We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in centre of westport!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Castlecourt Hotel
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Great hotel! Could not fault a thing! Central location, clean and spacious rooms. Food was great and the waiter staff in the restaurant were so friendly and helpful. We travelled with young kids and our waiters couldn't have been more helpful. Kids loved the kids club too! Will def be back!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abarbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,694)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

977 - 983 of 1,694 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2013

This was my first time staying in this hotel. Had booked 4 nights B & B but called the day before and were lucky enough to get a 5th night for that night. The room was spacious and kept clean by the accomadation staff very well. The breakfast was fab and thankfully was table service. Very fresh and quick. We only ate in Petie Joes Bar but the food was great and the service brilliant. Staff in the bar very friendly and assured. Great location and parking was no problem even when there was a wedding in the hotel. Well done to all.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LorraineKilkenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Great value for money, friendly & helpful staff, upgrade is great value an choice of room.
Many different types of offers or just that switch off you might want?
The Sunday until Friday check out, travelling by train you will be collected at the station, tea on arrival, check it out for a good stay at a great price, I could meet you next Jan?
I have always enjoyed my stay in Westport in comfort at the Castle Court Hotel.
Golden Oldies Kildare.

Room Tip: Nothing seems to much trouble for the staff to give you what you want, rooms near the pool, near a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We go to The Castlecourt Hotel a few times per year with our lovely grandson and we think the hotel is just wonderful nothing is a problem . They are child friendly and food and rooms are very
good and free entertainment each night.
Westport is a great town for holidays nice shops nice people.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eileen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Spent five nights here mid August with my 17 year old niece. What can I say - I just couldn't fault this hotel at all. We had a very impressive breakfast experience each morning - lovely freshly cooked food - no grease to be seen - served by very smart, attentive and courteous staff. The efficiency in the dining room is a credit to the owners and management team.

Our room was bright, comfortable, spacious, well equipped and cleaned daily. View wasn't great but everything else made up for this.

Petie Joe's bar and bistro are geared for a wide range of ages and budgets. Always plenty of craic and atmosphere and again the staff have excellent customer care skills.

When I do return to Westport - I would find it difficult not to stay in this fabulous establishment!

Room Tip: Twin rooms on second floor have 2 great doubles - a bit of a luxury!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarmelNewry_Northern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Stayed for one night in August 2013 and had a very pleasant stay. Two Queen bedded room large and comfortable. Service very good and breakfast was excellent and large choice. Enjoyed their outside patio with a few beers with family in between showers. Had an unforgettable time in their huge bar in the evening. (despite the awful county and western band.) Altogether great value for money

Room Tip: Higher floor to get away from noise of bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michaelbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stayed in this hotel last time we were in Westport (about 4 years ago) so decided to book it again this time round. It was the most expensive place that we stayed at during out 2 weeks in Ireland. We were there for thursday, friday and saturday nights. On friday and saturday there were large weddings at the hotel and it was difficult to sleep with the noise of the music and then later the wedding guests up and down the corridor. Our room was right above the wedding. On Saturday I complained about the noise and the fact that at 162 Euro per night, I expected better. I was offered another room for our last night but moving all our stuff would have been a pain for one night so I declined and asked to only be charged for 2 nights. At Checkout, I was given a 100 Euro reduction plus a bar bill of 11 Euro waived. In addition I was offered a voucher for 60 Euro's. I told the reception staff (all of who were very pleasant and helpful) that the voucher would be no use and that would prefer the reduction that I had asked for. I left expecting to be contacted about this but as at 23rd August (6 days later) I've heard nothing. So, the moral of this story is dont go there in peak wedding season or friday or saturday unless you can be guaranteed a room away from the noise.
On the plus side, the pool was good, as was the breakfast. The location is also good for a stroll into the compact town centre

Room Tip: get one away from the wedding venue
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank windybottom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.0 mi away
Westport Plaza Hotel
Westport Plaza Hotel
#2 of 14 in Westport
2,106 reviews
1.3 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#3 of 14 in Westport
989 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#4 of 14 in Westport
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Westport Woods Hotel
Westport Woods Hotel
#11 of 14 in Westport
1,091 reviews
0.4 mi away
Knockranny House Hotel
Knockranny House Hotel
#7 of 14 in Westport
1,450 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Westport
Hotel Westport
#8 of 14 in Westport
1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Castlecourt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castlecourt Hotel

Address: Castlebar Street, Westport, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Westport
#4 Luxury Hotel in Westport
#5 Family Hotel in Westport
#8 Romantic Hotel in Westport
Price Range: $113 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Castlecourt Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Castlecourt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castlecourt Hotel Westport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing