We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Limerick Caring for Carers” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Castlecourt Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Castlecourt Hotel
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
Limerick, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Limerick Caring for Carers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

Caring for Carers, Limerick Branch stayed in The Castlecourt Hotel as part of The Caring for Carers,Ireland Annual Conference and Respite Break. The feedback from our members was that the hospitality was second to none. The Castlecourt is an excellent venue for catering for such a large group of people. The staff were warm and friendly, every single one of them - management, front line, waiting staff, housekeeping staff and also leisure centre staff.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Caring for Care... L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    972
    356
    127
    49
    27
See reviews for
398
532
23
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

Spent a bowls break at the castle court and everything was excellent. I would like the recommend the French fries and their kippers, both are excellent. This is my third time there and I will be going back again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clare1927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittenweem, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

A very well-positioned hotel near the centre of Westport, The staff are friendly, the hotel is clean and well-appointed, there are plenty of rooms to sit, chat, and drink. The rooms are small enough but extremely well-done. The restaurant is large enough to not have a scramble for breakfast. All in all a first-class venue, and far more pleasant than its somewhat faded exterior suggests.

We were attending a wedding, which always lets you see the business side of a hotel clearly. The staff handled the event excellently, always willing to help and clearly offering great support to the bride and groom. I regret not trying the spa myself, but heard it was excellent.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simoninireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal, Ireland
Level Contributor
139 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Good carparking at rear in underground carpark. Room at front of hotel was small but very clean and warm and excellent bed.
Breakfast was included and was excellent with loads of choice including full Irish and smoked kippers.
Bar was lively with music both mid week nights we stayed.
We were going to book online but decided to take a chance and just walk in off the street and we got a better rate than any online price I could find. It may be worth calling to check prices.
This is a good base and we visited all around the area including Croagh Patrick, Lough Doo, Marconi station and Alcocl and Brown Landing site. Would stay again if I was in Westport.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

We stayed at The Castlecourt for 3 nights B&B with 2 evening meals and 1 Spa treatment. We had already had a very nice stay here some years ago, but this time our experience was even better. We find this quite remarkable at a time when many in the hospitality sector are cutting corners.
From the moment we arrived until we left we were made fell so welcome and comfortable. The hotel is very family friendly and homely.The service was excellent and the food was excellent both in variety and quality, as good as anything we've experienced at home or abroad.
Finally, we must congratulate the wonderful staff on how welcoming, friendly and hard-working they were. The management and staff here have set a very high standard and they deserve every success. They care and it shows!
We look forward to staying at The Castlecourt again, God willing.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony and Joan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Jordan, Utah
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed here for my father in laws 70th birthday.We booked a 2 night stay which included breakfast and one dinner and a suite for my in laws.My brother in law also stayed for two nights.What can i say, this hotel is amazing, the rooms are fantastic, the staff can't do enough for you and its extremely child friendly.We did a midweek madness deal but nothing was compromised.Check in was a breeze and we were made more than welcome.I had requested a quiet room and again this was noted.Extra special touches were done for my father in law when we ate ninth restaurant on his birthday and the staff were attentive and helpful.The food including the children's meals were superb and a massive choice of what you could have to suit all tastes.The leisure centre has a brilliant pool and facilities and they even lent my daughter a pair of goggles as she had forgotten hers.Brilliant bars,excellent relaxing areas just outside for when the kids had to vacate the bar at 9pm.Breakfasts are fantastic and includes pastries,cereals,cooked,kippers as well as options for those who are gluten intolerant.I could not fault this place from start to finish and we were sad to only stay fir a couple of days.Its in the heart of westport so there is loads to do within walking distance for all ages.We will definitely be back and cannot speak highly enough of this place.They made my father in laws birthday a very special occasion as well as a family get together a memorable one.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hegartys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlecourt1, Manager at The Castlecourt Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with others.

I was absolutely delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and I would like to offer my congratulations to your father on the occasion of his 70th Birthday.

It was wonderful to read that you received a warm welcome on arrival and that you found the rooms fantastic, the hotel child friendly and that you enjoyed the massive menu choice which was available for both breakfast and dinner.

I was also delighted that you have the opportunity to avail of our leisure facilities.

Once again thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you all back in the not too distant future

Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portlaoise, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

We travelled up to Westport for a weekend break and enjoyed the stay immensely-porridge was lovely at breakfast and so was the rashers and egg.
We were upgraded & treated to the Executive Room on the third Floor which was divine & we had a lovely late checkout after a fine walk of Westport town.Really recommend the Hotel as fine location and pleanty of parking. We will be back.

Room Tip: room 315 Executive with Four poster and jacuzzi....
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yvonne k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlecourt1, Manager at The Castlecourt Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of our hotel with other tripadvisor users.
I was good to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the breakfast was to your taste. I was also delighted to learn that you had the opportunity to relax in one of our deluxe rooms.
I would like to thank you for recommending our hotel to others and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.0 mi away
Westport Plaza Hotel
Westport Plaza Hotel
#2 of 15 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,913 reviews
1.3 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#4 of 15 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#3 of 15 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Knockranny House Hotel
Knockranny House Hotel
#6 of 15 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,278 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clew Bay Hotel
Clew Bay Hotel
#5 of 15 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 918 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Westport
Hotel Westport
#8 of 15 in Westport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Castlecourt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castlecourt Hotel

Property: The Castlecourt Hotel
Address: Castlebar Street, Westport, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Westport
#5 Luxury Hotel in Westport
#5 Family Hotel in Westport
#8 Romantic Hotel in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Castlecourt Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Castlecourt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castlecourt Hotel Westport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing