loch and the space to relax and enjoy a great holiday or break. Everyone enjoys the regular local evening entertainment in the Bench Café Bar. Our unique location helps us specialise in romantic and memorable Wedding Receptions, created and designed especially for each individual couple. Make an appointment with our Wedding Coordinator and she will gladly show you what we have to offer you upon your Big Day. We offer one of the few approved hotel equestrian based holiday centres in Ireland, with excellent beach and mountain packages available all year round visiting areas in Clew Bay that very few visitors rarely get to see. Check out our current and best special offers on our web site. The hotel is easy to find, just a couple of minutes drive from Westport town centre on the Quay Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Westport Woods Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westport Woods Hotel And Spa
Westport Woods Hotel Westport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing