We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Castlecourt Hotel
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
Leitrim, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Superb Hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2011

Had an excellent week as part of a group of 130 persons - the warmth and hospitality of the staff was second to none. Despite the big numbers there was no shortcuts taken by the hotel - food was real gourmet dining with fabulous service in the dining room.
Entertainment in the bar each evening was excellent. Leisure facilities great - swimming pool really clean and secure. Definitly will be going back again!!!

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marly_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    990
    361
    127
    49
    28
See reviews for
406
540
23
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2011

Pros:
Exceptional masseuse at the spa (I can honestly say, the best swedish massage i've ever had)
Reasonable room rate
Friendly and competent bar staff and restaurant service staff.
Good parking
Freedom to use the Westport Plaza facilities.
Good wifi.

Cons:
Very poor quality food. My dinner (filo tartlets), and my husbands dinner (beef) was genuinely the second worst meal I've had in a restaurant. My husband was asked how he wanted the beef cooked and when he replied medium, the waitress told him he could have it rare, medium well or well done! I couldn't eat the porridge I ordered for breakfast but to be fair, my husband said his full irish was fine.
Walls in our room were paper thin (room 308), and we could hear our next door neighbours. We also heard people coming and going in the hall outside the room really clearly (even though people were just speaking normally).
The light switch for our ensuite 'sizzled' when we turned it on, then it just stopped working at about 10pm the night before we checked out - we mentioned this and the receptionist apologised - if we were staying a third night we would have mentioned it but there didn't seem any point in reporting it at 10pm the night before we were leaving.

I suppose all in all our feeling was that, the Castlecourt is ok. We felt that the quality of the food was very poor, the quality of refurbishment in our room was poor, and there were a lot of stag parties around which just seemed to top it all off. On checking out , something caught my eye to my right - I looked over and it was a blow up doll on the sofa in the lobby that had female genitalia drawn on it in detail - not appropriate for a family hotel at check out time. The staff just ignored it.

Not outstanding but not terrible - average.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scallions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2011

We booked a room with a four poster bed and whirlpool bath for a romantic break and where not dissappointed. On arrival the reception staff where welcoming and informative. Car parking was free. The room was wonderful and luxurious with wine and water on arrival. The bath was a nice treat but only big enough for one person. The location was right in the town within walking distance of everything. Breakfast was lovely and served at the table rather than a buffet. Once again I can not fault any of the staff. We did not use the leisure facitlies but they look better than most. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsSteede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2011

Really wonderful ,very friendly staff,added bonus of the plaza next door which gave you 2 hotels to chose from for dining or relaxing.the spa is gorgeous!

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mollysaru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armagh, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2011

Just back having spent New Year (3 nights) with six friends in the Castlecourt Hotel. All of us look forward to returning. The hotel's public areas are spaceous and the bedrooms are refreshingly roomy but the most pleasing thing is the professionalism and friendliness of the staff. We had a most enjoyable few days - the food was great. I last stayed in this hotel five years ago - nice to see many improvments. Westport has lost none its charm, a wonderful town to stay in - not much sign of recession there! Thanks to all!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LUCIUS_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2010

This was my first stay in the Castlecourt but not my first to Westport. I was very impressed with the hotel, the staff and the leisure facilities. We stayed two nights and found the property to be of a much higher standard that I would expect for a three-star.

The bedroom was very large with two large double beds and a good-size bathroom with shower over a bath. It was all clean and of a good standard, if a little traditional in style. Our room didn't have much of a view and we did hear some delivery lorries in the morning but we were pleased with the value of our trip so didn't mind.

We used the leisure facilities twice and found them excellent. Staying in November meant the hotel was not terribly busy so I'm not sure what it would be like in peak summer months but the pool and surrounding area seemed perfect.

The inclusion of free wifi was a pleasant surprise and very useful when planning day trips out of Westport. Parking onsite and a very short walk to the town made this the perfect location.

All in all I would have no hesitation in recommending anyone to stay at the Castlecourt.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank backpackerireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trim, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2010

Just spend a week in the Castlecourt Hotel, and what a week! From the time we checked in to the time we departed! There is nothing impossible to the staff, as they are so helpful in everyway! That also goes for the owners Joe & Ann and also Vinny. The male receptionist was outstanding in all of his duties, especially after our long drive to westport. This is our 11th year going down to The Castlecourt, twice a year, sometimes 3 times. We are really looking forward to going back in February 2011, and would highly recommend it to any one, the spa and leisure centre are a must vist! Food and service goes beyond saying, it was outstanding, well done to all involved!

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank littlebagtrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.1 mi away
Westport Plaza Hotel
Westport Plaza Hotel
#2 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,941 reviews
1.3 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#4 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#3 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Westport
Hotel Westport
#8 of 14 in Westport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,010 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clew Bay Hotel
Clew Bay Hotel
#5 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 946 reviews
0.4 mi away
Knockranny House Hotel
Knockranny House Hotel
#7 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Castlecourt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castlecourt Hotel

Property: The Castlecourt Hotel
Address: Castlebar Street, Westport, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Westport
#4 Luxury Hotel in Westport
#5 Family Hotel in Westport
#8 Romantic Hotel in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Castlecourt Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your The Castlecourt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castlecourt Hotel Westport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing