We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel, friendly staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Castlecourt Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Castlecourt Hotel
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Lovely hotel, friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

A large group of us stayed here in October '12. The employees are a credit to the hotel. After climbing Croagh Patrick we arrived back at hotel and food service didn't start for another hour but the bar man offered us sandwiches and soup. We very much appreciated this! Staff couldn't do enough for us will definitely be back!

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank shoie4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    972
    356
    127
    49
    27
See reviews for
398
532
23
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
106 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

We had only dinner after journey in the hotel and was very good. We went for carvery food as is quick and simple - the food was very good and very good choice. Also staff is very helpful and nice.

We've been also in hotel's leisure center and it was very good and relaxing experience (swimming pool, jacuzzi, steam room, sauna).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarzenaDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlecourt1, Manager at The Castlecourt Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Guest

I was delighted to read your review of The Courtyard Bistro and I would like to thank you for sharing your experience with others.

Our Lunch time carvery is extremely popular and with a wide and varied menu choice available there is something to suite all tastes.

I was also delighted to learn that you had the opportunity to relax in and enjoy our leisure facilities

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

Visited The Castlecourt in unfortanate circumstances, due to funeral in the area. This is were the funeral lunch was held. Cant praise the staff highly enough all were amazing given the circumstances. Food was to a very high standard even though large numbers were in attendance. The staff in this hotel coulndt do enough for you will be back to spend some time here

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SisSar666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlecourt1, Manager at The Castlecourt Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with others.

I would like to thank you for your kind comments about our food and staff and I will be certain to pass your comments on to all involved

I was delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future under happier circumstances

Kindest Regards

I would like to thank you for your kind comments about our staff who are indeed our best asset and

Kind Regards
LIz Conway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leitrim, Leitrim, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed in the Castlecourt hotel for my hen weekend in March and it was superb. Exactly what you would want for a hen weekend. The staff very so friendly and helpful and the breakfast and dinner was really good. We stayed Friday and Saturday night and on both days there was a wedding in the hotel and the atmosphere was fantastic. It is a really sociable place to be as you meet loads of friendly people at the weddings and others on their hens and stags.

The location is fantastic and as the nightclub is there also it is very safe for girls going back to the hotel.Everywhere is only a short walk although because it was lashing rain and we had heels on so reception kindly called a taxi which was there is 5 mins.

Also, if you want a quieter more reserved weekend you can stay in the Plaza. Even if you would just like a quiet coffee the Plaza is lovely to cross over to. I will certainly go back to the Plaza with my fiance (soon to be hubby!).

And...there is a great residents bar with a great atmosphere when you have done your tour of the town. I really cannot praise the Castlecourt enough. Cannot wait until the next hen party!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Celine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlecourt1, Manager at The Castlecourt Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Guest

We were absolutely delighted to learn that yourself and all your group had a superb time with us here in The Castlecourt Hotel and we would like to take this opportunity to extend our best wishes to you on the occasion of your upcoming wedding.

The Hen party is a important occasion on the lead up to your special day so we were delighted that your found the staff friendly, Breakfast and dinner good, the atmosphere fantastic and that you had the opportunity avail of the night club and resident bar facilities.

We greatly look forward to having the opportunity to welcome yourself and your husband to be in the near future

Kindest regards and best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

We stayed at the castlecourt for a wedding and we had a great time!
The rooms were clean and spacious and the staff were very helpful. The hotel has a spa and pool attached to it which is great if you have kids or want to have a relaxing weekend or even for a girls weekend as everything is in one spot, the bar that is with the hotel had music every night so there was in house entertainment if you didn't want to venture down the town.

The location is very central to everything so if you want to go out there are lots of shops and bars to keep you occupied.

I would recommend this hotel and definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank egan1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlecourt1, Manager at The Castlecourt Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of The Castlecourt Hotel with other Tripadvisor users.
A wedding is such a special occasion not just for the bride and groom but also for therir family and friends so I was delighted to lean that you enjoyed the day.
I was also delighted to learn that you found the rooms clean, spacious and that you found our staff helpful.

Once again Thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back again in the not too distant future

Kindes Regards
Liz Conway
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

My wife and I have just returned home from our second 3 night stay at the Castlecourt and again had a very pleasant stay. Our room was spotless as was the rest of the hotel. We ate in the Bistro each night followed by live music in the bar. We toured each day after the best breakfast you will ever have. We will return again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank V6PWS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlecourt1, Manager at The Castlecourt Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments following your recent stay with us here in The Castlecourt Hotel.

It was good to learn that you enjoyed your stay, found the room spotless and that you enjoyed your dining experience each night in The Courtyard Bistro.

I was delighted to read your comments about our breakfast and I will ensure your comments are passed on to all involved.

Once again thank you for your kind comments and I look forward to welcoming you back again on the occasion of your next visit

Kindest Regards
Liz Conway
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

We went here for breakfast and expected it to be pricey. It was €9 each for large variety of juice, fruit, cereal, toast, pastries, full Irish, coffee etc.
Toilets very clean, staff friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Purplefood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlecourt1, Manager at The Castlecourt Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for posting your comments

I was delighted to learn that you enjoyed your breakfast with us here in The Castlecourt Hotel and that you found the price at €9 good value and the staff friendly.

We are greatly aware of how important breakfast is as the first meal of the day so we always ensure that we have a wide range of options available for our guests to choose from.

Once again thank you for your comments

Kind Regards
Liz Conway
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.0 mi away
Westport Plaza Hotel
Westport Plaza Hotel
#2 of 15 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,913 reviews
1.3 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#4 of 15 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#3 of 15 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Knockranny House Hotel
Knockranny House Hotel
#6 of 15 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,278 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clew Bay Hotel
Clew Bay Hotel
#5 of 15 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 918 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Westport
Hotel Westport
#8 of 15 in Westport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Castlecourt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castlecourt Hotel

Property: The Castlecourt Hotel
Address: Castlebar Street, Westport, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Westport
#5 Luxury Hotel in Westport
#5 Family Hotel in Westport
#8 Romantic Hotel in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Castlecourt Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Castlecourt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castlecourt Hotel Westport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing