We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crooners in the Junior Suite, like it or not”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Castlecourt Hotel
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed at the Castlecourt Hotel on Paddy's weekend 2012 and were looking forward to an extended weekend away, do a bit of the green route on bikes, Achill Island and enjoy some of the pubs and a bit of live music. We took advantage of a special deal on the Junior Suite and were happy enough with the room itself when entering. We did, however, note that it was on the first floor and above the hotel entrance. The first night there was loud music on in the bar below and mercifully that turned off at c.2am allowing us to finally get to sleep. On complaining we were told we could not be moved as there was no free room at the Inn. Saturday night was worse, there was a fundraiser and despite phone calls down to reception I eventually had to resort to going down to the lobby in my dressing room to complain. The music did stop shortly after that but by this time it was close to 4a.m. Madness to put one of the premier rooms above a bar where they have live music until stupid hours of the morning. And it is not as if we were warned of the music, we were not. The next morning the manager was duly sympathetic and apologetic, but the bad taste in the mouth could not be rinsed out, the damage had been done. We were told the Plaza (next door under the same management) was quieter. Don't get me wrong I am full of praise for holding worthwhile fundraisers, but don't put the Suites above the bar and warn us of the possibility of noise before booking to allow us to choose.

We ate in the restaurant which was devoid of atmosphere and nothing to recommend it food wise - good for kids is probably its biggest plus point - it appeared that only residents were eating. Having said that, the location of the hotel in Westport was absolutely ideal, not bang in the centre but just a few steps away. Ideal. I'd also recommend Westport for a weekend break and for trad music you have to go to Matt Molloys.

Room Tip: Don't book the Junior Suite if there is music on in the bar / a wedding function etc, unless you...
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JGrant44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,681)
There are newer reviews for The Castlecourt Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,126 - 1,132 of 1,681 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2013

Using the winter deals I actually paid less per night for bed and breakfast than my son did in a youth hostel elsewhere in Ireland! Apart from a mistake with our rearranged reservation which was quickly sorted and a lack of view from our room, everything about our stay was excellent. Cosy rooms, clean and warm pool and leisure area, great restaurant with attentive service, music in the bar or quiet snugs in the library to chose from there is no need to go out in the evenings. Handy parking in the hotel car park with easy proximity on foot to the town centre. Space was also made for our bikes to keep them out of the winter elements. Good choices at breakfast with the best French toast I think I have ever tasted.

Room Tip: Views from the first floor are very restricted, overlooking a flat roof.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Drumlough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

We had a family wedding at this hotel and booked in for several nights at a very reasonable rate. We had initial problems with our room shower, I spoke with Liz and Laura who both immediately set to fixing the problem and soon upgraded us for the rest of our stay. They were both very helpful and fine examples of how customer service should be deployed.

Both rooms were lovely and the upgraded room had a wonderful 4 poster bed. The food was great in the Bistro and during the wedding, there are lots of choices. Live music in Petey Joes was great every night and my partner said that the spa facilities were exceptional.

Be aware that the residents bar can be busy with wedding guests late at the weekend but this doesn't affect any room or your stay.

The staff make this place what it is, all are very helpful and do everything they can to make your stay a great one. You will see the owners every day working which gives it the family touch.

We will certainly stay again next time.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank farfromhometom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We have stayed in the Plaza before unfortunatly it was booked out for this weekend as was the Castlecourt on Friday night Lucky for us we were able to get a cancellation in The CastleCourt on Saturday night after spending a dull Friday night in The Harlequin Castlebar The Bistro gets a 5*plus from us food was served quickly really really beautiful and so well priced natives of Westport you are so lucky to have such a 5*+bistro on your doorstep wish we had a bistro like this near our home The room was very spacious and spotless clean I suffer with back problems so was a bit worried about changing beds but I neednt have the bed was great and in spite of the fact that there was a wedding on that day we had a great sleep a lovely meal in The Bistro and a great breakfast We would very highly reccomend The Castlecourt Hotel and cant wait to return Thank you to all at The CastleCourt for a lovely stay Paul and Evelyn

Room Tip: Stayed on the first floor had a great sleep
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eveboylan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights on a mid week madness deal last week, and it certainly was a fantastic deal! Even got a free bottle of wine with dinner. As a family of 5 we had 2 rooms. One had 2 double beds and the other a double and single. Rooms were large and perfect for our needs. The hotel food was fabulous and the kids enjoyed an evening of kids club with meal in the hotel followed by a trip to the local cinema. There was plenty of choice for breakfast and cooked breakfasts were made to order so were piping hot when served. The staff were very friendly and helpful, especiall when it came to making up bottles and dinners for the baby. We had our wedding reception there almost 15 years ago and it was lovely to return with kids in tow and experience the same level of warmth and friendliness from the hotel staff all these years later. Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grainne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Great and well worth the money, stay and trip. Many thanks, Highly recommended. Ths was for me and a friend and we would definitely visit again from the UK. The celebrations were excellent, the staff first class and the general ambience was also well worth it, My thanks again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlecourt1, Manager at The Castlecourt Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your experience of The Castlecourt Hotel with others.
I was delighted to learn that you enjoyed the celebrations at our new years eve Gala Ball, that you felt it was value for money and would highly recommend it to others. I would like to thank you for your kind comments about our staff.

Once again Thank you for your comments and I look forward to welcoming you back to The Castlecourt Hotel in the near future

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Myself and my Fiance were here this time last year for his birthday and had nothing but positives. He loved it so much that i decided to treat him to night away for birthday. I was disappointed with some aspects but first the positives:
Lovely room but pure TV connection with snowy screen and 2 beds pushed together for a king size bed.
Extremely hard working bar staff- generally very friendly even very late into the night!
Decor in hotel- fabulous
Leisure centre fine but sauna and steam rooms very small!!
Ample underground car parking.
Breakfast till 11 (on a sunday).
Lovely music in bar- so good we stayed there all night.

Negatives:
Slow check in despite 3 receptionists being on: i dont mind waiting just acknowledge that guest has been waiting long time. Receptionist provided no information for us- it was like drawing blood from a stone. compare with last year- very friendly receptionist.
Waiting staff at breakfast were very sour but breakfast was lovely.
Dinner in bistro- poor enough with nonchalent waiter: e.g threw plates down on the table and walked away. Tasteless food for both of us (except Brie starter which was lovely)
Receptionist on check out did not ask how our stay went- i think this is very important to ascertain guests experiences and it was not busy at the time so there was no excuse. once she saw that we had paid, that was it: no thank you, no goodbye.


Everything last year about the hotel last year impressed me, particularly the staff. I feel some of the personnel did leave me with a poor second impression but i dont think this would stop me from visiting the hotel again next year. Would not dine there again though.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patrick27Limerick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.0 mi away
Westport Plaza Hotel
Westport Plaza Hotel
#2 of 14 in Westport
2,095 reviews
1.3 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#3 of 14 in Westport
974 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#5 of 14 in Westport
896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Westport Woods Hotel
Westport Woods Hotel
#11 of 14 in Westport
1,084 reviews
0.4 mi away
Knockranny House Hotel
Knockranny House Hotel
#7 of 14 in Westport
1,413 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Westport
Hotel Westport
#8 of 14 in Westport
1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Castlecourt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castlecourt Hotel

Address: Castlebar Street, Westport, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Westport
#4 Luxury Hotel in Westport
#5 Family Hotel in Westport
#8 Romantic Hotel in Westport
Price Range: $125 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Castlecourt Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Castlecourt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castlecourt Hotel Westport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing