We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Exceptional holiday”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Croibh-Inis

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Westport, County Mayo, Western Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Sheamus N
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Exceptional holiday”
Reviewed May 4, 2015 for a stay in August 2013

I was lucky to holiday in this beautiful house on a couple of occasions both with friends and separately with my partner Karen. On both occasions the booking process was effortless thanks to Ray and Anne. Ray has a fantastic knowledge of the area and had genuine interest in making our stay as special and as fun as possible.

If you think the photos of the house look fantastic they don't do it justice. The drive to the house is amazing but nothing prepares you for the views from the house. They are just breathtaking especially on a warm summer evening.

The house is huge with every conceivable mod con!!. You could live in the living room alone with its luxurious couch, bar and pool table... Need I say any more!

We spent most of the week on bicycles, and the pub, touring the various little towns as the house is only a short distance from Westport and Newport. We took advantage of the new greenway which is a dedicated cycle path that takes you all the way to Achill Island. Was lucky to also go fishing in Clew Bay one afternoon where we probably caught at least 30 mackerel. The BBQ later that night was fantastic.

This is definitely a location that has a lot of things to see and do and can be enjoyed in a multitude of ways whether with friends or just someone special. I can't recommend this place enough as its exceptional.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: having to leave!
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian B
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“A special house in a spectacular location,most relaxing holiday ever.”
Reviewed April 20, 2015 for a stay in July 2013

The house is 10 mins from Westport and in a magical place. The surrounding area is calm and restful. The scenery in stunning, from the front of the house you look across the harbour to Croagh Patrick. The colours change during the day and there is always a different new view.
The house itself is amazing. It's clear that a lot of thought went into designing the house. Everything is thought of. Lots of space for everyone. We loved the big upstairs sitting room with the balcony and amazing view. The kitchen is really well stocked with appliances. We stayed at home most evenings and cooked, it was just where we wanted to be. A neighbour offered us fresh fish one evening.
During the day we walked, swam, climbed mountains, went kayaking, cycling and sight seeing. There are lots of spaces around the house to sit and chat or read. The house supplied books, games, DVDs and lots of local information.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything about the house
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Declan C
1 review
“Incrediable house and area.”
Reviewed April 19, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We stayed in’ Croibh inis’ house in March 2015, and had a wonderful week. The house itself is beautifully designed, luxurious, immaculately kept and its so so comfortable! The surrounds are breathtaking, and maritime in nature ..with views of clew bay islands, croagh Patrick, and greenway access etc,... but, yet it’s close to Westport and Newport's quaint pubs excellent restaurants and boutique shopping. I simply did not want to leave at the end of the week!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house, views and friendly locals.
Liked least: going home
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeamusS15
1 review
“Spectacular house and location”
Reviewed April 18, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Our stay at Croibh-Inis was delightful. The luxurious and modern house catered very well for our group (which included a 4 year old).The location is stunning and if it's getting away from it all you are after then I couldn't recommend it highly enough. The owners were professional and courteous, it's not cheap but believe me it's worth it!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria N
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
““Our best family holiday ever””
Reviewed April 18, 2015 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The most amazing place to stay with a family especially if you are looking to reconnect and build the family bonds with teenagers.

We had 7 full days of fun filled laughter and enjoyment. The house is absolutely unbelievable and the views are breathe taking. I would totally recommend everything about Croibh-Inis for families to just take time out and get to know more things about your children that you probably didn't know. We have decided that every year we will stay in Croibn-Inis, and the kids can't wait for our next visit. The boys were Kayaking, walking, cycling everyday and there is so much more to see and do.

The owner was so helpful when booking and easy to deal with and there was no hassle to facilitate us with any of our requirements. From the moment we arrived we were shown everything about the house, and there was food stocked so we didn't need to hit the shops until the next day. When you stay in such a fabulous house, it makes your holiday so much more enjoyable & comfortable.

Love it.. Love it... Love it...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything... Beds-Kitchen-Dining Room-Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kbulger
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Best vacation rental I have stayed in”
Reviewed April 18, 2015 for a stay in September 2013

Mostly on business trips I get to stay in about 6 vacation rentals per year. This home surpasses anything I have enjoyed in Ireland. The quality of the construction is superior to any I have seen. It is very spacious and modern, with every amenity. The location on a bay secluded from the outside world is superb. A short hike from the back garden leads you to a view of Clew bay and the ocean that is breathtaking. I could not ask for a better host and hostess that we received. Highly recommended.

Kyran and Rose Bulger and family

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quality of home
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walshemf...
Galway
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed April 18, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This was a phenomenal experience! This house is totally spectacular. We rented the property for a week for a break with the extended family. We also had a german exchange student with us who so absolutely adored the setting that he plans to rent the house for his honeymoon sometime in the next 20 years! There are so many positive things to say and no negatives. The house is about a 10 minute drive from Westport but is in a totally secluded setting located in a beautiful inlet of the sea. The peace there is remarkable and a couple of other houses in the little area make it feel connected enough to civilisation. You can get the buzz of Westport and easily shop for food either in Westport or Newport and then escape back to tranquillity. The house is massive with all mod cons including WIFI. It is decorated to perfection. It has 4 large bedrooms and at least 3 or even 4 bathrooms. The fabulous living area even has a bar and a pool table and a stunning fireplace. Our teenagers didn't want to leave the house which says it all. Dinner each evening was in the lovely dining room overlooking the water and pre dineer drinks on the huge balcony off the main living room, again with the sun setting over the bay and all the amazing colours of the sea. It is so close to the sea that when you wake in the morning you feel you are on a ship. There is so much to do there. We cycled the Greenway picking up bikes in Newport, went for long walks, hired a boat and went out into Clew Bay. There is golf nearby and just so much else to do. I cannot say enough good things about this experience-and my only advice is to book it now!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing