We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Saturday night in Westport woods”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Westport Woods Hotel
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Tuaim da Gualin
Level Contributor
43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Saturday night in Westport woods”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

Just stayed in The Westport Woods for one night and it was very good.The hotel was very quite when we arrived at 1pm and we almost had the place to ourselves.We had dinner in the bar in the evening as the restaurant was not open.The dinner was grand and very reasonably priced and our waiter was excellent.A nice homely atmosphere in the bar and a couple of parties there enjoying themselves.Breakfast was fine.There is a fine ,big lobby with a nice solid fuel fire,where you can sit back and relax.This hotel must be great for familes as there are plenty of activies for children including a great swimming pool area.There were quite a few families here this weekend. All the staff were helpful.Will go there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MacCraith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,009 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    446
    278
    126
    84
    75
See reviews for
398
289
33
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
114 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

Our stay was very comfortable and we were well looked after. We had lunch in the Bench Cafe Bar and it was delicous. Our dinner was served in the Lakeview restuarant choice of menu excellent as was the food. I would recommend a visit to the Spa you will be well treated and come away feeling very much refreshed. For those who would like to sit and play Bingo this is an option. We were more energetic and opted for dancing to the music provided by Joe & Patricia a local band they were very good. The hotel have a host of themed breaks from dancing to golf or they will tailor a programme to meet your needs. There are some really beautiful walks around the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smiler073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

I have no idea why there are any good reviews on here about this hotel. It is honestly the worst place I have ever stayed, and that includes hostels. I am not fussy, but I was shocked at how poor the standard of this accommodation is. It looks fine on the website, and the reviews seem ok - in fact I was actually excited to stay. However, upon arrival I soon discovered - the rooms have not been updated AT ALL in about 30 years, every single thing is old and dirty - the carpets, the bed, the bathroom, all horrible. If I had not pre-paid I would have left immediately.

Truly awful stay for €90. A shame as the town and surrounding area is very nice. I would never stay here again and I wish i hadn't made the mistake in the first place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Frances J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kerry
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

Went to a wedding last weekend in the westport woods stayed two night and had no children with us . We got a spacious room on the top floor overlooking the woods . With the most interesting style windows. well the bed was to die for . The wedding was the friday evening so we just arrived at the hotel when the drinks reception started. They couldnt have been nicer the wedding coordinator name was Joanne I think . My husband is gluten free and she organised a sandwich and a soup for us while we were changing . We were starving after such a long drive . Food was very good and wedding and plenty of it , I never knew they did weddings untill my friend invited us ti it had stayed in the hotel before visiting her . Think they just did the lobby and the function room up as they were really beautiful . hotel spotless . Service excellent . The following morning again no problem with Gluten free at breakfast great choice . then we took a trip to the lesiure centre what a joy. I had a massage and facial booked for noon and my husband had booked to go riding on the beach with a group from the wedding . My facial and massage was so relaxing i headed up to bed for another hour after before i could face everybody again . my husband Said the ride on the beach was amazing he had a lovely horse called Buster. We had dinner and drinks in the hotel that night about 20 of us a great night again . I never set foot outside the hotel in the three days and i had a fantatstic time . credit due to them

Room Tip: Rooms on top very quiet and very comfy beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marleylimerick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

I had my wedding here this Sept just gone and it was super fantastic. I must say that Joanne was amazing from the first contact through to the day of the wedding. She knows her stuff when it comes to weddings, and knows what guests like, what to do, and helps to guide you through the process. She is also very open to allowing the couple to have their own personal touches. We built our own photo booth, sweet shop and had ordered in some giant games to keep the guests amused. It was also a great spot for an ice-cream van - you can enjoy ice-creams in the beautiful garden out the back, or the lazy people in the bar can just pop out the door as the ice-cream van pulled up there too. We had such a beautiful day and the sun shone fantastically in the garden for some great photos. We were planning on going to the beach for wedding snaps, but the new area at the back that goes down to the lake behind is just so beautiful for photos - so we didn't waste any hours galavanting around.
We had our own Celtic ceremony there in the hotel- the room for that was fantastic, Joanne and her crew took my decorations I had brought (for my festivally theme) and they made it look lovely, with the candles on the aisle etc.
The canopes were really great too after the ceremony. It was designed well for weddings - the drinks/canope reception area is just outside the room where the ceremony is, which is just beside the bar! There is no losing any guests!
They played our favourite song as we entered the reception room - and the food was served fantasticaly and was really tasty! Nom nom.
The reception room is great - good bar, loadsa room, direct access to the garden/patio are for the smokers. Everyone had a ball!
They are great at weddings. The honeymoon suite is gigantic! There is a safe to put all your cards etc, the staff are there to help out, and it is very family friendly. The leisure centre is great, with a super pool and Jacuzzi to relax in the day after. There is a lovely spa too, (but didn't get the chance to sample. Too busy having a great time! )
Thanks so much Joanne and crew for making this such a great day to remember for ever! I would defo recommend!
Also, Westport is a great place for guests to spend a few days, cos it is so fab with loads to do and see.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the newly refurbised rooms... or even the big bridal suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snoodiemctockish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

My fiancé and I stayed here for three nights at the end of October. We were really pleased with the hotel.

There is lots of parking out in front of the hotel. It was difficult enough to find a space on the Friday and Saturday night as there was live music in the bar and this attracted a big crowd. We also enjoyed this.

The hotel itself is lovely and the gardensare very pretty. It creates a very relaxing atmosphere. The staff are more than friendly and extremely helpful.

We were very happy with our room. It had modern facilities. It also had tea and coffee making facilities. The bathroom is spacious and the shower is nice and powerful.

The swimming pool is of a good standard and also has a jacuzzi which we took great advantage of, a steam room and a sauna, There is a gym also which seemed well enough equipped.

We ate in both the bar and the restaurant and the food in both was delicious and of a high quality.

The hotel is reasonably priced and the location is good. It is a small distance outside the town, just down the road from Westport House.

This hotel we noticed caters really well for children and as it was mid-term break there were many families staying there. There is a very well run and carefully supervised kids club. I was very impressed when I saw the staff taking the regestration for the club asking each parent individually if their child/children had any medical problems they should know about and taking notes of everything. There is also a detailed time-table of the kids club displayed for each day, it seemed exciting and fun from what I read. It starts out with "a breafast train" at about 9.30am!

I would recommend this hotel for families or for a quiter stay out of the town. I did see one large hen party staying there however, who seemed to be enjoying themselves but not in a disruptive or annoying way!

Thank you for a lovely stay Westport Woods hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Collette F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Had a wedding in a nearby hotel and decided to stay in the Westport woods. Reception staff were very helpful and friendly as were the bar staff. Our room was clean, warm and comfortable, really could not have asked for more. Breakfast was perfect and there was a large selection. Couldn't have really asked for more maybe apart from updating to a keycard system as opposed to the large key and keyring (I'm very picky!!)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beirno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.4 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#4 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Westport
Hotel Westport
#8 of 14 in Westport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,008 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#3 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Westport Plaza Hotel
Westport Plaza Hotel
#2 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,940 reviews
3.3 mi away
Westport Country Lodge Hotel
0.9 mi away
The Castlecourt Hotel
The Castlecourt Hotel
#7 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westport Woods Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westport Woods Hotel

Property: Westport Woods Hotel
Address: Quay Road, Westport, Ireland (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Westport Woods Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Westport
#5 Spa Hotel in Westport
#10 Family Hotel in Westport
#12 Romantic Hotel in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Westport Woods Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit us at the Westport Woods Hotel and Spa for a fun and relaxing holiday in the West of Ireland. We have a range of breaks to choose from family holidays (with free go!kids! club), themed, weekend and golden years/over 50's breaks. Our guests love the Beech Club Leisure Centre with it's swimming pool and gymnasium, the teen adventure activities on the seven acres of our private woodlands looking down upon Westport House Loch and the space to relax and enjoy a great holiday or break. Everyone enjoys the regular local evening entertainment in the Bench Café Bar. Our unique location helps us specialise in romantic and memorable Wedding Receptions, created and designed especially for each individual couple. Make an appointment with our Wedding Coordinator and she will gladly show you what we have to offer you upon your Big Day. We offer one of the few approved hotel equestrian based holiday centres in Ireland, with excellent beach and mountain packages available all year round visiting areas in Clew Bay that very few visitors rarely get to see. Check out our current and best special offers on our web site. The hotel is easy to find, just a couple of minutes drive from Westport town centre on the Quay Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Westport Woods Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westport Woods Hotel And Spa
Westport Woods Hotel Westport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing