We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good quality hotel, shame about the view!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Castlecourt Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Castlecourt Hotel
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, England
Level Contributor
63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Good quality hotel, shame about the view!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2006

Have just returned from a week's holiday stay at the Castlecourt. Overall, the hotel is good with excellent and welcoming staff. Our family room, with a double and two twin beds, was spacious, comfortable and very clean. The area of the hotel we were located in appeared to have been newly decorated, and our room was certainly fresh, with a recent and spotless bathroom. The standard of housekeeping is very good throughout the hotel - I have never seen so many cleaners polishing doors, stairs and communal areas! The hotel has a good quality leisure suite, with pool, jacuzzi and sauna - this was very busy with children but only to be expected in August. We ate in the main restaurant on three occasions - the standard of food was variable and a little expensive at 31.50 Euros - the main meat and fish courses were on the whole very good, but were let down by some of the starters and synthetic puddings. However, there was a good selection for children including a fish or roast of the day as well as the ubiquitous pizza and nuggets at 9 Euros for three courses. On the minus side, the hotel is big and bustling especially with frequent wedding parties. so would not be ideal for people wanting a quiet romantic break! The only real big minus was the view from our room, which overlooked the massive rubbish skip, recycling and delivery area. It was pretty grotty to look at, was noisy at bottle delivery times and a bit smelly! As this is a town centre hotel the rubbish has to go somewhere but it was a bit unsavoury to wake up to each day.

  • Liked — Location close to town, good leisure facilities, very clean
  • Disliked — View from bedroom window
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosalind123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    971
    356
    127
    49
    27
See reviews for
398
531
23
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2006

We are just back from a weekend away in the Castlecourt in Westport. We brought our six year old son with us. This hotel is amazing, I have never come across such friendly staff and the hotel is just brilliant if you have children. There is a kids club which our son just loved from 10am-3pm and then again in the evening from 5pm-9pm. Because of the kids club our son got to play with other children while we just got to relax and enjoy the surroundings. The leisure centre is brilliant as well. Would definitely go back to this hotel.

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — No Air conditioning
  • Tips/Secrets — None
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank JEN26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayo , Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2006

Myself and my husband stayed in the castlecourt last weekend , we had a fantastic time . The staff are excellent and so helpful , they are a huge asset to this hotel, the food was wonderful with a choice for breakfast and dinner , we ate in the restaurant on both nights of our stay , i had steak which was cooked to perfection and my husband had halibut which he said was the nicest fish he had ever had, the sauce that was with it complimented greatly and to finish i had a chocolate pudding which was to die for. I would definitely recommend this hotel it is ideally situated in the heart of westport town and compliments to all involved here will definiely return to this hotel and also cant wait to stay in the new hotel ( Westport Plaza ) which has just opened . it looks very nice . will definetly be back .

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carline33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2006

Went for a 2 nights B&B/1 dinner weekend deal with our 2 small boys. The first room we were put in was frankly grotty and the shower leaked and flooded the bathroom. We got moved to a slightly better one, though this was noisy at night as it was closer to where the wedding (two every weekend all year) was on. Went for dinner there on the first night, it was possibly the worst meal I've ever paid for. Our 3 yr old son ordered pizza, he got 2 small slices of burnt frozen pizza, we asked for something else and they brought out more frozen pizza. The fish had been cooked hours if not days before, and they poured awful peppercorn sauce on my otherwise reasonable steak despite being told twice I didn't want it. There are too many decent restaurants in Westport (Torrino's and Il Volcano I can recommend) to waste time and money eating in the Castlecourt. The pool is good for kids though and the staff are generally excellent. Westport is a great town for visiting with kids but we wouldn't be going near the Castlecourt again.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2006

Me and my partner went for a long weekend to the Castlecourt hotel and had a fantastic time. The hotel was gorgeous with all the facilities as advertised. We stayed in a deluxe room and it was a very good size with a huge four poster bed.

The hotel was luxury and right in the heart of Westport and only a ten minute walk from the train station. The breakfast was lovely, but room service breakfast had different choices and we found it better than in the restaurant.

The only complaint we have was with the inclusive dinner in the restaurant. The service was very good and the staff friendly, but the food was of a very poor standard. We were very disappointed.

There is a nightclub in the hotel, but the noise was never an issue so don’t let that put you off.

Overall, we had a great time and are already planning our next trip back!

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Racheyb1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galway,ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2006

stayed with a group booking. booking babdly handled from day one. booking lost by hotel three times. on arrival rooms were not ready which was ok as we got there a bit before booking time. we sat in reception while we waited and only after we checked again for the third time did we get checked in even though we were siting in full view of reception staff.

The room was very smelled of damp in the bathroom the paint was peeling of a large part of the ceiling in the bathroom and the extractor fan did not work. not ideal espceially as I have asthma. Unfortuately we did not notice this until the night time as we were going out so we had hust drooped our bags in the room and went out for the night. When er complained the folowing day all we were offered was an apolpgy no discount and yet again our booking was screwed up as they could not find the record of our deposit being paid even though we had already dealt with this three times prior to arriving at the hotel, the staff did not sem to have a clue. Weclome to hotel Fawlty Towers I mean the Castle court Hotel!

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank galwaycitygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2006

Just returned from a amid week break in this hotel I t was wonderful , room was lovely and comfortable lovely big bed., breakfast of massive. proportionsl keep you going the whole day. Evening dinner was lovely also. Staff were the most helpful and friendly I have ever came across. Lots of building work going on but if never interfered with our stay complimentary toiletries and most important of all tea making facilities in room would highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrancesC50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.0 mi away
Westport Plaza Hotel
Westport Plaza Hotel
#2 of 15 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,911 reviews
1.3 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#4 of 15 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#3 of 15 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Knockranny House Hotel
Knockranny House Hotel
#6 of 15 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,276 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clew Bay Hotel
Clew Bay Hotel
#5 of 15 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Westport
Hotel Westport
#8 of 15 in Westport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Castlecourt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castlecourt Hotel

Property: The Castlecourt Hotel
Address: Castlebar Street, Westport, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Westport
#5 Family Hotel in Westport
#5 Luxury Hotel in Westport
#8 Romantic Hotel in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Castlecourt Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Castlecourt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castlecourt Hotel Westport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing