We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food - a major let down”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Westport Woods Hotel
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed in the Westport Woods in July 2012 for a week. We had booked in on a half board basis. The hotel has positives; location, friendly professional staff particularly in the leisure centre and a good childrens club. However, the evening meals ranged from barely average to inedible school dinner slop. We advised reception staff that we intended to check out and move to another hotel due to the very poor standard of the food. We were given a B&B rate subsequently and went downtown Westport which was such a pleasure in comparison. Westport as a holiday destination is great and full marks to the planning authorities in Westport for developing the Greenway etc. Would we go back? No not unless the food drastically improves!

Room Tip: Ask for a deluxe room with a view of the woods.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MillerJIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,101)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

751 - 757 of 1,101 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2012

We were married here in May, and could not have asked for a better wedding.
Everything was so easy for us, Irene and Joanne really made us feel that nothing was an ask too far!
From our beautiful photos on the lake at the rear to the music and dancing in the function hall, everything was catered for.
On the hotel rooms, the honeymoon suite is beautiful and both our families stayed in the hotel for a week and ate in the restauraunt every evening.
They all commented on how good a service they received from all the staff at the hotel.
We really cant say enough about our experience and will be back again!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Morrison2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Just to say we had a very enjoyable 5 night break with our three small kids in the Westport Woods Hotel. Excellent kids club and our children really enjoyed the activities they were involved in. All the staff we met were very helpful and were genuine is wanting us to have a good stay. The swimming pool is well supervised and was a great success, well suited for children of all ages. Our package included evening meal and breakfast for the five days and was excellent value. Extensive selection for breakfast and staff had no problem supplying us with skimmed milk. The only minor disappointment was that their WiFi coverage is very poor, only any good in the main reception area. Our bedroom furniture was dated and the pull out couch was a little worse for wear. Minor issues though in a very enjoyable stay and no problem recommending our friends to visit.
Westport as a location is great and although the weather was mixed it didn't dampen our enjoyment of the week. We would strongly recommend the Greenway cycle trail as a great family activity. We took the Newport to Mulraney route (18K) and the views are stunning, There are lots of places hiring out bikes, we hired ours from Clew Bay Bike Hire. Very helpful guys and provided free shuttle bus back to start of trial.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ardcolm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

I was travelling as a threesome , with my Wife and 13 year old step son. We booked this as the facilities sounded great.
On arriving at the Hotel is was immediately clear that the Hotel was in dire need of a makeover.
The reception was average... but we were here during a weeks national ireland school break and the Hotel was OVERRUN with very loud screaming kids. This is obviously what this Hotel is about... but that is not what we werre looking for. It was too late to change Hotels.
Thisgs only got worse. We were in a room off the main corridor between the restaurant / reception and the pool area. All the kids ran up and down the corridor past our room untill about 11pm. The noise is not by any means relaxing. The restaurant was like a monkeys tea party so we avoided that and plumbed for esting in the bar. The area was understaffed and the tables were dirty. We wiped the table down ourselves. The Bar staff were clearly tired and dissinterested in serving us with any kind of welcome.
When the food did arrive is was 2nd rate to very poor indeed.
We had a family room which was "OK" with a double and a single bed. The bathroom was however Very Tired indeed adn dirty to boot.
Breakfast was not a relaxing experience with an abundance of high chairs filled with noisy children.
We couldn't wait to check out. The surprise on check out was a bill for our one nights stay with dreadfull meal for £256.00. The icing on the cake of insults!
My advise?... unless your hard of hearing or truely love other peoples screaming kids invading a non-existant privacy, do youself a big favour and avoid this overpriced and tired hotel!

Room Tip: Unless you have a small child yourself and are using this hotel for its child friendly services I wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Timlospencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

This is our 4th time staying at the Westport woods hotel , and it just delivers every time . My wife & I & 4 kids had a great time relaxing in the pool and the kids club is amazing our little ones loved it ..
There's plenty to do around Westport , lots of walks and Westport house is great .. But can be a bit pricey ..
Thanks to all the staff & the go kids club leaders for everything .. And a big thanks to irene who was really very helpful and always friendly .
See you guys next year ..

The wee smalls

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ellablue2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Nice well laid out hotel, perfect for families with small kids, great swimming pool, lovely staff, excellent kids club, our seven year old loved it. Food is fairly basic, apart from that very successful weekend.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FionaM553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

For anyone who would ever doubt that this hotel is not the best in Westport id just like to say that you would be wrong.Every year for the last seven years my family and i have returned to the hotel for our family holiday on the strenght of service we have recieved.The pleasent hotel has computers which you would not much see in hotels.I would recommend it to couples <family and buisness no one else.We go out to the kids club that we very much enjoy. Hope that someone would be in the same side as I am .Normaly we stay for 5 days but this year because we love it so much we are going for seven nights.We go down to the swimming pool at any chance we have because it is great. Niamh

Thanks !!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.4 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#3 of 13 in Westport
1,009 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#4 of 13 in Westport
951 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Castlecourt Hotel
The Castlecourt Hotel
#5 of 13 in Westport
1,713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Westport Plaza Hotel
Westport Plaza Hotel
#2 of 13 in Westport
2,122 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Westport
Hotel Westport
#8 of 13 in Westport
1,128 reviews
3.3 mi away
Westport Country Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westport Woods Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westport Woods Hotel

Address: Quay Road, Westport, Ireland (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Westport Woods Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Westport
#5 Spa Hotel in Westport
#10 Family Hotel in Westport
#12 Romantic Hotel in Westport
Price Range: $92 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Westport Woods Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit us at the Westport Woods Hotel and Spa for a fun and relaxing holiday in the West of Ireland. We have a range of breaks to choose from family holidays (with free go!kids! club), themed, weekend and golden years/over 50's breaks. Our guests love the Beech Club Leisure Centre with it's swimming pool and gymnasium, the teen adventure activities on the seven acres of our private woodlands looking down upon Westport House Loch and the space to relax and enjoy a great holiday or break. Everyone enjoys the regular local evening entertainment in the Bench Café Bar. Our unique location helps us specialise in romantic and memorable Wedding Receptions, created and designed especially for each individual couple. Make an appointment with our Wedding Coordinator and she will gladly show you what we have to offer you upon your Big Day. We offer one of the few approved hotel equestrian based holiday centres in Ireland, with excellent beach and mountain packages available all year round visiting areas in Clew Bay that very few visitors rarely get to see. Check out our current and best special offers on our web site. The hotel is easy to find, just a couple of minutes drive from Westport town centre on the Quay Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Westport Woods Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westport Woods Hotel Westport
Westport Woods Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing